Luci - AMPS 275

Status
Not open for further replies.
How are you sue??
Hope the meds are giving you some relief.

I hope you see some better numbers soon. Just looking at her ss I can see that the pmps on Jan 15th was dropping(it was significantly lower than the earlier numbers you got) there's every chance that was the bounce starting to clear. She may well have had an active cycle that evening.

Can you try to get a test just before you get to bed?? Or were you asleep already?

How's the testing coming along with Luci? Getting any easier? I hope she chills about that soon, so it doesn't take two to test her.
 
How are you sue??
Hope the meds are giving you some relief.

I hope you see some better numbers soon. Just looking at her ss I can see that the pmps on Jan 15th was dropping(it was significantly lower than the earlier numbers you got) there's every chance that was the bounce starting to clear. She may well have had an active cycle that evening.

Can you try to get a test just before you get to bed?? Or were you asleep already?

How's the testing coming along with Luci? Getting any easier? I hope she chills about that soon, so it doesn't take two to test her.

Thank you for asking, I'm trying to get better - have been to the doctor every day this week for treatment. No heavy-duty medications. It's going to take time to heal. I have a pinched nerve - some kind of spinal bone slippage - he said it twisted when I coughed and came down on the nerve - so that explains why so much pain.

I have to ask, to what end is the knowing of when the 'active cycle' occurs? Is it going to change something about the when/way we give the insulin? Or the amount? What if day time numbers are in the yellow and at night they go into the greens - what will change?

Luci is not interested in sitting on my lap, on the sofa or anywhere else - it's still a two person task to get her to hold still for the poke. She's taken to shaking her head now to flip off that blood drop - and so now not only does my husband hold her body - he's holding her head to keep her from flipping that blood all over us. So, no we've not made any progress on that front. This is a two person operation - hence the late start in the morning - and then 12 hours later (is late for me, but I stay up to wait if I can - which lately is impossible to do)...
 
Does anyone know where I could get one of these? I could use this to hold Luci while I do the poke!
 

Attachments

  • sling.jpg
    sling.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 46
have to ask, to what end is the knowing of when the 'active cycle' occurs
The short answer, is 'to keep her safe'
The dosing is based on how low the dose takes Luci, ideally you want to catch those lows, they are going to occur during an active cycle. On Jan 15 the if that was indeed the bounce clearing, can in some cats see them gather momentum and they can drop quite dramatically early on, or even continue dropping past the point they have a usual nadir.

So yes catching those lows will change what you do about the dose. If she were to drop below 50, on TR that would earn her a reduction, it would be a sign the dose was too much. On the other hand if you are sure she's not getting into low greens then you may need to take her up.

What if day time numbers are in the yellow and at night they go into the greens - what will change?
I don't understand this question.

I
Does anyone know where I could get one of these? I could use this to hold Luci while I do the poke!
Interesting contraption, no idea if that would work or where to get one.

I'm sorry the testing has not got easier. George went through an ear flicking face, place would look like a crime scene. I had to test on my own, DH was working away.

@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey used a thunder shirt I think on one of her cats to help calm one of her cats down, perhaps she can tell you how she found using it.
 
So if the cycle indicates she's lower at night but still in the yellows during the day - her dosage would change? You mean more in the morning and less at night? That kind of thing?
 
So if the cycle indicates she's lower at night but still in the yellows during the day - her dosage would change? You mean more in the morning and less at night? That kind of thing?
No you don't change the dose unless you see the numbers.

With lantus and the dosing protocols we follow we shot the same in the morning and evening, because of the way lantus works (the depot) it works at its best when dosed consistently.

But knowing that there is a good chance he dropped can help explain higher numbers you see during the day.

I realise that testing at night is hard, with work, it being a two man job as well, but often when a child sees something like a large drop at +1, they will monitor a little longer or set an alarm for somewhere in the night, to try and catch that low, if it is suspected kitty is going too low. Or they may leave food out (maybe higher in carbs than they would normally) to try and bolster the numbers and keep kittys BG from bottoming out.
I used to test and shoot at 7am, normal bedtime for me was 11am, so I could not Igor until +4, o would often get a +2 and +4, and if in doubt staying up an hour layer till +5 wasn't too big of a deal.

It's hard with Luci being difficult to test on your own, and with you and DH having different sleep patterns.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Silly question but are you giving her lots of loving before and after poke? Are you always giving her a treat? Most folk find that with consistent rewards they do co e round, it just takes some longer than others. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
No you don't change the dose unless you see the numbers.

With lantus and the dosing protocols we follow we shot the same in the morning and evening, because of the way lantus works (the depot) it works at its best when dosed consistently.

But knowing that there is a good chance he dropped can help explain higher numbers you see during the day.

I realise that testing at night is hard, with work, it being a two man job as well, but often when a child sees something like a large drop at +1, they will monitor a little longer or set an alarm for somewhere in the night, to try and catch that low, if it is suspected kitty is going too low. Or they may leave food out (maybe higher in carbs than they would normally) to try and bolster the numbers and keep kittys BG from bottoming out.
I used to test and shoot at 7am, normal bedtime for me was 11am, so I could not Igor until +4, o would often get a +2 and +4, and if in doubt staying up an hour layer till +5 wasn't too big of a deal.

It's hard with Luci being difficult to test on your own, and with you and DH having different sleep patterns.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Silly question but are you giving her lots of loving before and after poke? Are you always giving her a treat? Most folk find that with consistent rewards they do co e round, it just takes some longer than others. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for your note :) So first let me say that I appreciate your understanding of our opposite schedules and Luci being a two-person cat. The big issue right now is I simply cannot get up out of bed without a great deal of pain. I recently injured my back and have a pinched nerve - I'm undergoing treatment daily in hopes that my back will get better sooner than later - I'd like to be able to get up and down without nearly screaming with the effort. My hubby and I discussed getting up at night to give her a poke - he's up and down a lot anyway - so I said, sure, if I could get up without going through what I'm going through now - I'm sure we could do it! We could at least try...however this is just a really bad time for me. Should I have waited for a few more weeks while my back is out for Luci to begin her insulin? Or give the insulin and do the best we can with testing. That's what it would come down to. She was losing weight and I was worried about her - but I had no idea that the very week I started her on insulin I'd blow out my back :(

I still have to get up every morning and function for work and even that is challenging now with my pain management and going back and forth to the doctor's office during the day...we're juggling a lot right now.

We are giving Luci lots of love and attention - but now she's starting to catch on to what's going on - even over and above the promise of food or treats - she's beginning to recognize our pattern of prepping her area on the island - and starts to saunter off to another room. We're watching her and she's watching us...if she goes under the bed it'll be a much bigger task to get her out (btw my husband is 71 and I'm 64, so getting up in years isn't helping us crawl around on the floor or underneath furniture to retrieve Luci) Thankfully it hasn't gotten that bad where she's disappearing...We're doing the best we can - and she's not liking it much at all...but at least the ear poke seems to be getting easier for us - we get a nice blood ball every time...so we've come a long way as far as the testing goes...now if we could just jump all over the timing of those tests and be 'on' 24/7' it would be a perfect Luci world...

In the meantime, we'll do the best we can and keep working on it.
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey used a thunder shirt I think on one of her cats to help calm one of her cats down, perhaps she can tell you how she found using it.
No, the thunder shirt didn't help, but what did was a cat sack. I got the one with the underside zipper. I put Harvey in it to give him pills, and after his FD diagnosis, to test and/or shoot. At first he resisted getting in it, but once he was zipped in, he calmed down in the most amazing way. Eventually he got to where he would actually help me get him into it!

You can also use it to trim their nails - there are zippers to allow you to expose certain parts, like one leg, etc. One of the best tools I ever got. I lent mine to Lucy (Squallie's bean) to use with her civvie, and she ended up ordering one, too.
 
Thank you for asking, I'm trying to get better - have been to the doctor every day this week for treatment. No heavy-duty medications. It's going to take time to heal. I have a pinched nerve - some kind of spinal bone slippage - he said it twisted when I coughed and came down on the nerve - so that explains why so much pain.

I have to ask, to what end is the knowing of when the 'active cycle' occurs? Is it going to change something about the when/way we give the insulin? Or the amount? What if day time numbers are in the yellow and at night they go into the greens - what will change?

Luci is not interested in sitting on my lap, on the sofa or anywhere else - it's still a two person task to get her to hold still for the poke. She's taken to shaking her head now to flip off that blood drop - and so now not only does my husband hold her body - he's holding her head to keep her from flipping that blood all over us. So, no we've not made any progress on that front. This is a two person operation - hence the late start in the morning - and then 12 hours later (is late for me, but I stay up to wait if I can - which lately is impossible to do)...
I’m so lucky with Silver. He moves about and I say “hold still” and the obedient boy does just that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top