low blood sugar

Status
Not open for further replies.
Phyllis --

This thread is getting rather long. Most of us post on a regular basis and open a new thread for any given day. We also use a particular format for our subject line:

date kitty's name AMPS-#, +time-#​
So, for today, your subject line would read:

4/3 Nonnie AMPS-90, +4~109, +7-92, PMPS-179​
This lets us see at a glance how Nonnie is doing and whether you need any help.
 
Thanks for the info. Yes, it's getting easier...just hard to get a lot of numbers cause I'm in and out so much. I just tested and got an 86 (that's at +3) so if I can stay awake, will do another test in an hour. I plan to keep posting and testing. I've gotten more info from this board than any vet. There's nothing like being able to talk with people who have been through it. Thank you!!
 
oh, and the way you post a new thread:

follow this link to the Lantus Tight Reg Forum and on the left, a couple of inches down from the top, you'll see a button that says "New Topic."

Click that and i think you'll be able to figure it out.

Long threads get unwieldy and it can become hard to see what the questions/issues are - that's why we start a new one every day.
 
For some reason, I cannot enter anything into Nonnie's spreadsheet...it's like my keyboard does not work..,.anyone ever have that problem??
 
Are you logged into google? If you have a "read only" version open you can not edit it. You'll have to access your ss through google and not just pull up the one you have linked.
 
Good morning Phyllis!

Looks like Nonnie is interested in a little action! I saw last night's 42 - really glad you caught it and gave him some carbs.

You'll want to reduce his dose tonight from 2.0u to 1.75u. The high number this morning was caused by that low number last night, but it will come down. We call this a "bounce." The body gets used to higher numbers and when a number lower than they are used to comes about, the liver released stored sugars and counter-regulatory hormones to save them from a perceived hypo. A bounce can take up to 3 days to clear, but given Nonnie's been in lower numbers a fair amount, it may clear sooner. We'll know it has cleared when we see green or low blue numbers again.

In the meantime, you will have to be patient with the high numbers and reduce the dose anyway, because when the bounce clears you don't want him to be on too-high of a dose.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

Looking great!

eta - i'd forgotten he's been diabetic for 2 years, which classifies him as a long-term diabetic, so you do have the option of holding the 2u dose until he goes below 40 if you want. your choice.

can you start a new post with your next comment, please? this one is really long for people to have to wade through.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top