Low sugar in am then high in pm

Status
Not open for further replies.

kphowe

Member Since 2012
Hello I have a stray cat that walked into the petstore that my daughter works at. This was back in Oct 2011. The vet is unsure of her age, she was spaid at that time. My daughter took her home and was feeding her dry food. Her weight was only 6 lbs. since Oct her wt fluctuated up to 9lbs. She then began to vomit and loose wt again. Down to 6 lbs. On Jan 26th she was diagnosed with diabetes BG 400, her liver was also enlarged. The vet prescribed canned hills w/d and PZI insulin 1 unit bid. I took her home with me, it took me 3 days to get insulin it had to be compounded. Her sugars for me have been consistently high 300 s to 400's. I read about feeding a raw diet and have been feeding her raw for about a month. She has gained wt up to almost 8 lbs. no more vomiting and playful. However her sugars had been unchannged. The first curve I did required me to up the dose of insulin to 1.5 u. She has been at this dose for about 11 days now. Yesterday morning her sugar was 109 so I held her insulin but feed her the same amount of raw food as usual. Last pm her sugar was 369, so I gave her the full 1.5 u. Then this am her sugar was 89 ( fed her a little more than normal) and again held her insulin. This pm her sugar was 417 so I decreased her insulin to 1.25 In case of somogyi effect. I felt like we were moving in the right direction when her sugars were low in the am, but now I'm stumped. I was going to repeat the curve this weekend but I don't feel it will be accurate. Has anyone experienced this and have some advise? We have a scheduled vet visit Friday. confused_cat
 
We try to give two doses every day. What it looks like is that the dose in the pm is too high, so she drops low by morning. You skip, she goes up high again and the cycle repeats. I would suggest dropping down to a lower dose and see if her numbers allow you to give 2 doses daily. The other important part of the puzzle you are missing is her mid cycle numbers. They really tell you how the insulin is working in her body.

Here is a huge document about ProZinc. It is large but full of good information. I suggest you take it in small doses and copy off parts you want to reread. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

We also have a great tool - a color coded spreadsheet that will let you keep track of your numbers. It is a big help to us when you need dosing advice. Little tricky, so if you need help, just ask. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

I'd also encourage you to come over to the PZI forum, read some of the threads and look at some of the spreadsheet and introduce yourself. It is busiest in the am and pm.
 
Thank You, I will look at the PZI information and join the PZI forum. This am her sugar was 401. I am not at home durring the day to do a mid day check but I guess I could get up 6 hours after I give her the pm dose and check.
 
Please get us up a spreadsheet so we can see your dosing history. If you need help, send me a pm. (Bottom of my post - small buttom that is private message)

Yes, it's hard but lots of people set the alarm for about 5-7 hours into the cycle at night. You can also get spot checks whenever possible - as soon as you walk in the door, before feeding. Before bed, a quick check. All data helps.
 
Ok so I have posted my spreadsheet, I hope I filled it out correctly. I did set my alarm for every two hours, 1 am was my last check. I needed to get some sleep. Her sugar was on its way back up at that time. However this am she was back to 455. How could it go from the 100's to mid 400's in just 4 hours. I was unsure of how much insulin I should have given her so I went with the 1 unit, instead of the 1.5 she had been on. Ido know that in the morning it is like a feeding frenzy, all my cats can not wait to eat and they gather in the kitchen. She can get mean and this time towards the others. Dont know if that had any affect as they were up for about 20 min prior to me checking her sugar. I know have to get my profile up and post to the PZI forum. Please let me know if I did not fill in the spread sheet correctly.

Thanks So Much
~O)
 
The spreadsheet looks great. The numbers may not make a whole lot of sense for a few cycles, if she has been dropping low and then rebounding, so be patient.

PZI is much smaller than Health - only real busy in the am and pm, so post on Health too if you ever need immediate help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top