Low BS This Morning UPdate #2 (all is well; follow up ?'s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrandyMom2AFew

Member Since 2011
So I took Bingo's BS this morning before his insulin and it was 24, took it again and it was 25. He was acting fine and came out for his food and injection.
I obviously withheld his insulin.

Here is what I did. I gave him some dry food and a can of his wet food. He happily gobbled it. I also rubbed some karo syrup on his gums.

Going to test him hourly to see how that goes.

So 5 units is much to high. I will watch him and take him in if he shows issues if not I will call the vet in the morning.

Anything else I should do?

ETA this nearly 12 hours post shot...
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST

I would test in 15 min to be sure he is going up and not down still. After that, you can test accordingly.... maybe starting with 30 min after, then going to an hour if all is well.

How long have you been at 5u? Did you just make a switch to lower carb food?
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST

Dearest Brandy, and, obviously you too, not so sweet, Bingo!,

WOW! Definitely no insulin. Good for you!

Okay, trust me. Pull up the dry food, don't give him any more karo syrup, and leave out the wet food. It's been about 12 hours since his last dose, so you're probably in the clear. But (and, sometimes buts are important), you might want to test him again for a little while. And, a little while after that...

You are awesome!

BrandyMom2AFew said:
So 5 units is much to high.
Yes.

Bingo! is so unbelievably blessed to be with you...

Much love and as many hugs as you could ever imagine,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST

Ugh.... Just tested again. His BS was still 25....

Ok will offer him some free range wet cat food and keep my other guy out so he won't munch it all.

We didn't just switch it has been over the last week and a half, but I just started home testing last night and was going to do a curve today...

So I will test again 11. On the bright side he really isn't too concerned about the fact I keep stabbing him so you know.
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST

wow, those are some surprising numbers!

I'm not familiar with your history, what insulin did he get last night? And when did you change the dose to 5 units? What was the dose before that?
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST

Do you have any higher carb wet food? That tends to hit the system quicker than the dry food. If not, maybe put some honey or syrup in with his low carb wet food. Did you drop his insulin dose when you started switching to the low carb food? A food switch, even over a week, can have a drastic influence on the amount of insulin needed, which is what you are seeing here. If he is now on an all low carb diet, I personally would drop the dose back to 1u twice a day and go from there. Obviously no insulin today - after such low numbers, kitties tend to be more insulin sensitive for 12-24 hours. You will see sky high numbers tomorrow morning though. This is the system reacting to those low numbers and dumping the glycogen stores from the liver, so don't be scared by it. It may take a few days for the 1u to settle in because of this hypo and the drastic change in insulin needs/dosing. How does this sound to you?
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST

Hi Brandy,

Just checking in to see how you and Bingo! are doing...

That's all. No nagging. Although, I can nudge with the best of them...

Much love and countless hopeful hugs for you and Bingo!,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST

Good update...

So we are 16 hours post (2pm) we are 174....

So I will test again at 18, 20, 22, and 24 hours.

So the questions that arise now, should I give him ANY insulin at 24 hours? If I do should only do .5-1 units or should I just do none for the night (if the numbers are ok)? If I do give him some should I wake up at 2 hour intervals and check his BS?

And we are doing Lantus....
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST UPdate

Lantus explains the prolonged low numbers. I would personally go ahead with 1 unit after 24 hours. No going with a shot tonight will help deplete that 5u build up. 1u should be a pretty safe starting over dose. I am sure others will eventually chime in here with their opinions. It will take a couple cycles of shooting 1u before the body normalizes and the shed/build up returns to a normal 1u shed. So be prepared for some wonky patterns!
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST UPdate

I remember the vet was going to change you to Prozinc/PZI(?) has that happened or is he still on Lantus?
Maisey would have pretty big bounces after Hypo (she was on PZI) now off the juice.
You're coping great! Remember to breathe and play too!
If over 200 you could think about a small dose. I'll leave it to more experienced people, but probably .25 or .5
Maisey always had 2-3 wacky days after a hypo.
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST UPdate

With lantus, you need to do your next shot at a time you can stick to a 12 hour schedule. There are no 'booster dosing' with lantus unfortunately.
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST UPdate #2

Ok so his BS steadily increased and was 333 at 9:30pm and I just gave him 1 unit of lantus and he ate 1.5 cans of chicken fancy feast. Should I wake up ever 2h to take his BS or what?

I am glad he seems to be doing well...
 
Re: BS 25 This at 10amPST UPdate #2

Dearest Brandy -- sorry Bingo!, but this is mom talk,

You are beyond awesome! Your friend's grandmother is most definitely smiling down on you and Bingo! now... From 11 units down to 1 because of you... My heart is awed.



BrandyMom2AFew said:
Ok so his BS steadily increased and was 333 at 9:30pm and I just gave him 1 unit of lantus and he ate 1.5 cans of chicken fancy feast. Should I wake up ever 2h to take his BS or what?
My humble suggestion is to get some rest, darling girl. You've had a big day and he just ate a big meal. Leave some food out if that helps you sleep better...



BrandyMom2AFew said:
I am glad he seems to be doing well...
We all are.

Much love and please kiss his kazillion toes for me kind of countless hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Re: Low BS This Morning UPdate #2 (all is well; follow up ?'

Thank you for your kind words.. I think I will go to bed now, perhaps a glass of wine first but bed it is.
 
Re: Low BS This Morning UPdate #2 (all is well; follow up ?'

Dearest Brandy -- sorry, Bingo!, still mom talk,

Ahhh, to sleep, perchance to dream... You've earned it, darling girl.

Much love and countless sleepy hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Re: Low BS This Morning UPdate #2 (all is well; follow up ?'

Hi Brandy!

As you can see, switching to low carb can lower BG by 100-300 points! You're going to have to start over with Bingo's insulin dose at 1u. I see that you're testing...any chance you might be willing to set up a spreadsheet? This way you can get help adjusting to his correct dose in the Lantus forum if you need it.

Just to warn you you'll probably see his BG shoot way up in the next few days. This is normal when he hits too-low numbers. When you see these high numbers, please do NOT go back to such a high dose of insulin. His insulin needs now that he's off the dry food will probably be drastically reduced. This is a very good thing. :-)
 
Re: Low BS This Morning UPdate #2 (all is well; follow up ?'

I am setting one up right now, so that will help. I won't be giving him 5u again unless his BS deems it necessary but I doubt it will.
 
Re: Low BS This Morning UPdate #2 (all is well; follow up ?'

Dearest Brandy, and, of course, you too, maybe sweet, maybe not so sweet Bingo!,

BrandyMom2AFew said:
I won't be giving him 5u again unless his BS deems it necessary but I doubt it will.
I'm humbly guessing there are many who doubt it will...

Has anyone told you how wonderful you are today? You are!

Much love and countless encouraging hugs for you and yours,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top