Lucky 4/15- PMPS is 229...what dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
Should I stick with 1.1 or go down to 1?? I don't want him to get too overnight when I can't check him. 229 is really close to the no shoot #

Need to know ASAP so I can shoot!

PS...I used a new Relion meter that I got today!
 
Hi, I would pull back to 1u. You shot that on a similar PS a couple days ago (7/13 AM cycle) and got a nadir of 129, so I think that is a good way to go for tonight. That was also following a similar shot from 400 something to 200 something on a 1.2 dose, so it looks like a similar setup, and the 1u worked well then, so I would go for that now!
 
Just for explanation purposes :-D my reasoning on pulling back the dose is not so much that it's close to the no shoot, it's because the PS is SOOOOO much lower than this morning's. If you got close to a 50% reduction in the PS on this cycle, you don't really want to continue with that - that would leave tomorrow morning potentially in the low blues, too low to shoot.

You got about a 50% drop today, so in theory on the same dose tonight the nadir might be around 100, not scary at all. But I agree if you can't monitor, and everything is still new and you are in the data gathering phase, I wouldn't put the theory to the test!

What is AWESOME is that he is seeing some really nice PSs as well as a clear response, which are great signs that he will do well on this insulin (YYYAAAAYYYY!!!!) Really you are already to the fine-tuning point, so that is very cool! It's just a matter of figuring out dose will get you some steadiness (hopefully) in the numbers. Ideally you want the PSs to be fairly equal, rather than what he is doing sometimes of sort of alternating between high ones and good ones.

I would probably be trying something like 1u in general, and maybe 1.1 or a fat 1 if he is over 400 to bring the #s back down quickly (seemed to work well today!). Really looking good overall, tho I'm sure the variable numbers are exhausting to try to keep up with and make any sense of!
 
I read and re-read your explanation and it does make sense. I just need to learn to look back at previous numbers and what worked then. I second guess things, especially after yesterday when yesterday he went from 303 to 68 in a matter of 6 hours and at only a 1.2 dose! Things are just crazy with the numbers and yes, it is hard to make sense of it. But the explanations do help to learn some of the "why's". I'm going to keep the dose at a steady 1u for another few cycles unless I get another crazy 400 number and I'll do a 1.1 or fat 1. Slow and steady, which was the original plan to begin with.

I keep dreaming of waking up one morning and his PS being normal and it staying normal w/out insulin LOL I will do what it takes for Lucky, but man, I have such a busy life with a newly diagnosed autistic son, a one year old and a hubby who just had surgery. It's been hard adding in another huge responsibility. I'm just glad that Lucky is taking all of this soooo well!!

Now if I could just learn how to keep the one year old from getting into cat food bowls and eating it before I remember to pick them up! :lol: She's SO darn FAST!
 
Hmmm, so you got a bigger drop last night than I would have expected. Which is good actually, nothing scary there, but something to keep an eye on. It may be that his insulin needs are going down already, hard to say for sure. I would probably adjust everything down a hair to be on the safe side - like a skinny 1u on the lower PSs, and just 1u, or maybe a fat 1u if he is over 400. We'll see how today shapes up and then you can fine tune it more based on today's data.

That is funny your daughter likes cat food, lol! At least we know it's low carb ;-) so maybe it's good for her!
 
Yeah, that drop surprised me too! I had to stay up and wait to test him again just to get more data to see if it was on the rise, etc. I was soooo tired lol What I do for this cat.

The skinny 1u on a good number sounds good to me and maybe a fat 1u on a high number. I'd like to keep dosing consistent but his numbers aren't consistent and I don't know how well a skinny 1u would bring down a 400. Does this make sense? I know some people here are saying to stick with 1u no matter what the PS is...what are your thoughts on this?

I feel like I know what I should do but still kind of conflicted as to whether I should stay consistent with 1u or adjust a little based on the PS I get.

Hubby got a laugh about the lo carb being good for the baby haha
 
I think you'll probably just need to do some experimenting and see what works. You can stay with the same dose on the higher PSs and see if he does ok. If he doesn't come down, then you can try the slightly higher dose. The dose differences are so small I wouldn't worry about it too much either way. Just do what makes the most sense to you and gather data, and then reevaluate & fine tune as you go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top