Low-ish AMPS?

Looks like a perfect number to me - however - will you be home this morning to monitor? It appears that the Lantus has built up a nice depot and now you're into an active cycle - which means a bit more testing. I'd test again in two hours after her shot and a.m. meal - then test accordingly (lower numbers mean increased testing hourly if possible) rising numbers mean you can give her a bit of a break.

Others will be along this morning to support you - I'm leaving to take my husband in for surgery so I'm sorry but I can't stay on to help you along.

Looks like you're doing a great job though!
 
Correct, she ate a little over half of one can of her FF pate (usually this is what she eats in one sitting, tends to eat smaller meals through the day)
 
A couple of house-keeping issues for when you have time later :-)

We follow 2 dosing protocols here. If you will read the sticky below and pick one, it will make it easier for us to advise you on dosing.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Lantus work best when you give the same dose AM and PM. Dosing is not based on the pre-shot values but based on nadirs (how low a dose takes the cat).


In addition to updating your Spreadsheet, it would be a big help to us if you can set-up your signature? It's basically a summary of the information we need about your cat to give you advice. The spreadsheet and signature are the things we look at when asked for advice. It saves us asking you the same questions again and again especially when the question is time critical like stalling or low numbers. It also saves you the effort of giving us the information every time you post!

Here's how you can set-up your Signature:

  • In the Menu, under your user name, click on Signature.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
  • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
  • There is a limit of two lines. You may separate info with commas, dashes, | etc.
  • Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.

 
A couple of house-keeping issues for when you have time later :)

We follow 2 dosing protocols here. If you will read the sticky below and pick one, it will make it easier for us to advise you on dosing.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Lantus work best when you give the same dose AM and PM. Dosing is not based on the pre-shot values but based on nadirs (how low a dose takes the cat).


In addition to updating your Spreadsheet, it would be a big help to us if you can set-up your signature? It's basically a summary of the information we need about your cat to give you advice. The spreadsheet and signature are the things we look at when asked for advice. It saves us asking you the same questions again and again especially when the question is time critical like stalling or low numbers. It also saves you the effort of giving us the information every time you post!

Here's how you can set-up your Signature:

  • In the Menu, under your user name, click on Signature.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
  • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
  • There is a limit of two lines. You may separate info with commas, dashes, | etc.
  • Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.
Thank you very much for your insight. I’ve updated my signature. And I have read those documents several times, still trying to understand everything. It is not realistic for me to test multiple times throughout the day as I work full time. We test in the am before shots, when I get home from work (usually +9) and then in the evening a few times depending on the shift I’m working (it does vary from time to time). We were started on 4 units initially which I KNOW is a very high starting dose. I have brought her down to 3.5 units off advice of a member here. It’s just in the last week or so that we have started to see numbers come down more consistently; she also had a raging UTI when we started which I know would keep her numbers higher. There is so much to learn and it’s very over whelming
 
Thanks for updating your Signature. If you don't mind, could you please shift the link to the SS to the second line of the Signature? :-)

You could start with the SLGS protocol and take it from there. You hold each dose a week and do a curve at the end of the week and increase if needed.

Are you at home today - to test her for the first part of the cycle?
 
Hmmm feeling a little technology challenged when it comes to moving the SS link lol! I try to move it but it says I have exceeded the two lines, also not sure how to make it appear as “Belles spreadsheet” as it is named on my google. I will be home for the first 5-6 hours of her cycle today!
 
A
So far so good. Get a +2.
Do you have foods with higher carb?

Medium Carb = 10-15%
High Carb is >15%


https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
As far as wet food goes, I have one can of pro plan DM savoury selects which according to the chart is 10%, she’s not a fan of it honestly. She’s a very picky girl. I just gave her some of her regular FF but if we continue to drop perhaps it would be worth trying the DM at +2?
 
A

As far as wet food goes, I have one can of pro plan DM savoury selects which according to the chart is 10%, she’s not a fan of it honestly. She’s a very picky girl. I just gave her some of her regular FF but if we continue to drop perhaps it would be worth trying the DM at +2?
So the DM is the highest carb you have? If she is below 100 (5.5) at +2, I would give a spoon of the DM. Otherwise, just more of her LC should be okay.

If you look at the chart I linked in the prev post, it gives you some FF variants which are MC and HC. At some point you may want to stock up on those for lower numbers.
 
So the DM is the highest carb you have? If she is below 100 (5.5) at +2, I would give a spoon of the DM. Otherwise, just more of her LC should be okay.

If you look at the chart I linked in the prev post, it gives you some FF variants which are MC and HC. At some point you may want to stock up on those for lower numbers.
That’s the chart I have been following for a while! Thank you. We’re going out for kitty supplies today so we will pick up some different options!
 
That’s the chart I have been following for a while! Thank you. We’re going out for kitty supplies today so we will pick up some different options!

So the DM is the highest carb you have? If she is below 100 (5.5) at +2, I would give a spoon of the DM. Otherwise, just more of her LC should be okay.

If you look at the chart I linked in the prev post, it gives you some FF variants which are MC and HC. At some point you may want to stock up on those for lower numbers.
The only higher carb option I have is kibble
 
Hi Amanda, yes, feed her a small spoonful of the grilled chicken feast. We want to keep her hungry and get her numbers up a bit.
 
Welcome. It looks like she ended up having a really nice cycle today. When you get a chance add SLGS to your signature.
 
Hmmm feeling a little technology challenged when it comes to moving the SS link lol! I try to move it but it says I have exceeded the two lines, also not sure how to make it appear as “Belles spreadsheet” as it is named on my google. I will be home for the first 5-6 hours of her cycle today!
You're doing great!

To fix the signature, go to where you edit the signature and type "Belle's Spreadsheet" then highlight those words and click on the link icon in the toolbar. You'll get a popup window and in there you paste the url / link to the actual spreadsheet. After you save it, we can click on "Belle's Spreadsheet" and voila.... :) good luck!
 
You're doing great!

To fix the signature, go to where you edit the signature and type "Belle's Spreadsheet" then highlight those words and click on the link icon in the toolbar. You'll get a popup window and in there you paste the url / link to the actual spreadsheet. After you save it, we can click on "Belle's Spreadsheet" and voila.... :) good luck!
I think I did it? lol
 
I see she is flat at +3. You can switch to your usual low carb FF from here.
So I stupidly, for the first time in almost 2 months, fell asleep without setting my alarm for the morning, it is now 50 minutes past our regular shoot time, and her BG is 4.5. Really not sure what to do here. Belle is having breakfast now
 
So I stupidly, for the first time in almost 2 months, fell asleep without setting my alarm for the morning, it is now 50 minutes past our regular shoot time, and her BG is 4.5. Really not sure what to do here. Belle is having breakfast now
When encountering a lower number, you stall without feeding and test after 20 mins to see if her numbers are rising without food.

How are you placed today for tests? That would determine how much insulin to give or whether to skip the shot.
 
When encountering a lower number, you stall without feeding and test after 20 mins to see if her numbers are rising without food.

How are you placed today for tests? That would determine how much insulin to give or whether to skip the shot.
Shoot…. Dropped the ball on that one. She was ravenous and screaming at me so I fed her. I didn’t do the 20 min thing. Ugh . I am here all day and can test easily. I got in a bit of a panic and just fed her without waiting for a response here :(
 
Shoot…. Dropped the ball on that one. She was ravenous and screaming at me so I fed her. I didn’t do the 20 min thing. Ugh . I am here all day and can test easily. I got in a bit of a panic and just fed her without waiting for a response here :(
No problem. Don't feed her too much so that she isn't too full to eat later in the cycle.
Since you can test her, give her the full shot and test at +1.

Do I take it you still have only the LC and 10% DM? Anything higher?
 
I
No problem. Don't feed her too much so that she isn't too full to eat later in the cycle.
Since you can test her, give her the full shot and test at +1.

Do I take it you still have only the LC and 10% DM? Anything higher?
I have the FF chicken in gravy (12%) but I can easily pop out and get something higher if you think I should. Ive just given her the full shot. Now my question comes about our PM dose, what should I do there since we are around an hour and 20 mins late for AM at this point? Do I adjust the time?
 
I have the FF chicken in gravy (12%) but I can easily pop out and get something higher if you think I should.
Can do this later in the day. It would be good to also have high carb food (>15%).

Ive just given her the full shot.
OK. Please test at +1, if she is less than 5.5, please feed her a spoon of the 12% and test at +2.

I will be out for the next hour but shall see you after that. Will tag @PerfumedCatMom


Now my question comes about our PM dose, what should I do there since we are around an hour and 20 mins late for AM at this point? Do I adjust the time?
Will answer this when I'm back! :-)
 
122 at +1
Ok. I think she should head higher from here. Give her a spoon of food (usual LC) and test at +2.

Sorry, condo?
Our lingo for forum posts/threads. We request members to post a new thread every day. This ensures that the thread doesn't get too long to read. Especially in time-critical situations like low numbers or a member stalling a shot.

The thread title nomenclature is:
<Date> - <Kitty's Name> - <AMPS/PMPS number and any other BG numbers you may have for the day> - <Question, if any>

Use the the '?' prefix in the thread title if you have a question, so people know that it's not just an update.

For e.g.
"? 7/20 - Belle - AMPS 81 - Do I shoot?"
 
Ok. I think she should head higher from here. Give her a spoon of food (usual LC) and test at +2.


Our lingo for forum posts/threads. We request members to post a new thread every day. This ensures that the thread doesn't get too long to read. Especially in time-critical situations like low numbers or a member stalling a shot.

The thread title nomenclature is:
<Date> - <Kitty's Name> - <AMPS/PMPS number and any other BG numbers you may have for the day> - <Question, if any>

Use the the '?' prefix in the thread title if you have a question, so people know that it's not just an update.

For e.g.
"? 7/20 - Belle - AMPS 81 - Do I shoot?"
Thank you. Shall I post a new thread about today or just leave it until I need more advice ?
 
Back
Top