Low numbers coming from nowhere...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Capoo

Member Since 2016
Hi all!

Yesterday morning (so Saturday morning), I had a vet appointment.
As Capoo turns into a devil creature at the vet, he needs to be sedated even for a small blood test.
Thus, he needs to be fasted before each vet appointment.

This being said, I need to add that I use an autofeeder, and that Capoo receives food at AMPS, +3, +6, +9, and the same starting from PMPS.

Coming back to what interests us: Saturday morning, I withdrew the food from PMPS + 9 and AMPS.
His AMPS number was 149 (where does this "high" number come? First question...), and I didn't shot him.

Everything was fine with the blood test.

Yesterday afternoon, Capoo ate the amount of food that he would have normally eaten during the whole day.

And....Drum rolls...... The PMPS yesterday was 76! Yes, 76, with an AT2 meter (I performed the test twice. Second question : where does this low number come from?)!!!! So I skipped this shot also.

And this morning, AMPS was 100, so once again I skipped this shot....
 
And....Drum rolls...... The PMPS yesterday was 76! Yes, 76, with an AT2 meter (I performed the test twice. Second question : where does this low number come from?)!!!! So I skipped this shot also.

And this morning, AMPS was 100, so once again I skipped this shot....
Oh Wow! Very exciting indeed..... :woot:

Eliz
 
Bonjour, Sophie!

His AMPS number was 149 (where does this "high" number come? First question...),

He might have dipped a little lower overnight and his body may have released a little extra stored glucose to compensate, or his body may have been responding to release of hormones that raise the BG early in the morning (like dawn phenomenon in a human diabetic). Another possibility is that his fasting glucose levels may be slightly impaired. When food is eaten the pancreas produces pulses of insulin in response. Between meals it should also produce a basal trickle to keep levels normal. When the pancreas isn't quite working properly there might not be enough basal insulin secretion between meals but the insulin pulses produced when feeding small, frequent meals can help keep BG levels down. However, if there is a prolonged period of fasting (i.e. no pulses at mealtimes) BG levels may drift up a little, but then they can be brought down again when the pancreas pulses insulin at the next mealtime.

Second question : where does this low number come from?)!!!!
(Anti-jinx ...) Capoo's little pancreas lending a hand? :cat:

Fingers and paws well and truly crossed ... :nailbiting:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Bonjour, Sophie!



He might have dipped a little lower overnight and his body may have released a little extra stored glucose to compensate, or his body may have been responding to release of hormones that raise the BG early in the morning (like dawn phenomenon in a human diabetic). Another possibility is that his fasting glucose levels may be slightly impaired. When food is eaten the pancreas produces pulses of insulin in response. Between meals it should also produce a basal trickle to keep levels normal. When the pancreas isn't quite working properly there might not be enough basal insulin secretion between meals but the insulin pulses produced when feeding small, frequent meals can help keep BG levels down. However, if there is a prolonged period of fasting (i.e. no pulses at mealtimes) BG levels may drift up a little, but then they can be brought down again when the pancreas pulses insulin at the next mealtime.


Mogs
.


Hey, that could also explain the AMPS of 148 faced 5 days ago: on this day, Capoo vomited his meal of PMPS+9 (directly in his bowl, he sometimes doesn't take his time to eat... Such a glutton....)


Sophie
 
I sure hope remission is on the way...
I did notice when I had the dentals on Rico and Drevon that Drevons BG stayed kind of low for a few days after anesthesia ....
we skipped 3 shots I think...
 
Today it's the 7th cycle without insulin, and I've just taken the AMBG+10 (question: I understand the meaning of it, but what is it the abbreviation for?), and it's 108 (AT2 meter).
 
Today it's the 7th cycle without insulin, and I've just taken the AMBG+10 (question: I understand the meaning of it, but what is it the abbreviation for?), and it's 108 (AT2 meter).

Morning BG + 10?
a.m. = ante meridiem = before 12 noon, therefore morning. p.m. would be post meridiem = after 12 noon.

That's my understanding, anyway.

Diana
 
Arghhhh, I should have make a mistake.
AMPS is for pre-shot, but how do you call the number when you don't do any shot? I have seen some AMBG in the Lantus board. What is BG?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top