? Low blood Sugar Pre Shot Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cocoa12

Member Since 2018
OK my cat Cocoas pre-shot number is 152 it has never been that low. This morning the pre-shot number was 320. I gave him a reduced dose this evening was this the right thing to do?

How does this impact his AM dose to I have to gradually step him back up to where he was or to I give him the full dose ?

I know we dont give dose advice here I am just looking for some guidance on how to do this.
 
I think this is a positive step!

Ideally, you would want to move your "OK to shoot" line down slowly, shooting a consistent dose each time, but it looks like Cocoa had other ideas tonight! That 152 was much lower than any of your other pre-shots, so I think a reduced dose was fine. Let's see how he does with this, but keep in mind that it will drain the depot a bit, so you'll want to stick with the regular dose for a bit longer (unless of course he asks for a reduction by going below 90).

I am a little confused about some of the other dose changes-- why 2.50 this morning and on 3/23, for example? If you follow a method like SLGS, it's probably best to follow as closely as possible. Cocoa wasn't asking for a reduction at those points. I do like the fact that he's starting to see more blues now, though, it's a sign that things are going in the right direction!
 
I think this is a positive step!

Ideally, you would want to move your "OK to shoot" line down slowly, shooting a consistent dose each time, but it looks like Cocoa had other ideas tonight! That 152 was much lower than any of your other pre-shots, so I think a reduced dose was fine. Let's see how he does with this, but keep in mind that it will drain the depot a bit, so you'll want to stick with the regular dose for a bit longer (unless of course he asks for a reduction by going below 90).

I am a little confused about some of the other dose changes-- why 2.50 this morning and on 3/23, for example? If you follow a method like SLGS, it's probably best to follow as closely as possible. Cocoa wasn't asking for a reduction at those points. I do like the fact that he's starting to see more blues now, though, it's a sign that things are going in the right direction!

That is great news. I took his blood sugar and I was like what the heck. I had to take it again to make sure I wasn't losing it it was 152 and 158. So I hope it is a sign that his body is healing.

This morning when I pulled the needle out a little two little drops fell out of the needle so I figure it was 2.5. Probably was more like 2.7432 I just rounded down.

Yes I like the blues as well it has taken so long.

So what do I do for his AM dose do I just see what his reading is and base the does off that again? This is some what confusing lol.

Thanks
Jeremiah
 
Lantus does best with consistent dosing, so I would plan on going back to the 2.5U (if that's your current dose) in the morning. That said, if you get a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, here's what you do:

1) don't shoot (yet)
2) don't feed
3) post for help
4) test again in 15-30mins

Sometimes, if you stall for 15-30mins and take another reading, you'll see that the numbers are trending upwards. Because Lantus doesn't take effect immediately, an upward trend can give you confidence that it is safe to shoot even if the current number is low-ish-- by the time the insulin takes effect, it will be higher.

The reason for not feeding is that if you do feed a meal, numbers will go up just because of that, so you won't get a clear picture of the trajectory.
 
Lantus does best with consistent dosing, so I would plan on going back to the 2.5U (if that's your current dose) in the morning. That said, if you get a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, here's what you do:

1) don't shoot (yet)
2) don't feed
3) post for help
4) test again in 15-30mins

Sometimes, if you stall for 15-30mins and take another reading, you'll see that the numbers are trending upwards. Because Lantus doesn't take effect immediately, an upward trend can give you confidence that it is safe to shoot even if the current number is low-ish-- by the time the insulin takes effect, it will be higher.

The reason for not feeding is that if you do feed a meal, numbers will go up just because of that, so you won't get a clear picture of the trajectory.

Thank you so very much for the wonderful advice. This makes me feel so much better about tomorrow morning. I don't want anything to happen to my cat while I am at work :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top