Rusty/Jen & Ernie
Member
Originally posted in the main forum @ 6:00 pm
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/finally-had-a-small-victory.142400/
First of all, thank you everyone who has offered their advice, encouragement, etc. Even if you didn't know it, simply researching through the board has give me alot of knowledge & confidence.
So last night, we put the dry food away & left only wet food out. Ernie was pretty energetic this morning, & was eating as soon as we got out of bed together. I was planning to grab a preshot after he finished eating, then clean the bowls out & put fresh food down, but he was energetic enough that he wasn't in the mood to cooperate this morning! (Anyone else been there...LOL)
Here is where I went wrong, I gave him his dose without a pre-shot. My thought was that looking at his SS, you will see he has been hovering in the 400's at preshot. So, my mentality was that he needs the shot & I can't skip it because of not having a pre-shot. I know, WRONG ANSWER & lesson learned. The other reason I did, was I knew we were having a lazy day at home & would be with him literally all day. Through the day he stayed energetic, playing, cuddling, & even pouncing on his sisters a couple of times! I was not able to get any post-shot numbers either & after a couple of attempts, I decided I would leave him alone since I stuck him a fair amount yesterday & he was doing so good today. MISTAKE #2! We just chose to keep the wet food out all day & keep the dry food hidden.
However, we fast forward to 2 hours before dinner time & I put the bowls away. I grabbed a pre-shot & his is at 106! This is the lowest number we have seen since his DX. My wife & I both squeezed him, kissed him, & then gave him his dinner. I know at that number, he is too low to shoot. So, I will retest him in about an hour & see where that # is at then.
So, I learned, I will NOT shoot without knowing the pre-shot number. I also learned that it looks like wet food can seriously plummet a number. So, we are going to have to watch the dosing & may have to move down to 0.5 if his numbers call for it. Thank you to those who hammered the point him that wet food is the nectar of the feline gods!
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/finally-had-a-small-victory.142400/
First of all, thank you everyone who has offered their advice, encouragement, etc. Even if you didn't know it, simply researching through the board has give me alot of knowledge & confidence.
So last night, we put the dry food away & left only wet food out. Ernie was pretty energetic this morning, & was eating as soon as we got out of bed together. I was planning to grab a preshot after he finished eating, then clean the bowls out & put fresh food down, but he was energetic enough that he wasn't in the mood to cooperate this morning! (Anyone else been there...LOL)
Here is where I went wrong, I gave him his dose without a pre-shot. My thought was that looking at his SS, you will see he has been hovering in the 400's at preshot. So, my mentality was that he needs the shot & I can't skip it because of not having a pre-shot. I know, WRONG ANSWER & lesson learned. The other reason I did, was I knew we were having a lazy day at home & would be with him literally all day. Through the day he stayed energetic, playing, cuddling, & even pouncing on his sisters a couple of times! I was not able to get any post-shot numbers either & after a couple of attempts, I decided I would leave him alone since I stuck him a fair amount yesterday & he was doing so good today. MISTAKE #2! We just chose to keep the wet food out all day & keep the dry food hidden.
However, we fast forward to 2 hours before dinner time & I put the bowls away. I grabbed a pre-shot & his is at 106! This is the lowest number we have seen since his DX. My wife & I both squeezed him, kissed him, & then gave him his dinner. I know at that number, he is too low to shoot. So, I will retest him in about an hour & see where that # is at then.
So, I learned, I will NOT shoot without knowing the pre-shot number. I also learned that it looks like wet food can seriously plummet a number. So, we are going to have to watch the dosing & may have to move down to 0.5 if his numbers call for it. Thank you to those who hammered the point him that wet food is the nectar of the feline gods!