Lucky 11/13- BAM dose today?

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Active Member
Today's AMPS was 378 (+4.5 last night was 215).

So, should I go ahead with the BAM dose of 2u? I need to shoot him within the next 10 mins!
 
Well, I made the executive decision to go ahead with the BAM dose. I decided on 1.9u. If he's high and flat today, has an inverse curve or one of those funky BG spikes we were having around +9 & 10, then I'll know it was too much.

Coooome on green!!!!! :RAHCAT
 
Missed the question, but happy you made the decision.
Keep us posted!
Why is the "clock" on the board still on daylight savings time????
Carl
 
Oh my goodness this boy just kills me!! I just checked a +2.5 (I plan on doing a full out curve today) and it was 410 (up from AMPS of 378) BUT, this cat is SO playful this morning! He's jumping and playing with his toy and giving it that cute "right before the attack" look. He doesn't do that often! You'd never know he was in the reds right now. Of course right this second, he's laying in the middle of the floor all tuckered out and getting ready to take a snooze.

Will continue to update!
 
+4 351

Not quite what I was expecting....I'm not sure this BAM dose is going to give us the green we were looking for. Looks like we're going to see a high yellow at +6. He usually drops between 60-75 points between +4 and +6.
 
interesting, keep us posted on the curve
but it is a great sign that he is so playful!
that is what happened to Shakes when I increased and changed his injection site
so lets keep our fingeres crossed that he has some good numbers later!
 
Just have a quick second to jump on here to let you know I just checked +10 and it was 296. Seems to be headed up.

Even if PMPS is low 300's that's not such a big deal because that's what it usually is, unless he's bouncing or whatever. I could get the exact same results with a lower dose! I mean, I got a 206 PS a couple days ago with a 1.3 dose on a 351 PS. Of course we saw blues that day too, so that cycle would be considered better. But of course there are lower dose cycles where nadirs aren't any lower than 250 or so but the PS is still mid to low 300's.

I can try another high dose to see what happens. I don't know if I could do it tonight though. He's just too unpredictable and I can't stay up all night worrying.

We'll see what PMPS is and figure things out from there. PMPS is in about 2 hours...8:30pm Mountain time.
 
Did you see Denise's post? It seemed to make a big difference to Shakes to just change the place she was giving the shot. You might try that also?
 
I'll agree with changing the injection site, once I started shooting Harley in the loose skin by his shoulder and hip I started getting better results.
 
I'm thinking......it's just one cycle. Can't determine the effectiveness really. It wasn't really a drastic increase above the doses he has seen before. I'm surprised that he didn't give you a nice curve, but maybe the BAM wasn't a big enough BAM?

Carl
 
I'll try shooting in another location tonight. I was shooting in the side of his shoulder like the vet said but now I'm shooting more towards his belly at the edge of his "arm" where his belly and front arm meet, there a good bit of skin available to pull up.

PMPS was 305. Not really sure what to shoot. :?: Gonna shoot something in about 5 minutes though. Looking through his SS right now....
 
I'm looking at 10/21 when you shot 1.4 into a 331 and got a blue nadir....

What do you see?
Carl
 
Well, I'm not really sure if I did the "right" thing tonight but since I got the same PMPS as last night and the +4 was pretty nice, I shot the same dose (f1.0) to see if I get the same results at least. I did however change the injection location and shot in the area by his back leg and belly. I was able to pull up a nice hunk of skin. He usually tenses up sooo bad that sometimes his skin feels like I'm poking through leather or I can't pull up much at all. He doesn't like me messing around near his back legs lol

But anyway. Yeah. I don't know what to think. I know 1.9 isn't that far off from the highest dose I've done before but to go from 1u one cycle to 1.9 in the next and see almost NO difference at all is puzzling. Maybe next weekend when I can be here all day I'll try something higher, if everyone agrees? Until then I'll just wing it and collect data. It's almost as though he's not as sensitive to the insulin as he was in the beginning. :YMSIGH:

Ahhhh, I'm not looking forward to the possibility of changing insulin with Christmas so close. I've spent more on this cat the past few months than I've spent on my human kids!! :shock:
 
Carl, for some reason it seems like he responds a little differently during the PM vs. AM cycle. So when looking for a PMPS dose, I look at PMPS and not AMPS. I know, weird, but I feel more comfortable doing that. I can almost guarantee that Lucky saw blues last night so I stuck with that, just to see (and satisfy my curiosity about what might happen with a lower dose!).
 
I understand your reasoning. Good call.
I'm thinking the alternate site might make the 1u more effective too. Let's see what Lucky thinks!
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top