? Lowered dose last night, but ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robin&BB

Very Active Member
After days/ nights of too-low-to-shoot #s, resulting in later & later shot times, I reduced Bat's dose to 0.25U last night (she'd already been at <0.5 for a while). But less than an hour ago - at +10 - her BG was at 171. So now I'm worried that I screwed up by reducing it: that she'll spike something in the low 200s by AM pre-shot time.

Am wondering whether I should just hold her at the 0.25 - or if she spikes around 200 at shot time, should I raise it up a little instead? Is it possible it'll just take her a few cycles to settle into the reduced dose?

(And just in case this makes any difference: She's been a LOT more vocal in the two hours before feeding time, and way more active overall. Much less cooperative at AMPS/ PMPS ear-prick sessions lately, too - I guess because she just wants to get right to the meal!)

Any thoughts?
 
From what I've seen, Bat tends to take a few cycles to settle into a dose. Is that what you see as well? I'd give it a few cycles and then, if high, consider fattening the 0.25 perhaps? If you can monitor that is? That's my thoughts at least.

I do think the other info is important. Remember, Bat is more than a number! What you tell about her being more active tells me she is feeling better overall.
 
From what I've seen, Bat tends to take a few cycles to settle into a dose. Is that what you see as well? I'd give it a few cycles and then, if high, consider fattening the 0.25 perhaps? If you can monitor that is? That's my thoughts at least.

I do think the other info is important. Remember, Bat is more than a number! What you tell about her being more active tells me she is feeling better overall.
Thanks for your input, Rachel! She only popped a 177 AMPS @ 10:08 this morning - that's a relief! - so fed her & gave the same 0.25U @ 10:30. I think you're right about holding this dose for a few cycles so I can see how she settles into it.
 
See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for other assessments you can make to evaluate Bat, including behavioral.
 
Look at all those pretty blues and greens! Glad to hear she's showing signs of feeling good too!
:cat:
Thanks, Joan! Just started (once again!) last night/this morning with the too-low #s at usual shot time. Didn't think that would happen since Bat's on a pretty low dose these days. Then Bat's vet surprised me with a phone call yesterday (I send him a spreadsheet every few days) - just to tell me how blown away he is by her #s. I've told him more than once that I don't think we'd have made this kind of progress without the sage advice & support of other FDMB members on the ProZinc Forum! :joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top