Hi everyone, recent new lurker, first-time poster. Toothless is on ProZinc and recently was upped to 2.0 units after we saw little in the way of results from 1.0 and 1.5. Now, it seems that 2.0 is too much. See his spreadsheet below. It's not exactly the same as the template available here, as I couldn't get it open to use. I made my own that is pretty similar, and we record in mmol and convert to dl on another tab.
My question is about his recent numbers below Feb 14th. We do our AM and PM shots at ~9:15-9:30, and have to go to work for his nadir most days. Lately when able, testing at +2, +3, +8, and occasionally +6 we're seeing numbers indicate that his nadir is in the 2mmol range (38-45) and are concerned. He has little to no clinical symptoms of diabetes now (thirst, urinating; ravenous hunger has always been a thing; weight loss seems to be stabilising), and does not seem lethargic except after a big meal (which includes insulin). If we offer him more food when he looks lethargic, he picks right back up... so I assume he is just actually sleeping.
We had taken him off dry food (per sheet notes) almost entirely because it seemed to spike him every time he got even a tiny bit. We're now using dry food to try to guide him through lows, but even a (comparatively) high dose of dry food does not seem to spike him anymore (see today's readings).
Generally when his BG was very high we were 100% wet food, now dry food seems required to keep his BG high enough! Should we lower or skip his dose? What does this pattern mean? Vet does not agree with home testing, but this data is very important to us and tells a critical story. How worried should we be about these low numbers and hypo potential? Thanks in advance.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XDIiDh3zrMEZTy-Wbs6CD8y3kNl6DG9JVe6A3QOgsP4/edit?usp=sharing
My question is about his recent numbers below Feb 14th. We do our AM and PM shots at ~9:15-9:30, and have to go to work for his nadir most days. Lately when able, testing at +2, +3, +8, and occasionally +6 we're seeing numbers indicate that his nadir is in the 2mmol range (38-45) and are concerned. He has little to no clinical symptoms of diabetes now (thirst, urinating; ravenous hunger has always been a thing; weight loss seems to be stabilising), and does not seem lethargic except after a big meal (which includes insulin). If we offer him more food when he looks lethargic, he picks right back up... so I assume he is just actually sleeping.
We had taken him off dry food (per sheet notes) almost entirely because it seemed to spike him every time he got even a tiny bit. We're now using dry food to try to guide him through lows, but even a (comparatively) high dose of dry food does not seem to spike him anymore (see today's readings).
Generally when his BG was very high we were 100% wet food, now dry food seems required to keep his BG high enough! Should we lower or skip his dose? What does this pattern mean? Vet does not agree with home testing, but this data is very important to us and tells a critical story. How worried should we be about these low numbers and hypo potential? Thanks in advance.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1XDIiDh3zrMEZTy-Wbs6CD8y3kNl6DG9JVe6A3QOgsP4/edit?usp=sharing