Suzanne Burton
Member Since 2019
Since I'm new, I don't know what to do with a AMPS of 137. I know it's posted here on the forum, but with it being the first time, I would kind of like someone to hold my hand. Thanks!
Hi Sue, I do have a medium/high carb food on hand. I do have a few extra strips on hand, but not tons since I'm also testing my dog. New strips arrive on Thursday afternoon. He already inhaled his food and he always wants more. I'll wait a bit to see what others say. With dogs you wait after they eat and re-test, but I'm totally having to re-learn everything.
You can still shoot an hour late and make up your schedule. As long as you have the medium carb food and can test . A good test to start with would be the +2. If that number is lower than the preshot then it could be an active cycle.I'm coming up on an hour and I need to inject if I'm going to. I'm thinking of giving a half dose which is 0.5 units, but I'm not comfortable with any of this.
The correct protocol would have been to stall without feeding and retest in 30 minutes to see if the number came up to 150 or higher, then feed and shoot. It's always a bit nerve racking to see the first lower pre shot number. Usually, they start to bounce up like he did today from seeing a lower number than they are used to seeing.Still want to know what the correct protocol would have been.![]()
. There's a bit of a steep learning curve with the feline diabetes stuff. Looking forward to getting better at this and getting LT started on TR come Friday evening if possible.So since we gave shot at 8:20, I, assuming an adequately high BG tonight, could give the next shot at 7:50? And then 15 minutes back at each 12 hour cycle until we are back to our 7/7 schedule?
Yes, you’ve got! It really is a steep learning curve. And can feel overwhelming for a while. But , keep posting and asking questions as that is how we all learn. Also, besides reading all the stickies ( I had to read and reread, lots ) , read as many other condos a day as you can. I learned a lot that way too.So since we gave shot at 8:20, I, assuming an adequately high BG tonight, could give the next shot at 7:50? And then 15 minutes back at each 12 hour cycle until we are back to our 7/7 schedule?
Good luck to Mr Gimpy!Yes to the above.
Hi Suzanne,sorry I didn't see this earlier. I got a late start this morning as DH wrenched his knee trying to avoid stepping on Idjit during a bathroom trip in the deep night and I didn't know till this morning. So was giving home care to Mr. Gimpy in pain.
It is a really steep learning curve and you will get better at this. It has not even been a week and you have already learned so much about feline diabetes.
Don't let the 137 BG jump to 392 BG scare you. It's just LT's little body reacting to a number that it perceives as "too low" and "gotta do something about this". He's going to get better at this too, it just takes time.
Here is some info on "bouncing":
BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver ( think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
I hope your day goes well.
He's going to be fine and get lots of TLC today, which he won't mind at all. As far as the curve, see what LT does today and tomorrow, the bounce may clear and you can go ahead on Friday.Thanks Lou, I hope your husband's knee gets better. I'm copying your reply (and Bobbie's) into LT's diabetic document. So, my question is, should I wait on doing a curve until his gets more stable day to day on his number, or go into it full speed ahead? I just don't know if today's episode will affect numbers going into Friday.
.
. Should I feed him his regular meal? Increase his insulin a tad tonight?I forgot to hide the other cat's kibble in the microwave (yes that's the only place to hide it) and LT just now got into it; probably had several mouthfuls and he was already high today! I am kicking myself. Should I feed him his regular meal? Increase his insulin a tad tonight?
Sue, that's what I thought about food and insulin, but being new to FD, I just want to confirm everything. Thanks for your help today.

