low numbers, thoughts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Rudy

Member Since 2014
We aren't freaking out yet, but I am not used to seeing such beautiful numbers! Now I am a little concerned that he is going too low. He is acting just fine right now. Sitting by the window, got up to eat a little just a few minutes ago.
His preshot was 120 and +7 was 40.

Should I talk to his vet tomorrow about a possible reduction?

Thanks friends! :-)
 
I'm not an expert and more knowledgeable members will likely chime in soon. I'm also not used to U.S. numbers (work in world) but, when I did the conversion, I'd say that he's gotten into a low enough category now that it's "watch carefully time" and perhaps, a bit of a reduction to stay safe. At 120 to begin with then, dropping down to a 40, I'd say to keep a few more tests going to see how he is doing, perhaps giving him more food to eat and re-testing. That is a bit low for my personal nerve's sake. I would likely reduce the dose or not shoot at all at 120 (if I couldn't reduce the dose).

Right now though, I'd monitor closely and offer more food at that 40 level. It's a bit dicey. Some cats can handle it and others can't. Just my 2 cents worth though and I'm sure more knowledgeable members will answer shortly.
 
40 at +7 is a concern and warrant a dose reduction for next shot. I would go to no more than on unit.
I would also check at no later than at +8 to see if he is going up. If not then feeding high carb food might be in order
 
Ok good. I'm not off on my thinking as Larry and Kittens has chimed in brilliantly and I would follow that advice.
 
Hi Karen,
Anything below 50 on a human meter is getting into risky territory, so keep a close eye on Rudy (eating is good!). Have you tested him again since you posted? I believe the general recommendation with a number that low is to feed and then test every 30 minutes until you're sure his BG is rising. If he drops any more, give high carb food or something like Karo syrup or honey to get him back up above 50. At his next shot time, depending on his number, either skip the shot or give a reduced dose as Larry says. I'd also recommend posting on the Lantus page for new dose guidance. I'm only familiar with ProZinc so I don't feel qualified to advise you on that. Post an update when you can!

Joan
 
Hi Karen

The 40 is, as others have said, below the number we want to see our kitties in. If you haven't already done so, can you please give him a little high carb food and test again in 30 minutes - we want to see him back above 50 as soon as possible! While 40 does still fall within normal range for a non-diabetic cat, it leaves you with no safety margin while he has insulin in his system pushing his numbers down still so we don't want him hanging around there for any length of time as he is into the sort of numbers where a hypo could occur quickly.

He also has earned a dose reduction of 0.25u starting from his next shot - so congratulations on that! :D
 
Thank you!!! He is still eating normally- he grazes 24/7...lol. His last test was at 55, so it looks like we are headed up. We'll keep testing to make sure. Not sure where we will be at the next dose time, I'll probably ask for some help on that one too.

Excited that this insulin is working for him! A reduction is in order- our first one! :-)
 
Great to hear he's back above 50! :) And yes, please do keep testing - we need to make sure he at least maintains that number, or rises a little more. He may bounce of course, in which case tonight's shot will be an easy call to make, but if he doesn't there will be people here to give you advice on what to do if he's still hanging around in fairly low numbers. :)

Lovely to see him earn his first reduction - it's always a special moment! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top