Low reading 911

Hi Bron, Thank you for responding I fed him first before posting rookie mistake so I rang the emergency vet and I did hold the shot. I will not give him a shot tonight as I was scared it would go to low.
 
Hi Bron, Thank you for responding I fed him first before posting rookie mistake so I rang the emergency vet and I did hold the shot. I will not give him a shot tonight as I was scared it would go to low.
Ok. Sorry I didn’t see your PM earlier Colleen. I was online but answering someone else.
Next time you are unsure of whether to shoot or not...stall, don’t feed and post and ask for help. Then take another BG test 20 minutes after the first one. The BG will often go up on its own because you are at the end of the cycle and then it is safe to shoot. But safely first always!

Just looking at the Last 2 nights....you have got readings of 4.7 @+4 down from 15.5 at PMPS and 5.3@+4 down from 10.8 at PMPS. Those are a big red flags that Pantera is having an active cycle and you will need to set the alarm and get up and test later to see that the BG is not dropping too low.
It is always wise to get a before bed test in and if that test is lower than the preshot, then you need to test again later to see that it is not droppimg too low.

Pantera is doing really well for a newly diagnosed cat. I’d get another test in in about an hour just to see the BG is rising.
 
What does an active cycle mean? I will recheck at + 4hrs and if it's over his preshot level that's ok? But under his pumps I will set test again at what time every 2hrs? He started a week ago at 34 the vetwas really concerned now he has only had 1 high all week and I have dropped that dose by half. I just hope I'm not buffering it up by dropping it so much so stressful. I worried bout him all day today whilst out lol.. thank you again
 
What does an active cycle mean? I will recheck at + 4hrs and if it's over his preshot level that's ok? But under his pumps I will set test again at what time every 2hrs?
An active cycle is one that drops from the preshot BG down to a lower nadir and then back up again. Eg preshot 15, +3 10, +6 5, +8 10, preshot 16.
An inactive cycle would be maybe preshot 16, +3 18, +6. 16, +9 16, preshot 17.

A +3 is a good one to get, then if that is lower than the preshot, get another one a few hours later. if the BGis not dropping anymore then you can probably leave any more testing. But if it is still dropping you need to test until it is on the way up.

Are you giving snacks throughout the day and night? Mainly in the first 6 hours is best.

I used to worry about Sheba whenever I was out too!
 
Colleen, are you new to the group? If so, WELCOME! If not, well, hello anyway! I work a lot during the week so I miss out a lot...

Glad Bron was able to respond so quickly to your request.

Next time you have an emergency - look for the little drop down menu that contains the '?' and the '911' icons - it flags your post and let's everyone know that you have an emergency - of course you'll want to remove that once the issue is resolved...

Looking forward to seeing your next posts - have a good day!
 
Hi Sue and Luci, new to the group thankyou for your reply where is the drop down menu with the ? And 911 icons please, I don’t see it here anywhere.
I checked his bloods again at +3 1/2 hrs and it’s 11.5 so I gave him a teaspoon wet food with 2 tsp water added he seems content. I don’t need to test again do I.
Thanks
 
When you click 'new post' you'll see on the left a drop down menu:
upload_2020-4-25_7-50-8.png
upload_2020-4-25_7-50-8.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-4-25_7-50-8.png
    upload_2020-4-25_7-50-8.png
    131.1 KB · Views: 64
That's where the options are for selecting a prefix - if you need it, please use it...

As far as testing again, it looks like he's in a bit of a bounce right now...only issue is when don't know how long it'll take him to clear that bounce. If you could get another test in a few hours you'd know which way he's headed. I know, it's awful to have to get up in the middle of the night...but we all do it from time to time.
 
Back
Top