Sue and Luci
Member Since 2017
Staying in the yellow it appears.
How are you sue??
Hope the meds are giving you some relief.
I hope you see some better numbers soon. Just looking at her ss I can see that the pmps on Jan 15th was dropping(it was significantly lower than the earlier numbers you got) there's every chance that was the bounce starting to clear. She may well have had an active cycle that evening.
Can you try to get a test just before you get to bed?? Or were you asleep already?
How's the testing coming along with Luci? Getting any easier? I hope she chills about that soon, so it doesn't take two to test her.
The short answer, is 'to keep her safe'have to ask, to what end is the knowing of when the 'active cycle' occurs
I don't understand this question.What if day time numbers are in the yellow and at night they go into the greens - what will change?
Interesting contraption, no idea if that would work or where to get one.Does anyone know where I could get one of these? I could use this to hold Luci while I do the poke!
No you don't change the dose unless you see the numbers.So if the cycle indicates she's lower at night but still in the yellows during the day - her dosage would change? You mean more in the morning and less at night? That kind of thing?






No you don't change the dose unless you see the numbers.
With lantus and the dosing protocols we follow we shot the same in the morning and evening, because of the way lantus works (the depot) it works at its best when dosed consistently.
But knowing that there is a good chance he dropped can help explain higher numbers you see during the day.
I realise that testing at night is hard, with work, it being a two man job as well, but often when a child sees something like a large drop at +1, they will monitor a little longer or set an alarm for somewhere in the night, to try and catch that low, if it is suspected kitty is going too low. Or they may leave food out (maybe higher in carbs than they would normally) to try and bolster the numbers and keep kittys BG from bottoming out.
I used to test and shoot at 7am, normal bedtime for me was 11am, so I could not Igor until +4, o would often get a +2 and +4, and if in doubt staying up an hour layer till +5 wasn't too big of a deal.
It's hard with Luci being difficult to test on your own, and with you and DH having different sleep patterns.
Silly question but are you giving her lots of loving before and after poke? Are you always giving her a treat? Most folk find that with consistent rewards they do co e round, it just takes some longer than others.![]()
No, the thunder shirt didn't help, but what did was a cat sack. I got the one with the underside zipper. I put Harvey in it to give him pills, and after his FD diagnosis, to test and/or shoot. At first he resisted getting in it, but once he was zipped in, he calmed down in the most amazing way. Eventually he got to where he would actually help me get him into it!@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey used a thunder shirt I think on one of her cats to help calm one of her cats down, perhaps she can tell you how she found using it.
I’m so lucky with Silver. He moves about and I say “hold still” and the obedient boy does just that.Thank you for asking, I'm trying to get better - have been to the doctor every day this week for treatment. No heavy-duty medications. It's going to take time to heal. I have a pinched nerve - some kind of spinal bone slippage - he said it twisted when I coughed and came down on the nerve - so that explains why so much pain.
I have to ask, to what end is the knowing of when the 'active cycle' occurs? Is it going to change something about the when/way we give the insulin? Or the amount? What if day time numbers are in the yellow and at night they go into the greens - what will change?
Luci is not interested in sitting on my lap, on the sofa or anywhere else - it's still a two person task to get her to hold still for the poke. She's taken to shaking her head now to flip off that blood drop - and so now not only does my husband hold her body - he's holding her head to keep her from flipping that blood all over us. So, no we've not made any progress on that front. This is a two person operation - hence the late start in the morning - and then 12 hours later (is late for me, but I stay up to wait if I can - which lately is impossible to do)...
I would try blocking off the underside of the bed. I personally store a lot of stuff under our beds, so there is no room for a cat!.if she goes under the bed it'll be a much bigger task to get her out
That is all you can do.In the meantime, we'll do the best we can and keep working on it.