Low BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Here we go again with these crazy numbers! At PMPS Squallie was at 96! I don't get what's going on with him! I just fed him and am going to skip his shot tonight, obviously, but I'm worried that he'll be up in the 400s in the AM. :(
 
He's still only at 143. I gave him a miss on his shot tonight. But he'll undoubtedly be up in the high numbers in the AM. I wish I understood why his numbers get so weird.
 
Maybe start doing a sliding scale, Lucy? It looks like one unit is too much for a yellow pre shot but good for a pink.

Don't forget - this is GOOD news, just a little nerve wracking. So much improvement since the 6 unit days!
 
Maybe start doing a sliding scale, Lucy? It looks like one unit is too much for a yellow pre shot but good for a pink.

Don't forget - this is GOOD news, just a little nerve wracking. So much improvement since the 6 unit days!
I know, you're right, but it is a little scary! I hate to keep adjusting his dose all the time, especially since I don't really know if I'm making the right choices every time.
 
It's confusing I'm sure, but maybe it means his pancreas is occasionally sputtering into action? That's good if it's the case. And Sue is right, look how far you and Squallie have come in a short time!
 
Squallie's BG was 221 this morning, pre-shot! I was really expecting a very high number, since he got no insulin last night! I'm so tickled!!! :D
 
I'd reduce a smidge. You got a unshootable pmps and it lasted 24 hours. So, I wouldn't go with the same dose - it is likely to repeat a similar cycle (or we would think so :D) You want to be able to shoot twice daily. If one unit is lasting 24 hours, I think it's too much.

My guess is his pancreas may be helping out - I would think that is why he stayed low overnight. If so, it makes things more unpredictable. It can come and go - lower the dose sometimes and sometimes not help out at all. For now, I would be cautious.
 
I'd reduce a smidge. You got a unshootable pmps and it lasted 24 hours. So, I wouldn't go with the same dose - it is likely to repeat a similar cycle (or we would think so :D) You want to be able to shoot twice daily. If one unit is lasting 24 hours, I think it's too much.

My guess is his pancreas may be helping out - I would think that is why he stayed low overnight. If so, it makes things more unpredictable. It can come and go - lower the dose sometimes and sometimes not help out at all. For now, I would be cautious.
Thanks, I ended up giving him 0.75 units, I would rather he be a little high than too low! I will check him throughout the day to see where that takes him. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top