? Lower and lower pre shot numbers.. what to do

Well, you already shot a 186 today with 1 unit so we should be good to shoot that again — although I would prefer if we had a test during that cycle but hopefully when you are home you will have a chance on another day.
 
upload_2025-3-19_5-44-18.jpeg

Is this the reli on tester I can use ? There were like 4 other options : premier ,blu, voice and compact .
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-19_5-44-18.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-19_5-44-18.jpeg
    51 KB · Views: 395
Last edited:
I have one of those — the Premier Classic. It’s a good meter. I have seen a few people using the other ones, too.
Great thank you I'm ordering today. I was trying to keep up with the Alpha Trak but it has proven difficult. its just too expensive to maintain and I've been having lots of ERROR messages popping up with the test strips. I wasted maybe 10 so far. sometimes I won't get enough blood out and it won't accept. I will have to change my spreadsheet when I start the human reader right?
 
View attachment 73163
Is this the reli on tester I can use ? There were like 4 other options : premier ,blu, voice and compact .
@Milah and Maxine

Yes the Premier Classic is fine . and you don't have to start a new spreadsheet at all . I'll tell you what to do
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart

When you do switch to a human meter please add that to your signature and the date
Leave the word Alpha Trak 3 and after that put Relion and the date you start to use it . Please add to your signature the date Milah was diagnosed and the food you are feeding , we need to know all this :cat:

On your spreadsheet up top add the date diagnosed and after where you have the Alpha Trak 3 put a / and put Relion and the date you start it.

I am pretty sure you can do this yourself . The last 2 color codes up top need to be changed to reflect a human meter

The dark green will be 50-99
The lime green will be BG<50

We also like members to leave a blank line above the date you will start to use the human meter and type
Relion Now and highlight it any color so it stands out



@Milah and Maxine
 
Last edited:
If you are giving Zobaline for the neuropathy I used to give that but got too expensive .

the Vitacost brand another member told me about
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

Same as Zobaline , but the Zobaline is so expensive as you know
This is the same thing
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I bought the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and added it to the Vitacost brand
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up and add it, some members didn't even add the folic acid and the neuropathy improved
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up, I still give it to Tyler every now and then and he has never tasted it in his food , I always add water to his food and just stir up the methyl B-12 good
I switched to the vitacost brand because the zobaline was too expensive,
Even though the vitacost brand is 5000 mcgs and the zobaline is 3000 mcgs
What they don't need they will pee out because it's water soluble.

The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand .

It took about 2 months for Tyler to get back to walking normal, jumping on to the couch, running around
But every few weeks I did see a slight improvement
Some members didn't even add the folic acid to the vitacost brand and it still helped and the neuropathy was gone

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6


14.49 for 100 capsules
@Milah and Maxine
 
@Milah and Maxine

Yes the Premier Classic is fine . and you don't have to start a new spreadsheet at all . I'll tell you what to do
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart

When you do switch to a human meter please add that to your signature and the date
Leave the word Alpha Trak 3 and after that put Relion and the date you start to use it . Please add to your signature the date Milah was diagnosed and the food you are feeding , we need to know all this :cat:

On your spreadsheet up top add the date diagnosed and after where you have the Alpha Trak 3 put a / and put Relion and the date you start it.

I am pretty sure you can do this yourself . The last 2 color codes up top need to be changed to reflect a human meter

The dark green will be 50-99
The lime green will be BG<50

We also like members to leave a blank line above the date you will start to use the human meter and type
Relion Now and highlight it any color so it stands out



@Milah and Maxine
Thank you! I added that info in.
& perfect I ordered the Reli on meter and it should be here by tomorrow! I also ordered the zobeline I just haven't started it yet. the vet said it wouldn't be a good idea to give her other supplements and that I should be very careful what I introduce to her at this point. she said she would look into them. I haven't heard back yet.
Milah is starting to walk better . She is still walking slow and a little wobbly but much better than before.
 
Thanks for adding the information
If the Relion arrives tomorrow don't forget to add the other things I mentioned to add to you signature and spreadsheet. So before you start the relion just type Relion Now , highlight it and then under that you can put the start the date, AMPS and the units and so on
and change the color codes . I'll check back tomorrow to see if you started the Relion or if you start it on Friday:cat:
Just noticed you need to add SLGS to your signature like you have on your spreadsheet



@Milah and Maxine
 
Last edited:

@Diane Tyler's Mom GA @Suzanne & Darcy
she just dropped down to 83. that's the lowest she's ever gone
@Milah and Maxine

Hopefully @Suzanne & Darcy will see the tag, I don't give dosing advice but since Milah dropped below 90 I'm wondering if the new dose for tomorrow morning will be 0.25 units
From the Prozinc sticky

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

I read your previous post that your kitty might have kidney disease and Suzanne suggested a cat food with lower phosphorus than Fancy Feast

low carb/ low phosphorus
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus with kitties with CKD
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085
You can order them on line also
 
Last edited:
@Milah and Maxine

Hopefully @Suzanne & Darcy will see the tag, I don't give dosing advice but since Milah dropped below 90 I'm wondering if the new dose for tomorrow morning will be 0.25 units
From the Prozinc sticky

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

I read your previous post that your kitty might have kidney disease and Suzanne suggested a cat food with lower phosphorus than Fancy Feast

low carb/ low phosphorus
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus with kitties with CKD
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085
You can order them on line also

yes! thank you I do need to get her another food now that she is eating again!
I am also wondering the same about decreasing the dose. Its gone back up now but she has been snacking .I will test again in 2 hours for her am AMPS.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy if her PMPS is under 200 tonight should I be giving her .5 0r .25? I was originally giving 1 u but last night we shot at .5 because she was under 200 (179mg/dL) she went down to 80 at +2. Then towards the end went back up to 368. This morning the AMPS was same as previous nights PMPS so I got scared and I shot .25 in the am since it dropped below 90 last night. she seems to have stayed in the blue.. Im not sure if she dropped low in between the AM shot and the time I got home (around +8). so now im wondering do I shoot at .25 and test through the night or do I go .5 ..
&im sorry for all the questions you guys have just been so great and so helpful. Thank you 100x!
 
It looks like the .25 this morning was not enough insulin for that preshot number. You have shot a similar PMPS to tonight’s with 1 unit before. Yesterday she was at 213 and got 1 unit. On 3/17 PMPS she was also at 213 and got one unit. The main problem is that each of those two cycles we have very few tests to show is what her nadir was. So that doesn’t give us much information on which to base our dosing decisions.
 
It looks like the .25 this morning was not enough insulin for that preshot number. You have shot a similar PMPS to tonight’s with 1 unit before. Yesterday she was at 213 and got 1 unit. On 3/17 PMPS she was also at 213 and got one unit. The main problem is that each of those two cycles we have very few tests to show is what her nadir was. So that doesn’t give us much information on which to base our dosing decisions.
Hi Suzanne so what dose do you think she should go back to 1 unit
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Thank you @Suzanne & Darcy, @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
I shot a little over .5 not sure if thats exactly .75
In the unit slots on the sheet I mark it as .5+ when I go a little more than .5. I shot that way the night she went down to 80. With a 179 AMPS
I shot the same way today with a 198AMPS

I’m not home during the day at all I’m only off one day a week (Saturday usually) some times I work all 7 days depending on my work load. So it’s hard to get Day time tests on her.
Only night tests which I’ll set alarms for but sometimes I’m exhausted and I sleep through it. This has been so hard ‍ but I’m managing best I can.
 
Thank you @Suzanne & Darcy, @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
I shot a little over .5 not sure if thats exactly .75
In the unit slots on the sheet I mark it as .5+ when I go a little more than .5. I shot that way the night she went down to 80. With a 179 AMPS
I shot the same way today with a 198AMPS

I’m not home during the day at all I’m only off one day a week (Saturday usually) some times I work all 7 days depending on my work load. So it’s hard to get Day time tests on her.
Only night tests which I’ll set alarms for but sometimes I’m exhausted and I sleep through it. This has been so hard ‍ but I’m managing best I can.
Oh, I know you are! It is hard, no question about that, but I can tell how much you love Milah! I’m proud of you for stepping up to the plate. None of us will ever be 100 percent all the time with this either. You are making progress.

When drawing a .75 dose, you attempt to draw the plunger back to halfway between the 1 unit and the half unit mark. It’s just eyeballing it.
 
Since you are gone so much of the time it will be important to get a BG curve done on your day off. And those night time tests are very valuable too. Many cats drop a bit lower at night so using that data will help us to keep her safe during the day as well. A daytime curve will be really good information. And 83 is a very safe number.
 
Since you are gone so much of the time it will be important to get a BG curve done on your day off. And those night time tests are very valuable too. Many cats drop a bit lower at night so using that data will help us to keep her safe during the day as well. A daytime curve will be really good information. And 83 is a very safe number.
Thank you!! Okay that’s good to know.
So yes I will change the spreadsheet to .75 for those shots. I will get some day time ones this Sunday. ☺️ thank you
 
Hey! Yes I got it yesterday I’m going to finish up the day with the AT3 strips and I can start with the relion tomorrow ☺️☺️
That's great, by the way you're doing a great job with her considering you work 6 days a week , sometimes 7. You have to be exhausted. Just remember all the changes I told you to make in my post above . I'll check in tomorrow I hope you have a nice night. By the way Milah is gorgeous :bighug::cat:

I saw on your introduction post that Eamon & Ailish
gave you a information about a vet in NYC if you were looking for a new one. :cat:
 
Last edited:
Thank you !! Yes I’m dead by end of week. I work in events. I’m a full time florist & I also work in catering. Living in NY is expensive! but that’s my baby girl. It’s just her and I, so I will do all I can for her.

I will make those changes to the spreadsheet and thank you so much!
 
Thank you !! Yes I’m dead by end of week. I work in events. I’m a full time florist & I also work in catering. Living in NY is expensive! but that’s my baby girl. It’s just her and I, so I will do all I can for her.

I will make those changes to the spreadsheet and thank you so much!
That sounds like an exciting job, I can see why you are exhausted. Oh I know NY is expensive, I've been there, I live in N.J.
I had to go see a day in Manhattan ,so after the visit me. my sister and her husband went and got 3 small coffee's, 2 muffins and one bagel.
I wanted to pay for everything so the cashier says to me 27.50 . I was like WTF . My sister said you're in N.Y. what did you expect. I said I know but that is outrageous in my book :p
 
That sounds like an exciting job, I can see why you are exhausted. Oh I know NY is expensive, I've been there, I live in N.J.
I had to go see a day in Manhattan ,so after the visit me. my sister and her husband went and got 3 small coffee's, 2 muffins and one bagel.
I wanted to pay for everything so the cashier says to me 27.50 . I was like WTF . My sister said you're in N.Y. what did you expect. I said I know but that is outrageous in my book :p
Yesssss! Manhattan prices are out of this world!
 
Whenever you get a few bucks I saw down the road you are interested in the automatic feeders

some info on auto feeders always add a little water to the wet food. You can set it to open at what times you want to feed Milah
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.chewy.com/cat-mate-c500-auto-feeder-replacement/dp/260433

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1
 
Last edited:
Whenever you get a few bucks I saw down the road you are interested in the automatic feeders

some info on auto feeders always add a little water to the wet food. You can set it to open at what times you want to feed Milah
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.chewy.com/cat-mate-c500-auto-feeder-replacement/dp/260433

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1
thank you! we will be getting one of these auto feeders soon. thank you for providing those links!
 
good morning =) I haven't given Milah her AM shot yet . she woke me up around 4 am she threw up a little clear liquid. then wanted a snack. I woke up and tested again at 6:30a her BG was 120. I didn't feed her and waited to test again. its 7:22a and it seemed to still be going down. it read 106. I waited another half hour maybe and tested again. its now 160
I think ill shoot with .5. does that sound right? is it normal for the numbers to still drop by the +11,+12 marks?

@Suzanne & Darcy we used the Alpha Trak today still.
 
Last edited:
@Milah and Maxine
Are you going to stick with the Alpha Trak for tonight? If so you would reduce the dose . It would be 0.25 units .
Yes I will continue with alpha trak I didn’t realize I had to buy the control solution separately ‍♀️ sill me opened up my reli on to set it up and I only have my strips and my monitor . I didn’t even think about a control solution so Iam trying to order from Amazon I still have enough alpha trak strips to hold me .

So tonight for her pm I should go with .25?
 
Last edited:
good morning =) I haven't given Milah her AM shot yet . she woke me up around 4 am she threw up a little clear liquid. then wanted a snack. I woke up and tested again at 6:30a her BG was 120. I didn't feed her and waited to test again. its 7:22a and it seemed to still be going down. it read 106. I waited another half hour maybe and tested again. its now 160
I think ill shoot with .5. does that sound right? is it normal for the numbers to still drop by the +11,+12 marks?

@Suzanne & Darcy we used the Alpha Trak today still.
Yes. The numbers can drop at that time. One reason is simply lack of food — since it’s been a while since the cat ate
 
@Milah and Maxine
I never ordered the control solution, let me look I think you have to call Relion . Give me a few minutes
I really don't think most members ordered it.
I pretty sure there is an expiration date on them , ask them.

Usually people will order it when they start getting really crazy BG numbers when they start using the meter.

Like I said I never used it and got Tyler into remission for over 3 years .

If you feel more comfortable having it then order it :cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
@Milah and Maxine
Found this posted by a member

I too have a relion meter and called them (24 hours) 1800-631-0076 and they send it to you free. It will take about 10 days to get it.. I'm pretty sure it's free, ask them



I googled and found this
How do our customers receive control solution? You can request control solution online at https://supplies.relionbgm.com.



Tell them what meter you have
 
Last edited:
Yes I will continue with alpha trak I didn’t realize I had to buy the control solution separately ‍♀️ sill me opened up my reli on to set it up and I only have my strips and my monitor . I didn’t even think about a control solution so Iam trying to order from Amazon I still have enough alpha trak strips to hold me .

So tonight for her pm I should go with .25?
My ReliOn meter never needed any calibration or control solution - although I did check it a couple of times against a control solution just for my own edification.
 
Back
Top