Low nadir #'s last night/ Should I still go up?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker&Me

Active Member
Pretty sure Tucker's #'s were food related. I shot at a low preshot because he was rising when I stalled and did a 20 min test. Plus I could feed & test if he didn't rise. Which he did on very little food! Just wondering if going up to 3Units is still okay. I can watch until +6, +6.5 and not again until +8
 
You don't mean 3 units, right? He did well yesterday on a 334 with 1.25 and you ended up with a low preshot. I think last night was a bounce due to the greens late in his cycle yesterday. I am not sure I would increase at all. I think I would stick with 1.25 I am beginning to wonder if he is a kitty who has to be on a dose for a week before he sees some action. That has been his pattern with every increase we have done.

Yesterday's cycle with a very low pmps is indicative of maybe a little too much insulin, not too little. I wouldn't change anything. I'd be patient and see how he looks in the next few days. Watch those nadirs in case you get one below 50 which would mean lowering the dose.
 
I would suggest staying at 1.25 as you are getting into the blues and he did go lower in the cycle. It would be interesting if 1.25 would do the same with 373. If it doesn't, make note of it and the next time you get a 373 number, you can try 1.5 units only if you can monitor. You mentioned 3 units which I don't think that is what you meant.

Also, last night's high numbers is probably because he got too much insulin. We suggest here in the early stages of data collection, to not shoot below 200. What you can do just like you did last night is stall. Some stall 20-30 minutes and depending on the number, some stall one hour. It is at that time you can determine on whether to skip or keep stalling.
 
I would suggest staying at 1.25 as you are getting into the blues and he did go lower in the cycle. It would be interesting if 1.25 would do the same with 373. If it doesn't, make note of it and the next time you get a 373 number, you can try 1.5 units only if you can monitor. You mentioned 3 units which I don't think that is what you meant.

Also, last night's high numbers is probably because he got too much insulin. We suggest here in the early stages of data collection, to not shoot below 200. What you can do just like you did last night is stall. Some stall 20-30 minutes and depending on the number, some stall one hour. It is at that time you can determine on whether to skip or keep stalling.
Thank you Cindi. I need to make better notes of alot of things, all this good advice in these threads sometimes gets lost in the hectic pace of the day.
I really appreciate everyone here repeatedly keeping me on track.
Your and Sue's advice make perfect sense.
 
You don't mean 3 units, right? He did well yesterday on a 334 with 1.25 and you ended up with a low preshot. I think last night was a bounce due to the greens late in his cycle yesterday. I am not sure I would increase at all. I think I would stick with 1.25 I am beginning to wonder if he is a kitty who has to be on a dose for a week before he sees some action. That has been his pattern with every increase we have done.

Yesterday's cycle with a very low pmps is indicative of maybe a little too much insulin, not too little. I wouldn't change anything. I'd be patient and see how he looks in the next few days. Watch those nadirs in case you get one below 50 which would mean lowering the dose.
Thank you for watching him so carefully Sue. I wish I could make better decisions. Everything you say makes good sense.
How long will it take me to get it!? I think I am too uptight or something!
 
Hey, Brenda - Don't be so hard on yourself! You've only been dealing with this for ... what, just shy of a month? It's a learning curve & a lot to take in. You'll get the hang of decision-making as time goes on; I think you're doing just fine. Besides, that's why we're all here - to support one another. :)
 
Thank you for watching him so carefully Sue. I wish I could make better decisions.
P.S. Ha, just ask Sue how many times she (as well as some other "old-timers") had to guide me through treatment decisions, and calm my fears about screwing up!
 
Ditto. This is hard, very hard at first. But eventually you'll be able to look back on your spreadsheet and decide your dose based on what other doses have done.

A month is no time at all - for him or for you. If no one wanted any help, think how bored we'd be.
 
All right girls, if you say so. I guess I am in a position I haven't been in for a long while.."..dependant on the kindness of strangers.."
- Blanche DuBois
THANK YOU :bighug::bighug:
 
Way to go Tucker...what a nice, easy nadir today.

At the beginning, I got tons of help here especially from Sue, Jen, Rachel, Eliz, BJ, Marje and a bunch of others. Actually it took me about six months before I felt like I started to make my own decisions. Just a few months before that happened, I would start making the decisions and then running it by my friends here. Once my decisions started matching their advice, I then started to feel more confident. When I started to make my own decisions, they weren't without mistakes but I learned from them. We are all continuing to learn from this horrible disease. So give it time...all of a sudden...just a like a light bulb turning on...you will get it!
 
Everyone is right! It takes a lot of time to learn about all this. I posted here every single morning and evening for a long time. Eventually, I started figuring out my own doses and asking what others thought. I remember how thrilled I was when I finally figured out Gypsy's patterns. It takes time to learn what to do in certain situations, and they like to throw curveballs at you! Give yourself time. You'll get there! Until then, sit back, relax, and have a glass of wine. You deserve a treat for being such a great bean!
 
Thank you so much:) for being the gracious beings that you are, all of you. I love the support here, it's unbelievable. I know this really isn't about me, anyway.
I hope someday to help just like all of you. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top