Lucky 7/24

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
Yesterday turned out to be not so bad. I think it was the right thing to up his dose just a hair at AMPS because his numbers came down nicely. Last night was looking good too, can't wait to see what the AMPS will be!

I do need to schedule him for a dental because I know that infection is going to come back since his last round of antibiotics and it's going to cause problems. I'll probably do that tomorrow. I have family coming in for 10 days on the 29th so it'll have to wait till they are gone. Hopefully he'll be okay till then. I've been checking his ears for fever because they tend to get really warm.

Anyways! Just updating, things are looking good so far this morning.
 
Well, Lucky was at 392 @ +11.5. I shot a skinny 1.00 at that time to move us closer to our regular shot time. I thought his AMPS would be lower since he was looking so good at +8.

For the most part, .9 didn't seem to be working for us. He seems sensitive to even teeny tiny changes. We'll see how today goes!
 
Still looking good!

It is so hard to tell where they will be at the next preshot based on mid cylce numbers. Prozinc "supposedly" has a duration of 8 to 12 hours--so, if you get an earlier "poop" out on one cycle than the next, it can make a big difference in the next preshot number. Sometimes, when I test Kitty and she is not looking good mid cycle, I get a better preshot on the following cyle and vice versus.

You are doing Great!
 
Wow, what a difference a drop makes! The 0.8 last night looks like what I saw sometimes with Bix when I got a better than expected PS and then reduced the dose - the 1st half of the cycle looks pretty good, but then the 2nd half goes high sooner & faster than you would like.

You are doing great gauging the dose and getting good data! If you wanted to go with a full 1u on these higher PSs I think that would be fine, but sticking with a steady dose has it's merits too. Either way, as long as you are getting closer to the goal, which you seem to be. yay!
 
I'm not sure if we need a new vial or what, but he's just not getting the same results with the same dosage anymore. It's either that or his gum infection is coming back. I will be calling tomorrow to set up a Vet visit. It's time for that dental. Maybe one more course of antibiotics to make him feel better until I can get him in at least. We'll see. I know he needs to be checked for ketones but like I said in another thread, I never ever see him headed to the litter box. I've had the video monitor on all day so I'm sure he's gone while we were out or when I was busy and didn't see him. I'd like to test him, I just don't see where I would have a chance to do it!

His PMPS was 381 tonight. We were getting several nice yellow PS's but here lately its mostly pinks and some reds :sad: Hoping the jump to a full 1u will make his #'s look a little better.

You're not kidding about not knowing what the PS will be based on mid cycle #'s!!! Never know what you are going to get! I will set my alarm to test Lucky overnight. Thanks once again for the reassurance!!!
 
Unfortunately sometimes when you drop the dose even a little it seems like they lose ground, and you have to sprint to catch back up. Some cats more than others, it is frustrating when it happens. I'm glad you went back to 1u.

One thing you can do when they respond that way is edge the dose up a little more to get back to the good numbers, then ease back off. It looks like his numbers are improving already on the 1u, but if they seem too high, you could shoot 1.2 (or 1.1 or a fat 1 depending on how intent you are feeling on getting to better numbers quickly) on one cycle (when you can monitor), then go back to 1u when you get a better PS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top