Low morning AMPS numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Milo & Norman & Sarah

Member Since 2010
For the past 3 mornings Milo's numbers have been so low I have not been able to give him his insulin. What does this mean? 8/16/22 - 105 NS, 8/17/22 - 113 NS, 8/18/22 (today) 98 NS. AMPS test time are all within +/-30 each day.
 
Numbers are still too low in the AM to give insulin after bumping down to .25U (4 days of no-shoot numbers in the AM since 8/21) and had to skip 2 PM shots too due to lower numbers. Is his system still trying to get used to the .25? Thanks for the help!
 
He's on a mission!

This next part is up to you. Hes technically in normal numbers for a non diabetic cat, but I do think he could use some insulin support a little longer for a strong remission. But it depends on your comfort level and ability to monitor.

Typically next we'd go down to 0.1U. But I'd you're uncomfortable with that, you can also try a drop dose. That is where you push the plunger down as hard as you can, insert into vial, release the pressure. Result is single drop of insulin in the needle itsf, not visible in syringe. When giving the shot, do your best to hold that plunger down again for about 10 seconds to give the insulin time to absorb.

You could also try an OTJ trial of you're not comfortable, but in my opinion that's a little premature. I'd like to see more greens and lower preshots.
 
Thank you! I am going to proceed with the .1U for a while longer to aid in a stronger remission. Since he was 153 for the PMPS test I went ahead and gave him the .1U this evening. I couldn't give insulin this morning because his AMPS was 100. Thanks for the advise, and I will hopefully get more tests/readings on the weekends to see how the .1U is working for Milo. Thanks again!
 
So Milo is basically taking himself OTJ right now. I have bumped down to .1U for the past 17 days. Of the 17 days, I have only been able to give him insulin 6 mornings due to low numbers. And now, I haven't been able to give him insulin for the past 3 days from his numbers being too low numbers for AMPS and PMPS. So do I conduct an actual OTJ trial now? Thank you! @FrostD
 
Wow look at him go!

So I'd say you have two choices -
(1) Do a 2 week OTJ trial. It would be "backdated" to start on the first full day without insulin
(2) Do what youve been doing and only give insulin when he's high enough - but reduce to a drop dose. Those AMPSs make me a little nervous without any nighttime tests.

The advantage to option 1 is it gives him time to settle down without the interference of insulin and really see where he's at. The "downside" is really just that it might not work out and it does seem like he could benefit from a smidge more insulin when needed

Advantage to option 2 is it continues to support his pancreas as long as possible. On human meters, we find the strongest remissions occur when they're completely green before discontinuing insulin...but sometimes you don't have an option because they drop too low. Disadvantage is obviously you have to keep shooting. If you choose this option you really will need more midcycle tests, ideally every cycle.
 
Thank you! I want to work for a strong remission, so I would like to do #2, but I cannot get any tests during the day while I'm working. Earliest possible test after I leave the house (at 6:30AM) would be around 3 or 4PM. I can get a night test in though after a PMPS and shot (if numbers allow). Do you think I should pursue option 2 if I cannot get daytime testing on week days? I wish this was happening a month earlier, then I could be still testing accurately before school started back...such is life!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top