low pre-shot/skipped dose

timj

Member
My cat was at 140 for pre-shot this morning so I skipped his insulin for the first time ever as I am starting to follow the advice on this page. He has had some low nadirs in the past and I have struggled to have him regulated. I just tested him at +4 and his BG is high at 340. I am wondering if someone can advise me on how to proceed following this first skipped insulin shot. Thanks!
 
My cat was at 140 for pre-shot this morning so I skipped his insulin for the first time ever as I am starting to follow the advice on this page. He has had some low nadirs in the past and I have struggled to have him regulated. I just tested him at +4 and his BG is high at 340. I am wondering if someone can advise me on how to proceed following this first skipped insulin shot. Thanks!
I can’t advise on a dose unless you can add a link to a spreadsheet... do you have one? in the future if you get a lower than average preshot, you can stall without feeding for up to an hour and see if it’s going up. At this point you just have to wait for the next shot time.
 
I can’t advise on a dose unless you can add a link to a spreadsheet... do you have one? in the future if you get a lower than average preshot, you can stall without feeding for up to an hour and see if it’s going up. At this point you just have to wait for the next shot time.
Same here. We look for the trends on the SS and without being able to see those trends, we really can't make recommendations.

Sticky New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

Also, have you looked at and studied the "Sticky" posts at the top of this forum?

With the skipped shot today, this is a perfect time to readjust your shot times if you need or want to.
 
Thank you for the responses. I keep my values in a word document but it is not the spreadsheet that your site utilizes. I am working on transferring it into that spreadsheet format.
 
Thank you for the responses. I keep my values in a word document but it is not the spreadsheet that your site utilizes. I am working on transferring it into that spreadsheet format.
Oh fantastic. If you need any help with that let us know.
 
Thank you for the responses. I keep my values in a word document but it is not the spreadsheet that your site utilizes. I am working on transferring it into that spreadsheet format.
The most recent 2 weeks would be a good start. We are looking for current trends.

There are people that can help you, so give a shout out if you want help with the SS. We can tag a couple of people for you.
 
Back
Top