Low on test strip, Dose increase without midday tests? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Low on test strip, Dose increase without midday tests?

Nisha & George

Member since 2024
Hello!
Here is the link to my previous thread: No BG test, so no insulin given.
So I am a low income individual and am struggling to afford more test strips for my contour next one reader. I have not been getting many midday tests, if at all, this last week in an attempt to save some strips. I know this is not ideal. I'm struggling with his dose. He had a run of decent numbers (not where we want him but decent in comparison to his previous numbers) from 09/11/25 to 09/25/25 and then his glucose seem to be rising quite a bit higher in the AMPS and the PMPS. His current does is 1.75 units of prozinc. I'm wondering if I should raise him back to 2 units based on his AMPS and PMPS. I haven't gotten any midday tests from 10/01/25 to 10/06/25. I bit the bullet and tested him today at +3 and his number did not go down too much. I'm going to try to get one more midday test before I leave for work at +5... is there enough data to decide if he needs an increase?
 
Hi Nisha!
When would you be able to get some more test strips(upcoming payday?)

What you can do is to run a curve (or a modified curve) on a specific day you choose and get a +4, +6 and +8 (skipping the +2 and +10 tests that would normally be included in a full glucose curve. Then you could really see how low the dose is taking him.
 
I get paid on Friday, my mom has said she may be able to help me get some. I have about 16 test strips left till then. I can probably get a curve tomorrow or on Friday its self.
 
Anything else going on with George? His BG seemed to start going higher at the end of September. Any dietary changes?
 
I get paid on Friday, my mom has said she may be able to help me get some. I have about 16 test strips left till then. I can probably get a curve tomorrow or on Friday its self.
Aw. That sweet of your mom. I am sorry you are struggling financially. I understand that! I was afraid the new place would cause more stress in that respect, but you were forced out of your old apartment so there you go.

Regarding George, I just want to make absolutely certain we keep him safe so I don’t want to be flippant about saying… sure… just go ahead. That would be irresponsible on my part.
 
Did we ever talk about Diabetic Cats In Need? They help some people with insulin and test strips, but I know their donations were down so I am not sure how many more people they were going to be able to help (although that changes all the time as people drop out of the program.)
 
Hes had some behaviour changes and I think its because hes sick of the flavour of his food. He wont hold still for tests anymore. His food used to distract him long enough for me to get my test and give him his insulin. now its hard to get the tests and giving him the shot is easier. I've switched to giving him a different flavour mixed with his usual one. this pay i will be buying more food but only buying the chicken instead f the red meat. there is a carb count difference in the flavours but it is only by 1.5. he seems more manageable when he gets the chicken. his routine changed when I moved in terms of where he was getting his food/testing/shot. instead of on the table he has had to be tested on the floor or the coffee table. The lighting here isn't as bright as my old place so sometimes its hard to see past his fur. I now have a kitchen table and a light next to it. Hopefully that helps a little. As for the diabetic cats in need program, they did say I was eligible and they would help but I have not heard from them since then.
 
Hes had some behaviour changes and I think its because hes sick of the flavour of his food. He wont hold still for tests anymore. His food used to distract him long enough for me to get my test and give him his insulin. now its hard to get the tests and giving him the shot is easier. I've switched to giving him a different flavour mixed with his usual one. this pay i will be buying more food but only buying the chicken instead f the red meat. there is a carb count difference in the flavours but it is only by 1.5. he seems more manageable when he gets the chicken. his routine changed when I moved in terms of where he was getting his food/testing/shot. instead of on the table he has had to be tested on the floor or the coffee table. The lighting here isn't as bright as my old place so sometimes its hard to see past his fur. I now have a kitchen table and a light next to it. Hopefully that helps a little. As for the diabetic cats in need program, they did say I was eligible and they would help but I have not heard from them since then.
Sounds like they dropped the ball on it. Since you really need it, I would try to follow back up with them to see of there’s something you need to do to get started with the assistance (some application or something?) It could really help you out so I know it’s a pain in the neck, but worth doing.
 
Sounds like they dropped the ball on it. Since you really need it, I would try to follow back up with them to see of there’s something you need to do to get started with the assistance (some application or something?) It could really help you out so I know it’s a pain in the neck, but worth doing.
I do not remember how to contact them.
 
I reached out on their Facebook page... their website says they are not taking new applications for help at this time.
 
@CORKY can you help? Do you have more direct contact information for DCIN? I am thinking that since Nisha had previously contacted DCIN and they old her before that she was qualified that she might actually be able to get some help (with test strips at a minimum!) She’s having trouble paying for the strips.
 
Also in the main forum there’s a supply closet, that members offer supply a lot for free soñé for postage only and some at low cost to you, Ive Used it is awesome to see other member be so kind most, after they have lost their precious baby
 
Also in the main forum there’s a supply closet, that members offer supply a lot for free soñé for postage only and some at low cost to you, Ive Used it is awesome to see other member be so kind most, after they have lost their precious baby
I have used that before. There was a wonderful woman who sold me 2 boxes of syringes, and 1.5 bottles for insulin for 100$. She was so kind. Last I checked there was not anything in the supply closet that could help me but I will check again today.
 
Back
Top