Low evening reading - thoughts on dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bedina

Member Since 2023
I can't believe I've screwed this up again.

PreShot 169 on an Alpha Trak 2; 153 on a human meter - but the human meter was after I gave her some food (which she clearly doesn't care for as she only ate a tablespoon at most). I should have stalled and clearly didn't.

Any guidance on a new shot (if any) much appreciated. Again, this is Vetsulin.
 
Remember next time, stall, don’t feed, post here and retest in 20 minutes

I know. I can't keep doing this "I"m not eating until she does" thing because it messes with my judgement. I'll remember next time.

Yes, this morning was around .75. She is protesting the new food so she had only about a tablespoon. I could re-test in 20, although I know that's not the same.

Otherwise considering skipping well.
 
You know, unless you have other thoughts, I think I probably should skip as well. As you pointed out, it would be difficult to get a token percentage of .75 and I know she drops quickly on this.

Also, she's protesting the Koha now, so she's had a very small dinner.

(Thank you. I'm also feeding myself. I was just starting to feel competent at this and then the low number blindsided me).
 
We knew it would be higher with the skipped shot but I think lowering a bit more is a good idea so you don’t have to keep skipping. When are you or have you switched to Lantus? The dosing advice will differ when you do :cat:
 
I have the Lantus now, but Safeway didn't have the 1/2 unit syringes. I'm trying to figure out if the ones a friend gave me are sufficient (they're 29 gauge rather than 30 or 31; I just posted in my 'transitioning' thread.)
 
We knew it would be higher with the skipped shot but I think lowering a bit more is a good idea so you don’t have to keep skipping.


Back up to 304BG at evening preshot testing. Until I'm certain of the Lantus syringes and process, I'm waiting to start that (planning for Saturday am).

Planning to do another .5U tonight. Will test again before bedtime.

(As an aside, either the Cerenia of the food change, but I suspect the Cerenia, has been fantastic. I've felt like I've had my girl back the last two days. I had takeout and she mugged me for a bite.)
 

Attachments

  • image.png
    image.png
    2 KB · Views: 103
That’s great news!!! I’m very happy for you both :D

did you try the Walmart near you? That’s where I always got my syringes and just got more for Bobo yesterday. Call to make sure they have them in stock.
 
I have the Lantus now, but Safeway didn't have the 1/2 unit syringes. I'm trying to figure out if the ones a friend gave me are sufficient (they're 29 gauge rather than 30 or 31; I just posted in my 'transitioning' thread.)
The gauge is the size of the needle. Works the same way as the lancets so 29 is a slightly larger needle that 30 or 32. It may hurt a tad more when it goes in because it makes a lightly larger puncture in the skin. Mine are 31 gauge
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top