Low numbers again?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Djamila

Member Since 2015
This morning Sam was at 257 and I was able to give him his shot, but only shot a 0.5 since he's been so low for the PMPS. I wasn't able to get any blood during the second mid-cycle BG test, and he only gave me one try, so I'm not sure what's happening mid-cycle right now. However, tonight he's at 122 and it's time for his PM shot. I'm not going to shoot that low, but if this trend continues (4 days in a row now), is it okay to just give him an AM shot? Should I drop his AM shot even lower and try a 0.25? Try changing to a 13/11 schedule? Stick with the 0.5 for a few more days and see if he keeps showing low PM numbers? I feel at a loss as to the next step.
 
Hmmm...not really sure here. I think I'd be tempted to lower the dose to see if you can get 2 shootable preshots...but it's hard to say because we don't know how high he'll be in the morning. I'm not saying he will be...but it's hard to make a decision without knowing what this 0.5 might do...maybe lower the dose some if he's in the same range and stay the same if he's gone into pinks? What are you thinking?
 
Just peeked @ Sam's SS: I see you skipped the dose tonight; and that's not a bad move, really - because even had you squeezed it down to 0.25 or less tonight, you'd still need to be up monitoring, given that low PMPS. This way, you'll get some good sleep tonight!;)

I think you'll need to go ahead & skinny down that dose tomorrow morning, though - in the hope you'll be able to get a shootable # at both AMPS/PMPS. And hey, the really good news is: Looks like Sam's on the brink of "Dinky-Dose Land!":)
 
I like the 11/13 idea that Cindi suggested. So tomorrow, you could shoot at +11 - that will work great since you skipped tonight (good call). Then at pmps, wait till +13 and hopefully, you'll have a shootable number.
 
Well, I gave him 0.25 yesterday morning, and he was still too low to shoot for the PM dose. I was going to put him off for an hour and try again, but he was super hungry and I caved. Tonight I'll be home in time to try to get him to eat a snack two hours ahead, and then we should be fine to bump dinner back a bit and try the 11/13 schedule.

I know this isn't a linear process and he may well go back up again, but I'm pretty excited about the numbers I'm seeing. And even more about the changes in his behavior. He's been so playful and energetic the past few days. And getting into all kinds of trouble. I haven't seen this much joie de vivre from him in a long time.
 
I'd be excited too. And it's always wonderful when they starting acting like themselves again!

It'll be interesting to see if 11/13 works. If not, and he is still too low to shoot at pmps, then I guess you'd need to look at lowering the dose further.

I can't remember - does he eat at night? If he is dropping low overnight and bouncing for the am, a snack around +5-7 might flatten out the pm cycle.
 
Both of my cats eat all day. They are grazers. They eat the most first thing in the morning, and then again around bedtime (PM+3-4). I usually have to wake Sam up and coax him a bit to eat in the evening for his shot, although occasionally (like last night) he'll be hungry at shot time. That seems to be happening more often as he's getting into the pattern of eating at shot time. He does eat during the night, although less than during the day.

He just ate a snack (we're at +11 right now) and I put the food away, so I'm hoping that will help raise his numbers a bit so I can shoot tonight at +13. Honestly I've loved skipping the shot in the evenings, but I do understand two shots is better for him.
 
Well, +13 and he's at 142. So now what? Do I go even lower for his AM shot and just try to eyeball something less than 0.25? Should I try to give him a few drops at 142?
 
I don't think I'd give insulin at 142....yes, I guess eyeball less than .25 for the am shot. So, pull up 0.25 of colored water. Let out drops and count them. The next time. Pull up 0.25 of insulin and let out as many drops as you want - leaving as many drops as you want to shoot.

Darn. I thought the 13/11 was a good option.
 
I thought that was going to work, too. I'm a little perplexed because he's still higher than I would like to see, but seems too low to be getting his shots. o_O

Maybe I should give him some kibble during the day to raise his numbers by PMPS (I'm kidding!!! Although if I did he would be the happiest kitty EVER!).

I'll try just giving a touch of insulin in the morning. I wish I had been able to get a +6 this weekend to see if he's hitting green during the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top