No problem. I just fed her. She was 3.6 so dropping possibly further.Sorry I am just seeing this.
I answered your other thread.
Are you still stalling?
Ok so you have decided to skip?No problem. I just fed her. She was 3.6 so dropping possibly further.
I guess so. Do you think that’s best? I was stalking as I’m assuming she’ll then bounce again if I skipOk so you have decided to skip?
I think it is best to skip.I guess so. Do you think that’s best? I was stalking as I’m assuming she’ll then bounce again if I skip
And it keeps auto correcting to stalking not stalling apologies

Ok. If she eats any more just give the low carb this cycleShe had one can of 8 and half of low.
Ok thank you. So in the morning I’m assuming she’ll be right to shoot - do I give her the low carb food or 8%Ok. If she eats any more just give the low carb this cycle
It will be interesting to see how high she does go this cycle. The bounce yesterday was from the low am Preshot of 85. And she doesn’t bounce for long.
The drop of insulin is bringing her down beautifully.
Ok great thanks.In the morning she should be high enough to shoot. If not, stall, post and ask for help.
Yes I’d give the 8% if you are giving the insulin
Isn't that the same thing?And it keeps auto correcting to stalking not stalling apologies


Yes sure if you think it will help. I don’t have time to read about it for next few days. So if you could guide me I can do that.@NikkiN
How would you feel about swapping over to TR?
That way you would be able to start shooting numbers under 90.....as long as you were able to test the BG for that cycle.
That way you could avoid skipping as much.
At first you could shoot numbers above say 80 and gradually lower the preshot number as you get more data.
How would you feel about that?
If you decide to, can you change the method in your signature from SLGS to TR please..
I’m sure I can manage that. My concern is how much food she should be having. She has changed to weruva 8% and I’m struggling to work out how much to give. She eats twice a day just before shooting. She has been stable at 4.6 kilos for a while now. Just changed food 3 days ago.Hi Nikki,
The main difference is that she will earn a reduction with a drop below 50, and that you will ultimately shoot anything above 50.
You will also hold doses for a minimum of 6 cycles, and re evaluate the dose, depending on what she does with this drop dose you may need to go up to then come down again, but she will let us know.
As Bron says depending on what PS values are we can help you get comfortable with shooting lower.
Looks like she is bouncing and perhaps suffering from the skipped shot at the moment, though nice to see that she is dropping in that pm cycle tonight, with any luck she'll be back into blues and greens before too long.
FWIW I think it's a good decision, as TR will allow you to push her into the healthy/normal range of between 50-80 and with any luck she will get used to being there and we will stop seeing those pinks.
In FD terms thats a long way away, we can help you formulate a plan closer to the time.I also have a concern as 21/12-2/2
Is she at a good weight or do you need her to lose, or gain?She has changed to weruva 8% and I’m struggling to work out how much to give. She eats twice a day just before shooting. She has been stable at 4.6 kilos for a while now. Just changed food 3 days ago
I’ll test now. I think her weight now which has been stable for a little while is good. Vets always told me feed twice a day just before insulin. I’ve stuck to that. But could give her a mid feed most days.In FD terms thats a long way away, we can help you formulate a plan closer to the time.
Is she at a good weight or do you need her to lose, or gain?
Here is a formula
calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70 1kg=2.205lbs
That allows you to work out how many calories, you can use that as a starting point, but the best way to work out if it's the right amount is to weigh her regularly, that's what I have done with George.
Is there a particular reason she is not getting fed midcycle?
I see you shot 90, please make sure you get a +1, or if it's later than that please get a test asap.
Diabetic cats do better on various meals through the day, it's easier on the pancreas.Vets always told me feed twice a day just before insulin. I’ve stuck to that. But could give her a mid feed most days.
yep, as I said, start with that, but you may need to adjust depending on what her weight says, you'll need to monitor.So if my calculations are correct she needs around 200 calories per day
Well he's about the same at +1.5, You might want to check her again at +3, it looks like you might see an active cycle.I’ll test now. I think her weight now which has been stable for a little while is good. Vets always told me feed twice a day just before insulin. I’ve stuck to that. But could give her a mid feed most days.
Yes I will take her tomorrow. I’m wondering if it’s the food change not agreeing with her pancreas?I’m sorry Fifi is not eating.
Have you tried sprinkling some Parmesan cheese on her food?
Or offered her some poached chicken breast?
If she is still not eating in the morning I would buy some Ketostix if you don’t already have some and test her urine for ketones.
You may need to take her to the vet to be checked over tomorrow if she is still not eating to see if they can find the cause.
She may need an antinausea medication.
She could have a flare up of the pancreatitis. Sheba’s appetite was always affected when she had flare ups.Yes I will take her tomorrow. I’m wondering if it’s the food change not agreeing with her pancreas?
It didn’t ever upset Sheba and she was prone to pancreatitis but ECID of course.Yes that’s the new food
So to be naive what is ECID?It didn’t ever upset Sheba and she was prone to pancreatitis but ECID of course.
Did you try some Parmesan cheese?
Oh haha thanks. DefinitelyECID is every cat is different.
Was she eating ok before tonight?
Thanks will doGetting her to the vet and nipping whatever it is in the bud sounds like a good idea.
Sheba was always such a good eater, that when she wouldn’t eat I knew something was wrong.
Please let us know how you get on if you go to the vet. We worry about ‘our’ kitties’
Do you mean ‘ still hasn’t eaten?’Do I give her insulin this morning if she still has eaten.
I’ve made an appointment online for this afternoon. I’ll call when they open to see if I can get in earlierDo you mean ‘ still hasn’t eaten?’
If she hadn’t eaten, can you get an early vet apt first before giving the insulin?
I think I would wait and see the vet first.
My vet would always see Sheba because she was diabetic , especially if she wasn’t eating.
That’s a good idea and tell them you are withholding the morning dose until she can be seen because she isn’t eating.I’ve made an appointment online for this afternoon. I’ll call when they open to see if I can get in earlier
Thanks for the update.She is at the vets for the day. Having some tests (maybe a uti) and some fluids. She did eat a tiny bit before we left.
That’s good.Yes me too. thank you. hopefully a uti. all her vitals are good and no temp etc.