Low PMPS - Reduce AM dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Djamila

Member Since 2015
Two days in a row, Sam's PMPS has been too low to shoot. I've held food 30 minutes and retested, but still too low and I couldn't hold any longer as I had to leave. Should I reduce his AM dose a wee bit tomorrow, or wait until I can get mid-cycle numbers on him this weekend?
 
It really is best to shoot twice daily if possible. Skipping pm sets you up for the higher amps. I think I'd try 0.5 tomorrow am and see if you get a high enough pmps to shoot. Having daytime numbers would let us know if there is a low number in there or if it is just a slow downward trend that lasts more than 12 hours. We don't know, but the answer to both issues would be a little lower dose. If you were going to be around, .75 might be doable, but 0.5 is safer. What do you think?
 
You could possibly go with a 13/11 schedule or maybe start with a 12.5/11.5 to see how that works. Then depending what you get, you may want to move to a 13/11 schedule. Looks like Sam is like Merlin...lower at PMPS and higher at AMPS. I go back and forth between the two schedules but right now the 12.5/11.5 is working better for him now. Just a thought.
 
He seems to run high during the day, so I've felt comfortable giving him a 1u. It's been a slightly fudged 1u though. I've been doing a bit less since I've been leaving for the whole day and can't monitor. So probably either .5 or somewhere between .5 and .75 would be best. Or possibly adjusting the PM shot time a bit. Maybe I'll try to get a couple of later tests in this weekend since I don't have much data after +6 and see if the duration is just too long for a 12/12 schedule. Thanks for the input!
 
I think reducing some would be good. If you can get two shootable preshots, that will help get him regulated. :)
 
So this is interesting: Sam's PMPS is still too low. And he didn't get a shot at all this morning.

He would NOT come out for his shot this morning. Not for all the treats in the pet store. I even crawled under the bed with him, but he would not be persuaded. When I tried to crawl under the bed with the shot, he bolted under the sofa, and there is nothing I can do to get him out from there. So I left for work. No shot. And just said a little prayer that it wouldn't set him back too far. I had been planning to reduce his dose this morning, but hadn't planned to reduce it to zero!

Got home from work and just tested his BG and he's at 155. Which is the 3rd night in a row that he's too low to shoot. And that is without his shot this morning. I can do the wait and retest thing, but I find it curious that he's so low when I expected to come home to a 300.
 
Wow! That is an interesting number..not shooting this morning was the right thing to do. If he won't come out and is so stressed about it...it's best to let it go and head to work. Interested to see where he goes next!
 
He hates the BG tests, but is usually totally fine with getting the shot. When he put up a fight I kinda wondered if there was a reason. Like maybe he knew something I didn't know today. His retest just now is 153, so I'm feeding him and not giving a shot again tonight. I'm so curious to see what tomorrow's numbers bring!
 
I think his pancreas is jumping in here. When this happens, it is challenging because you never know when the pancreas will work and then will rest. So you work on keeping him safe. Definitely would skip tonight, and even if he is high for amps, I would go easy on the dose as his pancreas could wake up again with even a little insulin. Glad it's the weekend - get out those treats and get the tests in, even if you have to keep him in the bathroom part of the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top