Low BG 3 hours after shot - Did I do the right thing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buffy-&-Cindee

Member Since 2014
Buffy's number have been going down the past two days so I've been testing her more frequently. She tends to dip below 100 at midpoint. However, today she dipped below 100 at 3+ so I fed her 1/4 of a 2oz can of Wellness to keep her from falling any further. I believe I did the right thing, I just need some reassurance.

If her 12+ is between 151 and 180, I think I should reduce her dose. I'm afraid of her dipping too low in the middle of the night. Would that be the right thing to do?

Cindee
 
Yep you did exactly the right thing, it's called steering the curve. :-D With the Alphatrak you don't want her going below 70. And personally with the way she is trending if she was mine I would do two things if it is possible for you to do is grab a +11 test as well as her normal preshot test just to make sure you are shooting a rising number and if she is between 150-180 reduce the pm dose down to .5

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Thanks! The food did the trick. It's time now for her lunch/dinner meal and her number is a nice safe 108. flip_cat It will be interesting to see what her number is at 11+ and her PMPS.
 
:RAHCAT Don't you just love it when they do what they are suppose to do? :lol: BTW Buffy is gorgeous!!!!

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I'll tell her, but it will just go to her head...LOL.

This is a nice change of pace. I goofed back on the 9th and didn't give her a shot because I was afraid that she'd go too low in the middle of the night. I now know what to look for. It surprised me that missing that one shot threw her off for so many days. I was pleased that her BG stayed down overnight last night. The 184 is even after she ate one scoop of food (an hour and a half earlier).

Cindee
 
Wow! You're not kidding - she is gorgeous!!!

I know Mel already told you but I second that you did the right thing. In fact I steer night lows with food all the time with the Wellness Core canned food which is 8%. It not only keeps Alska from night lows but it wards off that residual bounce as well. I hit my sugar's mid-cycle at about 11pm and in fact, all my cats get this late night snack to get them through the long night. It is the most important feeding of the day.

Nice job!
 
Thank you and thank you for the tip! :-D

She did well through the night. I just tested her and her BG is 201 which is an hour and 15 minutes after she ate 1/2 of her breakfast, so I'm happy with that. My husband and the cats get up at least an hour or two before me, so he feeds them. Buffy's Dr. said it was ok to feed her half of her breakfast before I test her, just to remember to take that into consideration when reading her numbers. Today will be a real determining factor in whether or not I get up earlier to test her before she has anything to eat. I've reduced her dose to .50 and will test her at +3. If the numbers continue to fall today, then I'll be up with the sun tomorrow to test her instead of sleeping in. :-D
 
Sleeping in? What's that? lol Sleeping in when you have 15 cats, a dog and a husband around here means on the weekends I get to sleep in until 6:40 instead of my feet hitting the floor at 6:10. But then again there are 15 cats (3 sugars, 1 OTJ & 2 on insulin), 1 dog, and a husband to get up, fed and out the door (well the dog and the husband out the door, cats don't go out).

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top