Lower BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all we have been dosing my cat Tinka with 0.5 twice daily past 4 days and haven't really seen much blue on her SS since her numbers dropped low the other day after second shot of 0.75 and coming off steroids a few days earlier. She dropped low to green early in cycle and it kept dropping so I was advised to add a little honey in her LC food as she had food allergies so I dont hv a suitable HC food. This seemed to help and she curved up. Today AMPS was 13.9 pretty typical and usually by +6 she has t dropped much but now she has dropped to 4.6 at +6. We just fed her LC food as she was due food which she polished as was very hungry and tested her at +6.75 and she's dropped to 4.4. The only time we've had low numbers have been early so we've had to help curve or late when we've had to skip a dose. Is this a concerning or good number number mid cycle? Do we need to feed her any honey to help her curve up? Or wait till it drops lower? Pls advise thanks! Here is the link to thread a few days ago when she dropped low early cycle. Pls also see my updated SS thanks.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-time-this-pm-pls-advise.170148/#post-1851698
 
Hi. I'm more familiar with US numbers but just checked and see her last test was 88. That is not a dangerous level at all since you are following TR and at this point in the cycle is likely nadir. You don't need to use honey until low 50's early in the cycle. Otherwise you would feed lc unless she drops under 50 at which point she earns a reduction and honey would be added. Hopefully she will surf until pmps or go up a little. Green is good!:)
 
Hi. I'm more familiar with US numbers but just checked and see her last test was 88. That is not a dangerous level at all since you are following TR and at this point in the cycle is likely nadir. You don't need to use honey until low 50's early in the cycle. Otherwise you would feed lc unless she drops under 50 at which point she earns a reduction. Hopefully she will surf until pmps or go up a little. Green is good!:)
Thank you for your msg:) That's good to know. She was 83 at +6. Then I feed her. Then after at +6.45 she dropped to 79. It's much lower than she usually is at mid cycle which is why I was concerned. So I just need monitor her and only feed honey if she drops lower than 50 then? How come I was advised to feed her honey on the 23rd Dec then (see other thread link and my SS) when she dropped to 92 at +4 after PMPS? Was that cause she was dropping low early in cycle and not increasing after LC food? Just trying to understand how it all works. Thanks again!
 
How come I was advised to feed her honey on the 23rd Dec then (see other thread link and my SS) when she dropped to 92 at +4 after PMPS?

You actually shouldn't have.....on TR we don't go to HC food (or honey/karo/syrup) until they drop below 50 .....now sometimes if there's a really steep drop really early in the cycle, we might have you add a little bit (like a drop) just to slow them down and encourage them to surf, but generally speaking, you should stick with regular low carb food and just keep testing so IF you need to intervene, you can
 
You actually shouldn't have.....on TR we don't go to HC food (or honey/karo/syrup) until they drop below 50 .....now sometimes if there's a really steep drop really early in the cycle, we might have you add a little bit (like a drop) just to slow them down and encourage them to surf, but generally speaking, you should stick with regular low carb food and just keep testing so IF you need to intervene, you can
Thanks Chris that's good to know for next time. So her numbers the other day after shooting lower for first time and first time shooting 0.75 twice went from PMPS 166 to 99 at +2.5 then to 92 at 4.5 after feeding LC. So that wouldn't indicate any honey then? Just so I know for next time what would be a really steep drop early on then? Other than a steep drop early on I only feed honey if she's lower than 50 then? Thank you!!
 
It I had to guess, I suspect that whoever suggested you go to high carb food a few days ago may not have realized you were following TR. For the future, here are the instructions on what to do if Tinka's numbers are dropping below 50. Your instincts to feed a bit of LC today were exactly on target. If numbers aren't speeding downhill, often a bit of LC can level things out nicely.

 
I'm thinking you are seeing a bounce from 12.26 PM cycle of 171 pmps where Tina probably went lower . With her just going off pred on 12/20 you need to be vigilant with testing as she could require less insulin. I agree with Sienne in the post above to not give HC food unless her numbers go below 50.
 
I wouldn't have given you that advice (to give honey at that point)

But everyone here has a different level of experience and just because one person suggests something, in the end it's always going to be your decision what's best
Thanks Chris :)
 
It I had to guess, I suspect that whoever suggested you go to high carb food a few days ago may not have realized you were following TR. For the future, here are the instructions on what to do if Tinka's numbers are dropping below 50. Your instincts to feed a bit of LC today were exactly on target. If numbers aren't speeding downhill, often a bit of LC can level things out nicely.
Thank you for this info & good to know I was on target today. Some LC food today seems to have really helped. +9.5 now and she's now 9 mmol/L which is looking promising for shooting in a few hours time:)
 
I'm thinking you are seeing a bounce from 12.26 PM cycle of 171 pmps where Tina probably went lower . With her just going off pred on 12/20 you need to be vigilant with testing as she could require less insulin. I agree with Sienne in the post above to not give HC food unless her numbers go below 50.
Thank you Bobbie:) I will definitely monitor her closely with regular tests as I agree coming off the pred we have definitely seen a reduction in her values which is why we dropped to 0.5. Hoping with coming off the pred that in time she will go into remission. The problem is though her skin has started flaring up again now that steroids are coming out her system. Each time she goes on a course of steroids her skin gets worse after. It suppresses it then it's like taking off a pressure pot lid. I'm feeding her novel rabbit but she's still itching, scratching and beginning to hurt herself I had to resort to an e-collar temporarily do she doesn't hurt her eyes. We have been trying various proteins over the past year but she gets bored with eating same thing so it's a real challenge. I believe she has atopic dermatitis. Could be food allergy related but could also be environmental. I've managed to find a veterinarian lab here in Canada that does allergy testing and immunotherapy once allergies are known so looking to get her tested so we actually no what the root cause of the dermatitis is as steroids are only making the condition worse and it's affecting her breathing now and of course her BG. It's likely been the cause even of the diabetes. So I just hope we can get the tests done soon and onto something like the immunotherapy that doesn't have such harsh side effects. It's all such a learning curve!
 
Thank you Bobbie:) I will definitely monitor her closely with regular tests as I agree coming off the pred we have definitely seen a reduction in her values which is why we dropped to 0.5. Hoping with coming off the pred that in time she will go into remission. The problem is though her skin has started flaring up again now that steroids are coming out her system. Each time she goes on a course of steroids her skin gets worse after. It suppresses it then it's like taking off a pressure pot lid. I'm feeding her novel rabbit but she's still itching, scratching and beginning to hurt herself I had to resort to an e-collar temporarily do she doesn't hurt her eyes. We have been trying various proteins over the past year but she gets bored with eating same thing so it's a real challenge. I believe she has atopic dermatitis. Could be food allergy related but could also be environmental. I've managed to find a veterinarian lab here in Canada that does allergy testing and immunotherapy once allergies are known so looking to get her tested so we actually no what the root cause of the dermatitis is as steroids are only making the condition worse and it's affecting her breathing now and of course her BG. It's likely been the cause even of the diabetes. So I just hope we can get the tests done soon and onto something like the immunotherapy that doesn't have such harsh side effects. It's all such a learning curve!
Poor girl! I am so sorry about the skin issue . It is maddening My dog Lucy has some allergies and when she is in a flair up, I use aloe vera sun burn relief on her and it stops the hot spots in their tracks. It has lidocaine in it and that numbs the itching long enough for the aloe vera to heal the eruption. Worth a try, I swear by it for dogs and cats, super cheap and harmless .

Dogs get put on Atopica for skin issues with really good results. Ask your vet about it for cats.
 
Poor girl! I am so sorry about the skin issue . It is maddening My dog Lucy has some allergies and when she is in a flair up, I use aloe vera sun burn relief on her and it stops the hot spots in their tracks. It has lidocaine in it and that numbs the itching long enough for the aloe vera to heal the eruption. Worth a try, I swear by it for dogs and cats, super cheap and harmless .

Dogs get put on Atopica for skin issues with really good results. Ask your vet about it for cats.
Thanks Bobbie its definitely worth a try:) I looked into Atopica but as it's also an immune suppressent and has a number of side effects I'm going to try the allergy tests and immunotherapy first. But the aloe Vera with lidocaine sounds like a good option for temporary relief:) Which brand of aloe vera sunburn relief do you use? Going to see if I can source it here.
 
Thanks Bobbie its definitely worth a try:) I looked into Atopica but as it's also an immune suppressent and has a number of side effects I'm going to try the allergy tests and immunotherapy first. But the aloe Vera with lidocaine sounds like a good option for temporary relief:) Which brand of aloe vera sunburn relief do you use? Going to see if I can source it here.
I don't know if you have CVS Drug stores in Canada. That is the brand I use but I have also use Panama Jack brand. As long as it has lidocaine and aloe vera gel.
 
Be careful of aloe vera if it's anywhere Tinka can lick. Here is the page from the ASPCA listing of plants poisonous to cats.
I have used it on my dog and my cats without an issue. It is curious why some holistic vets will recommend cats and dogs drinking aloe vera juice for GI issues if it is toxic , which I have given to Bubba when he was having issues. Below is a link that discusses a the benefits of it for dogs and cats .

http://ottawavalleydogwhisperer.blogspot.com/2013/10/herbs-for-dogs-and-cats-aloe-vera-juice.html
 
Thank you both for the info. Yes it interesting how some articles and holistic vets recommend it and others don't. I use to have an aloe plant in our house and have allowed tinka to eat a little before as she as trying to eat it herself, she thankfully didn't have any ill reaction. I've also used some on her skin in the past, which she may or may not have licked off. Maybe its got to do with the quality or purity of the aloe vera, I'm not sure. Right now she's got an ecollar on to try help break the lick scratch cycle, however she is still able to lick and scratch to an extent but its less depressing for her as its softer and more comfortable then the hard see through cones which she hates.

Thanks everyone for the advise Tinka curved up nicely yesterday after some LC food. Today her mid cycle is in the teens. I'm not sure why she's so inconsistent, don't really have any notable pattern. I'll post a new thread for further info/discussions regarding this soon. Thanks!
 
Thank you both for the info. Yes it interesting how some articles and holistic vets recommend it and others don't. I use to have an aloe plant in our house and have allowed tinka to eat a little before as she as trying to eat it herself, she thankfully didn't have any ill reaction. I've also used some on her skin in the past, which she may or may not have licked off. Maybe its got to do with the quality or purity of the aloe vera, I'm not sure. Right now she's got an ecollar on to try help break the lick scratch cycle, however she is still able to lick and scratch to an extent but its less depressing for her as its softer and more comfortable then the hard see through cones which she hates.

Thanks everyone for the advise Tinka curved up nicely yesterday after some LC food. Today her mid cycle is in the teens. I'm not sure why she's so inconsistent, don't really have any notable pattern. I'll post a new thread for further info/discussions regarding this soon. Thanks!
I'm wondering if it the outer green part of the pant that is toxic and the aloe vera pulp could be fine to ingest . I swear by it and it's always my go to for skin issues human, dog or cat .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top