Lucifer 03/25 AMPS 380 +2 360 +6 165 +10 81 PMPS 92

Red83

Member Since 2023
Good evening FD family,

My kitty has had unusual appetite issues and some lethargy and I am looking for your suggestions as to whether I should shoot a full, decreased, or half dosage of Lantus.

Could his BGs be low because there is some other health issue? Or for diabetics do health issues almost always cause HIGH BGs not low?

I began switching foods a few days ago, but his appetite for the new food was not great (eating less and less) so I gave him as much of the old food as he wanted this morning (BIG portion) 6am, and after that he can only manage to eat small amounts before giving up. He is a tad lethargic and there are not really any other symptoms.

I am worried about shooting on a PMPS of 92 (now 110) (after syringe feeding a ~23% carb food) because he seems to have underlying inflammation/infection that gets suddenly better, causing the Lantus effectiveness to skyrocket and his #s to plummet. At the 2.25 dosage which we have been at for ~16 cycles, we were every day or two seeing a nadir <100, but pre shot was usually closer to 150-200.

What would you do?
I guess I can always syringe feed him, but I really don’t want to be solving a hypo episode that way.

Unfortunately I cannot right now manage to care for him and update the spreadsheet for you. (I use a different tracking system myself). Every time I update the spreadsheet first I run out of time and end up not posting… just exhausted, been trying to help him all day.

his shot was due 20 minutes ago.
Thank you all.
 
I’m sorry no one was here to help you.
We really need to see an updated SS when talking about the dose, especially if the kitty is not well and has a low preshot BG.maybe if you update the SS as you go you won’t find yourself in the position you have tonight.
When you have a lower than normal preshot, it is better to stall, dont feed and see if the BG will rise on its own. By feeding high carb food to raise the BG before shooting, you have a food influenced BG.
I’m not sure what dose you have been giving so can’t really comment on the 2 units you gave.
But I would recommend to you get a +1 and a +2 to start with to see what is happening.
Also if he is lethargic and not eating a lot and he an underlying inflammation or infection I would definitely be testing his urine daily for ketones using Ketostix. Also I would be making she he is eating plenty of food if you can.
 
Back
Top