Lucifer 04/20 AMPS 285 +2 335 +4 217

Red83

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-360-6-165-10-81-pmps-92.275718/#post-3058776

Hello all!
I think my Lantus is bad or going bad even though it looks fine, just based on knowing my cat's BG numbers (a period of "very weird nadir times" wonkiness, and now they don't really seem to be responding).

Any ideas about how to get an emergency dosage of Lantus??

Is it safe to switch from Lantus to the generic? Has anyone done it? Will they do it even if the script says "substitution: not allowed"?

I know I don't have time to get any from canshipmeds.com, and I am panicking.
  • I have a script for solostar pens and a vial, but the vet refused to share a DEA # so I cannot use any coupons.
  • He is a good candidate for going into remission in the near future, or it would feel easier to buy another vial or full set of pens

I know I use generics as a human all the time, but pets can be different.

P.S. Thanks to everyone on the previous thread that replied, I read your replies late and did not want to bump an old thread.

Edit: I am going to the pharmacy to see what I can do now. CVS doesn't sell single pens. Walgreens can't substitute generic, and sells single pens but cannot fill any script without a DEA/NPI.
 
Last edited:
There are several biosimilar or generic versions of glargine, which Lantus is a brand name. We have members using Basaglar, Semglee or just plain insulin glargine, some who switched, some who started out that way. There doesn't seem to be any difference between them/

What makes you think your Lantus has gone bad? I see that you've done a couple fur shots, plus dosing hasn't been consistent. Both of those can cause wonky numbers. Your spreadsheet says "TR" at the top. Your signature says "SLGS". But I'm not sure which one you are following by the dosing I'm seeing. If you are following TR, you might find you get better numbers if you follow TR more closely.
 
Good news! The emergency hospital wrote a script I was able to fill for a single pen.

@Wendy&Neko - Thanks for sharing about the generics! To answer your question, I am very good with numbers and patterns, and the patterns in my cat’s BGs are completely different than they have been in a way that looks consistent with failing insulin.

It’s good to know some have switched. I had started searching for info on the forum but not yet come across specific switching guidelines, so reached out because it became a bit of a rush. I suppose it is moot now, but with more time I can go back to the stickies to see if it’s there.
 
Nothing in the stickies about switching from a generic to brand or back. They are the same, no need to do anything different.
 
That is very good to know. Thank you so much for clarifying! If we have to do this again, generic's the way to go.

Edit: The new Lantus worked great and Lucy's numbers are already back in the range they were before this whole fiasco! Remission here we come!
 
Back
Top