Lucky 7/14- +6 @ 68....never been this low...

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
So I'm kind of freaking out. I wasn't expecting this number at all. I wasn't even going to test because I only have a a few more strips left and I haven't gotten the delivery of new ones yet nailbite_smile

He seems to be acting just fine. He jumped up onto his testing spot and purred while I tested him and then he got his meal. He doesn't seem any more ravenous than usual. I wasn't here from +1 to +5 so I have no idea how he was doing then.

Should I even be worried about this number? If I have to, I'll go buy more strips at the store so I can keep a closer eye on him. He was in the 300's this morning so I just increased his dose up .2! Now I feel bad that I should have left it at 1 but I've been doing that if he his PS's are in the 300's and he's been fine. I think he's finally starting to respond well to the insulin though :-D

Please make me feel better and tell me where to go from here!!!! Didn't think we'd see greens for a long time!
 
Yes, it's a +6 reading so it should be on the rise. That worries me too because he usually hits the nadir around +4 or +5....I'd probably really be freaking out if I had tested him an hour before.
 
I understand your concern, but nadirs move around. If you just fed him, he should be fine this cycle. The 68 is a Great Number-- but, I realize you are concerned where he was at +4 and +5.

Have you made any recent diet changes---ie: dry to wet food?


When you get your pmps-- post the reading. There should be people on at that time to help you. Can you test tonight at +4?
 
That's a very nice number, Lucky! I'm not sure how many test strips you have left, but if you want to test at +7 to make sure Lucky's going up - it may help ease your mind. :mrgreen:
 
I wonder if I should test him again at +7 or +8? If I had enough strips I would do it no question.

I changed him over to LC wet food the day he was diagnosed and even before he started insulin, about a month ago.

I'll post the PMPS results tonight. I'll try to do a +4 tonight also, pretty sure I'll be able to, I usually do anyway.

Thanks!
 
It is your call on testing him at +7--but, if he ate at +6 he should definitely be higher --food spike alone. I think you are fine this cycle.

But, do what you are comfortable with.
 
How many strips do you have left? Is it possible to get some for overnight? I'm a little concerned you might need them & not be able to get any later. When is PMPS?
 
Barbara said:
How many strips do you have left? Is it possible to get some for overnight? I'm a little concerned you might need them & not be able to get any later. When is PMPS?

As of right now I have enough to test tonight for PMPS and 2x a day Fri and Sat and 1x on Sunday. If I get the strips in the mail by Sat afternoon I'll be okay but I won't be able to test when I want.

I just checked Walgreens online and the Accu Chek Aviva strips are almost $50 for 50...ahhh! That's expensive! I got 100 of them off ebay for $30. Wish the seller would hurry up and contact me and let me know when they shipped. I bought them on the 10th, so it's been 4 business days. I posted a wanted ad on Craigslist for strips but I doubt I'll hear anything. Guess I'll do what I gotta do, didn't figure I'd run out so fast :YMSIGH:

Oh and his PMPS is 8:30pm Mountain time.
 
You may want to consider getting some test strips, my guess is that after getting that 68 which is a pretty steep drop his liver is going to panic and dump sugar and your PMPS is going to be high so you may want to test more.

I would pull back your dose to 1.1u and let him settle into it.

No matter how high his bg is stay with your dose, the bounce from the liver will clear by itself within a few days.
 
That is expensive! My experience with ebay is that it always takes longer than I think for stuff to get to me.

Do you have a Wal Mart nearby? I use their Relion Confirm meter, it was only something like 9.00 and I can get 100 strips for 36.00, they also sell a box with 25 for maybe 19.00? I can't remember exactly cause I always just get the 100's. If you aren't close to Wal Mart I wonder if whatever drug store is close to you has a store brand that might be cheaper?
 
I use the Freestyle lite and they are 65. dollars in CVS
but I buy them off of Amazon
and you can order from this site and get them for 24.00
huge savings at Amazon and they come in a couple of days
 
Very nice number today! I know 68 seems low when you haven't seen anything near that number, but it is an excellent nadir. You are doing a great job testing and keeping him safe.

Just curious - are you using ProZinc or BCP compounded? (Both are forms of PZI)
 
Excellent suggestion to get a Relion meter and strips! Would be a bit cheaper and that way I will always have a back up meter! Now I can test him and not worry about running out. I feel better now, I was so worried about the situation. I'll go to Walmart tomorrow.

We are using ProZinc. I wanted to start with Lantus but the Vet said that the remission rate wasn't any higher between the two? I know there are remissions with ProZinc but I've heard such great things about Lantus.

LOL, yeah, it was a shock to see that number and I did freak out...I feel okay about it now. I will check him at PMPS and again at +4 tonight. It's close to PMPS, about an hour.

Thanks guys for the help and support!!
 
all4mymarine said:
Excellent suggestion to get a Relion meter and strips! Would be a bit cheaper and that way I will always have a back up meter! Now I can test him and not worry about running out. I feel better now, I was so worried about the situation. I'll go to Walmart tomorrow. Thanks guys for the help and support!!

Good! Glad to help! And they have them in pink & blue, so I got a pretty pink one for my girl! :smile:
 
Woohoo!!! Looks like things are starting to go really well, now it's just fine-tuning to keep the numbers in the range you want for as much time as you can. I like Robin's idea of trying 1.1.
 
Okay, his PMPS was 368, which I was expecting it to be kinda high.

As far as a 1.1 dose....how do I figure that out? I have U100 syringes 3/10cc. Should I have gotten something different? Or just eyeball? I have a feeling I got the wrong cc :?

Will check Lucky again at +4!

Awww, wish I could get Lucky a pink meter lol I don't think he'd even notice :lol:
 
all4mymarine said:
As far as a 1.1 dose....how do I figure that out? I have U100 syringes 3/10cc. Should I have gotten something different? Or just eyeball? I have a feeling I got the wrong cc :?

You are using U40 ProZinc, right? Do you have the conversion chart? You got the right syringes and if you didn't already know you can get them pretty cheap by the box at Wal Mart also. They are the Relion brand. I use the short needles which I have found Thumper doesn't seem to mind as much. Just in case you want to try them the UPC is 681131311786 U100 3/10ml 31 gauge 5/16" (8mm) needles
I found the Wal Mart people to be pretty ignorant about the syringes so just make sure you check them out before you buy them. OH...did you get the ones with the 1/2 unit markings? That's important for the small doses! And yes, just eyeball between 2.5 & 3.0...good luck with that! :lol:
 
Barbara said:
all4mymarine said:
As far as a 1.1 dose....how do I figure that out? I have U100 syringes 3/10cc. Should I have gotten something different? Or just eyeball? I have a feeling I got the wrong cc :?

You are using U40 ProZinc, right? Do you have the conversion chart? You got the right syringes and if you didn't already know you can get them pretty cheap by the box at Wal Mart also. They are the Relion brand. I use the short needles which I have found Thumper doesn't seem to mind as much. Just in case you want to try them the UPC is 681131311786 U100 3/10ml 31 gauge 5/16" (8mm) needles
I found the Wal Mart people to be pretty ignorant about the syringes so just make sure you check them out before you buy them. OH...did you get the ones with the 1/2 unit markings? That's important for the small doses! And yes, just eyeball between 2.5 & 3.0...good luck with that! :lol:

Yes, I'm using U40 ProZinc and the conversion chart...I got worried for a minute that I might have gotten the wrong syringes and giving the wrong dose but I haven't! I give 2.5 units when I want to give 1 unit converted. Ah, okay makes sense to eyeball btwn 2.5 and 3.0....and yeah, thanks for the luck because there is a teeny amount of room btwn the two! LOL! I'll give 1.1 tomorrow morning, I'll be able to monitor better during the day anyway.

Oh and the syringe I got is Relion U100 3/10ml 1/2" and 29 gauge...they are the same length and gauge as the ones the Vet sold to me in the U40. The lady in the pharmacy didn't seem to know anything about the differences and I couldn't see what she had so when she finally got the cc right, I just took the box she came up with. Would have liked to get a smaller gauge and shorter length, but Lucky seems to tolerate what I've been using pretty well.

We'll see what +4 brings us tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top