Lucky 11/11 & 11/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
Ohhh, this boy is still bouncing from that 140 (or lower) from yesterday, I have a feeling.

Last night's +5 was 341 and AMPS was 390. I shot a f1.2 this morning. Maybe I should have left off the "fat" part thinking about it now, but I didn't raise it significantly.

I'll be super excited for another blue today but I'm not holding my breath for that to happen!!
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

:-| Good thing I didn't hold my breath! No blues today, but maybe tomorrow?!

AMPS 390
+4 327
+6 265
+10 277
PMPS 411

I went and stocked up on Sophistacat Turkey & Giblets and Country Style Dinner tonight after our trial to see if the kitties liked it. It passed the test and Sophistacat is always in stock compared to empty shelves at Walmart where the Special Kitty should be. I just can't afford FF on a daily basis for 3 kitties. I am so glad I checked out PetSmart because now I'm not so stressed over the cost of food.

Thanks for asking about Lucky :mrgreen:
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

I so wish I had something brilliant to contribute. His spreadsheet is just generally puzzling. Whether you increase or decrease, he stays in pretty much the same range. He almost always has a reasonable nadir, just never into green territory.

Depending on what you get today and wait to see what anyone else thinks but I wonder about a BAM dose. It's a higher dose than you have given before - say 1.9 or even 2 units? You would want to be home and test often. I am wondering if we would get some data we need then. If he is high and flat, we would know it's too much insulin and more exploring in the lower ranges is a good idea. Or if he dips into the greens (which could be the scary part) we would at least know upward is the way to go.

Please wait until Robin or Carl weighs in. I may be completely off base.
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

Sue, before trying Robin's sliding scale, I was all for the BAM dose but I too will wait and see what others think about this. It seems that in the beginning when I shot 1.5 (instead of the regular 1u) for a couple of days, he started responding and I had to go back down. But then again, I've been up to 1.8u (8/25) and it didn't do much at all, even when I lowered back down. (this is where I need the beating head against wall smilie!!!)

But he seems to be slowly responding to what I'm doing now. I've seen more blues and even yellow PS's in the past few days than I've seen in awhile...that has to mean something, right?
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

I think that back when the BAM dose was discussed I was in agreement with
it then. I am now as well. He might see green from 2u. He'll probably bounce from it too. But that doesn't mean it is too much, just that he doesn't remember what green is. I think it's worth a try if you can be there to watch and test.
Carl
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

Carl, thanks so much for your opinion. For now it looks a like a BAM dose might be the way to go. Maybe tomorrow since it's a Sunday. Although I would like to see how today goes. I'm anxious to get a test in because Lucky is acting so alert and like he feels pretty good. Usually when he has good numbers, he acts this way. He's hanging out with us and even enjoying laying by the back door soaking in some sunshine and fresh air. He's even trying to get some lovin's from Callie right now lol He's such a big baby.

I'll report back after I get a +4!

Now I have to go attend to the hardest part of my day: helping my 8 year old, who HATES reading, work on his first book report for school :dizcat
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

Today didn't go the way I had planned. Shortly before I got a +4, Lucky retreated to the bedroom and there he stayed and slept. He seemed really tired. I haven't gotten a PMPS yet but here is what happened today:

AMPS: 325 (nice, seemed like I had a shot at a nice cycle today)
+4: 312
+6: 247

Pretty darn flat :YMSIGH:

So about this BAM dose.....once I do it, what dose do I go back to? If I shoot 2u at AMPS, what do I shoot at PMPS? Do we just wait and see what happens and then make a determination? Now if he just stays high and flat, does that tell us it's too much at that point? I just can't imagine it not being enough when I've gotten blues from under 1u doses before! I'm ready to try this, I'm anxious to see what happens.

Will update with PMPS here in about 45 mins or so.
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

I'm on board with a bam dose to get his attention.

I guess we'll have to wait and see what happens to decide what to do next.

I personally would like to see you stick with a scale, you can increase and decrease the scale to suit what PS's you are getting but I would raise and lower the whole scale to fit.

Let's see what your PMPS is.
 
Re: Lucky 11/11

Well, PMPS was 305. Not too bad. I've tried all doses but 1u in several days so I shot a f1.0

I think if the BAM dose gets results, then maybe it will be easier to determine a good scale. I'd like to stay on a scale too but I still think he's being too unpredictable to figure out what scale to put him on, unless there's just something I'm not seeing or understanding. I wish I could understand!

Robin, if you were to put him on a scale right now, would you want me to go back to the scale he was on or would you want to re-do it?
 
Robin isn't on at the moment, looks like, but I think I know what she was thinking....

I think she was saying, try the BAM dose, see what sort of numbers you get.
Just hypothetical, lets say the AMPS is 325, and you shoot the 2u, and his nadir is 80. Then you'll know what 2u can do for him. So you develop (Robin develops) a scale using that as a baseline.

Maybe 325-350 you shoot 2u
275 - 325 you shoot 1.8

350-400 you shoot 2.2

I don't know what the numbers or the PS breakdowns would be, but I think she is suggesting that you shoot based on a scale, but the scale would be "new", based on what you see from the BAM dose.

Robin, is that where you were going?

Carl
 
I gotcha, Carl. Sometimes my head gets so jumbled with all the information that I can't think clearly! lol I think this may be what she meant too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top