Lower BG Readings with New Freestyle Lite Test Strips?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Victoria & Stuart

Member Since 2010
Hello all!

I searched the boards and did not find much mention of this topic so I wanted to ask directly. Of you who use the Freestyle Lite meter and have tried the "new and improved" strips for it, have you noticed that they read much lower than the old ones?

I have been using the FS Lite for years, and have liked it very much (it's kept Stu going for a long time!), but without any other changes to diet or insulin dosage (tight regulation protocol), the very day I started using the new strips, his BG readings went about 50-70 points lower than usual and have stayed there. He does get brief honeymoons for a few days at a time on occasion, but I can usually tell when he is heading towards one, and there was no hint of it this time. Now his readings are in the 80's most of the time even at + 48 hours, and they are usually from 100- 130. (It is a nice break from injections, and I know that cats can tolerate much higher BG's without physical damage than humans can, but I wonder if the old strips were more accurate or if the new ones are.)

In addition, I have found some mention of the new FSL strips reading lower than the old strips did, in humans. The new design is supposed to be "better" but I am dismayed at the large the difference in the readings. Anyway. Just looking for your experiences with these new strips. Thanks for your input!

Victoria
 
I absolutely have seen it. Really threw me for a loop the first time I switched. On a more positive side I think it is more accurate if only that her numbers seem more in line with the decrease in physical symptoms (less neuropathy, lower urine volume and frequency, less hungries) that I was seeing.
 
Iwas relunctant about the new test strips at first but I have found them much easier to use.I did not notice any significant decrease in my cat's BG levels.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top