***low blood sugar +6 @45

Lori & Max

Member Since 2021
Max started Lantus a little over a month ago... takes 1/2 unit every 12 hours. Has had good numbers and a little low a few times, but not this low. Tonight he was 49 at +6 and gave him glucose and food, which he ate almost the whole can.

I checked him 40 minutes later and he’s at 45...

how long until the glucose and food take effect? Anything else I should do to bring it up?

Edit: blood sugar is starting to go up now... at 80, Still would like any feedback... nervous to give him his next dose in morning although I’m thinking it will be a high bounce. Tonight he actually only got a little less than 1/2 unit... last night did not get shot... was too low (119) to give
 
Last edited:
Welcome. You need to reduce his dose to .25. He’s doing really well. With the AT under 68 calls for a reduction. You are right to be nervous about shooting in the morning. Do you have a spreadsheet? When did the bg go up to 80, how long after the 45? Test again in an hour to hour sure it’s still up.
 
Hi Lori. Please put a spreadsheet together so folks can track your testing, shooting and feeding. If you need help just ask and we will get someone to help you. We need your data. It is hard to help you without that. Good luck with your pretty Max.

Also, please try to post daily so we can keep an eye on Max. Try to follow the format below:

6/9, Max, AMPS _____

If you have a question, put the ? in front of your post. You will see that when you create a new post.
 
Omg... thank you all so much for your feedback. I have tried to put a spreadsheet together before and after entering all the information I couldn’t upload it... I can’t seem to do on my phone or my computer.

I will try again after work today, I know it’s very helpful... I just got frustrated that I couldn’t figure out the upload.. could be my computer?

I know I could do better with posts too... just trying to learn it all and have read the forums on this as well. I hadn’t been on in awhile and took awhile to figure out how to post last night.

Max was up to 300 this morning, although thAt is what he was at dinner last night when it dropped so low, so I waited to give him his insulin until he ate a little more and he was up to 500 when I gave him his insulin (0.25) very hard to measure that small amount but do my best. I am thinking he had a bounce to go that high.

I will work in figuring out the spreadsheet and go to the link I was sent. I’ll update later. Thank you all so much again for the feedback! It is much appreciated.
 
Omg... thank you all so much for your feedback. I have tried to put a spreadsheet together before and after entering all the information I couldn’t upload it... I can’t seem to do on my phone or my computer.

I will try again after work today, I know it’s very helpful... I just got frustrated that I couldn’t figure out the upload.. could be my computer?

I know I could do better with posts too... just trying to learn it all and have read the forums on this as well. I hadn’t been on in awhile and took awhile to figure out how to post last night.

Max was up to 300 this morning, although thAt is what he was at dinner last night when it dropped so low, so I waited to give him his insulin until he ate a little more and he was up to 500 when I gave him his insulin (0.25) very hard to measure that small amount but do my best. I am thinking he had a bounce to go that high.

I will work in figuring out the spreadsheet and go to the link I was sent. I’ll update later. Thank you all so much again for the feedback! It is much appreciated.
you don't upload an image of the the google spreadsheet here, you add a link to it in your signature. If you are still struggling someone can help you with that.
 
Link to you previous post.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-insulin-question.245210/

I can help you with setting up your spreadsheet. Will only take me a minute.

Btw, the RC Glycobalance dry is very high in carbs for a diabetic cat. Will he eat only FF Pate?
He goes back and forth with what wet food he eats... purevita turkey he likes as well. Sometimes I just have to try something new so he eats... he can be too picky sometimes . I always look at the label though to stay low carb and try to stay away from fillers.

I saw that with the dry food, but thought it was supposed to be good to be for diabetics and he was an almost all dry food before his diabetes , so it was better than anything else I could find

Any other thoughts on food, I would definitely try.
 
Welcome. You need to reduce his dose to .25. He’s doing really well. With the AT under 68 calls for a reduction. You are right to be nervous about shooting in the morning. Do you have a spreadsheet? When did the bg go up to 80, how long after the 45? Test again in an hour to hour sure it’s still up.
He went from 49 to 44 in 40 minutes... then up to 80 The hour after that. I think the glucose and his eating the food kicked in then.
 
you don't upload an image of the the google spreadsheet here, you add a link to it in your signature. If you are still struggling someone can help you with that.
Thanks Janet! I will try that again... that is where I was but my computer said something... I can’t quite remember the exact verbiage, but it made me think it was a computer issue
 
looks like max is trying to get off insulin. He earned another reduction.
I am so surprised at the low dose he’s been on and after 4 years that he would react so quickly...scary though as I was out at my mother-in-law’s for awhile last night and just happened to check him... was very surprised and glad I did check.
 
Hi Lori. Please put a spreadsheet together so folks can track your testing, shooting and feeding. If you need help just ask and we will get someone to help you. We need your data. It is hard to help you without that. Good luck with your pretty Max.

Also, please try to post daily so we can keep an eye on Max. Try to follow the format below:

6/9, Max, AMPS _____

If you have a question, put the ? in front of your post. You will see that when you create a new post.
Hi Lori. Please put a spreadsheet together so folks can track your testing, shooting and feeding. If you need help just ask and we will get someone to help you. We need your data. It is hard to help you without that. Good luck with your pretty Max.

Also, please try to post daily so we can keep an eye on Max. Try to follow the format below:

6/9, Max, AMPS _____

If you have a question, put the ? in front of your post. You will see that when you create a new post.
Will do, thank you!
 
@Bandit's Mom will help with your ss. If you can find mc or hc that he will eat and ditch the dry I think he might go into remission quickly, big anti-jinx! On this forum we like a new condo each day as it’s very busy. Congrats on the reduction.
 
@Bandit's Mom will help with your ss. If you can find mc or hc that he will eat and ditch the dry I think he might go into remission quickly, big anti-jinx! On this forum we like a new condo each day as it’s very busy. Congrats on the reduction.
Sorry I am not sure what mc or hc is? And what is a new condo? Sorry I’m not the smartest on some of the jargon... although there is a forum on that , I just have to find it again ☺️ Thank you
 
Hi Lori,

Here's a link to the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG Slang Dictionary! It's a fun resource, you can look things up there. A link to this is in the sticky called
The Basics: New to the Group? Start here! that has all the basic stuff, including setting up your spreadsheet. Hopefully @Bandit's Mom can help you out.

MC is medium carb food, canned foods containing between 10-15% carbs. LC is low carb (0-10%), the ideal food for your sugar kitty to be eating on a daily basis, and HC is high carb (16% and above) that you would feed your kitty whenever it sees numbers below 49 to get its sugars up again.

A condo (like in kitty condo) is our abbreviation for a thread or conversation. Ideally you'd make one new condo for your kitty every day in the Lantus forum.
 
Hi Lori,

Here's a link to the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG Slang Dictionary! It's a fun resource, you can look things up there. A link to this is in the sticky called
The Basics: New to the Group? Start here! that has all the basic stuff, including setting up your spreadsheet. Hopefully @Bandit's Mom can help you out.

MC is medium carb food, canned foods containing between 10-15% carbs. LC is low carb (0-10%), the ideal food for your sugar kitty to be eating on a daily basis, and HC is high carb (16% and above) that you would feed your kitty whenever it sees numbers below 49 to get its sugars up again.

A condo (like in kitty condo) is our abbreviation for a thread or conversation. Ideally you'd make one new condo for your kitty every day in the Lantus forum.
Thank you so much for all that info
I did search some of the different forums when I first signed into this site, but forgot some of the information.. will go back today to read
 
Back
Top