Low Morning Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

Senna and I are still new to this, and I know we don't really have the data set to make many judgements. But, I see a possible trend forming. His AMPS numbers are low, so I haven't been giving his AM shot. This doesn't seem right to me. Are there kitties that only require one shot a day?

Thanks
 
Some kitties get longer duration on a dose if the dose is a bit too high. Generally, you want to try to find a dose that will allow you to shoot both AM and PM. Senna is getting great numbers, and I suspect you will get even better numbers if you can reduce the dose to make sure he is getting insulin all day. I'll wait for someone with a bit more experience to chime in, but it looks like a full unit is too much. :-D
 
I'm with Jen. I'd try a lower dose and see if your numbers are high enough to give it twice daily. Maybe .5 units at am and pm? And if you can get some midcycle numbers (5-7 hours after the shot) it will help you see how low the insulin is taking her.

She is doing great to be getting such nice numbers on a low dose so early in the sugar dance.
 
He is reacting quickly to the insulin just like Skipper has. We had the low morning numbers too. I agree with the others that 1 unit is probably too much. It would be interesting to see his +6 or +7 reading. Take a look at some other charts to get some ideas on the dosing changes....

Looking good though! Also could there be something they are eating in the afternoon that causes the PM number to be higher?
 
I'll join the chorus on trying a lower dose so you can shoot AM and PM. And .5u sounds like a good dose to try. The more hours a day you can keep the numbers close to the "normal" range, the more chance his body has to "heal". I think it's very hard to manage FD with once daily shots.

You're doing a great job gathering data, by the way!
 
I'll try lowering the dose. His PSPM is 300. I think everyone's logic is that he won't be so low at PSAM, and not climb so high at PSPM. I guess we'll see where he ends up in the morning. Thanks for the suggestion.
 
It may take a cycle for this to work - to even things out. Our thinking is if you shoot only once daily, she continues to rise after that initial drop at nadir,until 24 hours after the last shot, she is high. You shoot the dose that is a little high and she drops for the next preshot, which you skip. It sets up a roller coaster of high and low numbers.

Hope that makes sense. And hope a lower dose will even things out.
 
Hi Cole,

Nice green micycle today. I am wondering if she went even lower. Shooting anything into a 143 is pretty chancy. Usually we think 180 is a good cut off until you have more data. Maybe it would be good to lower the dose a tiny bit more twice daily. You could try a "skinny" .5. That is, pull up .5 and then let a drop out before shooting.

Nice to see no pinks!
 
Hey Sue,

Thanks for checking in. The dose this morning was a "skinny" 0.5. His PMPS is 105, and I don't feel comfortable shooting that. Have any thoughts?
 
He is looking great and maybe wants to head off insulin (anti jinx) Do you think you can eyeball .25? To help, you can pull up a syringe of .5 colored water and let slowly squirt out 1/2 that. Then either mark it with a permanent marker or tape and use that as your sample syringe each time.

I think I'd definitely skip tonight and try .25 tomorrow if he is above 180. Hopefully you'll be able to shoot that twice daily for awhile.
 
OK. I'll skip tonight's shot. I'm sure I can get close to .25, but it will be a pain. I have a box of those skinny little U40 syringes, and .5 isn't super easy. Maybe I should look into if they sell a bag of 10 or 20 U100's and do the conversion. I think I read it is easier to do smaller doses that way. Is it 2.5:1? This is getting expensive!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top