Low Amps - Stalling please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey There and Tinka is really looking good and maybe since the Prednisolone has stopped, she is going to not need insulin.

Can you stall without feeding for about 20 min? And if she doesn't come up go ahead and feed her and skip the shot.
 
I have a really good feeling that Tinka isn't going to be requiring insulin for long. Just by stopping the Prednisolone and feeding a low carb diet has seen many a kits Off the Juice (OTJ) Fingers and paws crossed!
 
Did you shoot? If you did, you could test her at +1 to see where she's at. If not and you are skipping, you can test at any point, just for data gathering. She did prove last night that she still needs insulin...she did go up quite a bit by PMPS.

It really looks like .75u is a very nice dose for her...these numbers are actually ideal, but I know you're not used to seeing them and that makes you nervous about shooting - understandable. If you are skipping again this morning, you may want to think about going back to .5U so you can shoot twice a day. However, reducing the dose may cause her to get "stuck" in higher numbers, which in turn could be less-than-ideal. Just some food for thought.
 
Thanks Amy, I didn't shoot. Will take readings today for data and then shoot less tonight. Many thanks
 
Good job on not shooting that number. I like Amy's suggestion to take her to .50 and see if you can get two shootable numbers a day.

ETA: Although, as Amy said, it is a shootable number but with out more data it was good that you skipped.
 
Good job on not shooting that number. I like Amy's suggestion to take her to .50 and see if you can get two shootable numbers a day.

ETA: Although, as Amy said, it is a shootable number but with out more data it was good that you skipped.
Thanks Bobbie I will take some more readings this afternoon. It really would be so wonderful if she can come off the juice soon if she sees some more improvements. I definitely think the pred and a higher carb diet is what caused the diabetes. The insulin is def helping though, but would be so great if she can go into remission if her numbers can continue to come down and stabilise. So is it better to shoot a lower unit like o.5 twice a day then to shoot a higher number like 0.75 once? If she is above 11 at PMPS do I rather shoot 0.5?
 
Did you shoot? If you did, you could test her at +1 to see where she's at. If not and you are skipping, you can test at any point, just for data gathering. She did prove last night that she still needs insulin...she did go up quite a bit by PMPS.

It really looks like .75u is a very nice dose for her...these numbers are actually ideal, but I know you're not used to seeing them and that makes you nervous about shooting - understandable. If you are skipping again this morning, you may want to think about going back to .5U so you can shoot twice a day. However, reducing the dose may cause her to get "stuck" in higher numbers, which in turn could be less-than-ideal. Just some food for thought.
Thanks Amy for your help:) Its good to know Tinka is responding well:) Ig she'd been say a 10 this morning I would have felt more comfortable shooting o.75. I really like that she's seeing lower in range numbers though that's teally great, just not sure how she'd be to shoot a number 8 or lower with o.75 as I haven't had any experience doing that yet so I decided not to shoot this morning. I will take some more readings this afternoon. What are thoughts for dosage at PMPS should I drop to o.5 then?

I took her off her steroids a few days ago and I think this and her lower carb diet are helping a lot along with the insulin to see better numbers and overall she's been much more herself past few days. She's just not drinking much water and still some neuropathy in back legs, trying to source methylcobalamine.
 
@Chris & China I skipped Tinka's shot again this morning as her numbers were a lot lower than I have shot before, lovely ladies on here helped me out:) I think the lower carb diet and going off her pred are def helping along with insulin. What are your thoughts should I reduce Tinka's insulin to 0.5 at PMPS? So I can try to get too shots in a day? If I reduce how long do I reduce for? If we don't see blue values again and just yellows will I need to come back to the o.75 and just try a shot in morning if she's lower? Thank you!!
 
Below is what some use for neuropathy.

http://www.amazon.com/ZobalineTM-Di...=UTF8&qid=1449059143&sr=8-1&keywords=Zobaline

It is always more ideal if you can shoot twice a day so that there is insulin provided for 24 hours instead of leaving 1/2 the day unprotected and higher. So if you try the .50 unit twice just make sure you can monitor . The longer she is in normal numbers 50 -120 , the faster her pancreas can heal.


If she is above 11 at PMPS do I rather shoot 0.5
Yes, that is what I would do because two days in a row now you were only able to shoot once leaving her high part of the day. I would then get a +2 test to see how active her cycle will be. If it is going to be active ( if the +2 is the same number as the pre shot or lower, then you can give a little bit of LC food to help slow her down a little. Post through the cycle if you need help.
 
What are your thoughts should I reduce Tinka's insulin to 0.5 at PMPS? So I can try to get too shots in a day? If I reduce how long do I reduce for? If we don't see blue values again and just yellows will I need to come back to the o.75 and just try a shot in morning if she's lower?

I think reducing to .5 is worth a try....You'd leave it at .5 unless her numbers start to go back up

If they do start to go back up, we'd call it a failed reduction and go back up to .75
 
Have you considered lowering you no shoot number? On this board, we say that if you see a number below 150 (8.4), to not feed and post for advice. With Lantus, if you shoot a lower number, the cycles are much flatter. Take a look at some of the other posts on this group and see what happens when people shoot lower. With some experience, even people using SLGS will shoot above 90, for TR above 50.
 
Below is what some use for neuropathy.

http://www.amazon.com/ZobalineTM-Di...=UTF8&qid=1449059143&sr=8-1&keywords=Zobaline

It is always more ideal if you can shoot twice a day so that there is insulin provided for 24 hours instead of leaving 1/2 the day unprotected and higher. So if you try the .50 unit twice just make sure you can monitor . The longer she is in normal numbers 50 -120 , the faster her pancreas can heal.



Yes, that is what I would do because two days in a row now you were only able to shoot once leaving her high part of the day. I would then get a +2 test to see how active her cycle will be. If it is going to be active ( if the +2 is the same number as the pre shot or lower, then you can give a little bit of LC food to help slow her down a little. Post through the cycle if you need help.
Thanks so much for this info Bobbie. I just took Tinka's +6.5 BG and she's already at 17.5 mmol/L which is a lot higher than yesterday at this time. She's also very hungry. I just fed her after her BG as she was due lunch. Hopefully it doesn't get much higher before PMPS.
 
Have you considered lowering you no shoot number? On this board, we say that if you see a number below 150 (8.4), to not feed and post for advice. With Lantus, if you shoot a lower number, the cycles are much flatter. Take a look at some of the other posts on this group and see what happens when people shoot lower. With some experience, even people using SLGS will shoot above 90, for TR above 50.
Hi Wendy thx for your msg. Her reading this morning was 7.6 so I stalled and didn't feed and then took her BG again 45 mins later and it was 8.4 so just on the line then. If it had been a little higher say a 9 I probably would have felt more comfortable shooting, but that's helpful to know if I shoot a lower number the cycles tend to be flatter. I just saw such a big jump from like 17 to 4 on her first day it's made me a bit nervous. So do you think she'd be fine if I had shot at 8.4 this morning then? The lowest we've shot has been 13. I'm prob fine with shooting st a 9 and up. It's only past two days her AMPS numbers are in the blues so it's been a different situation. If I need to just go for it I can try and do that or do u think it best to drop to 0.5? We originally increased to 0.75 as we weren't seeing much change and she was just staying in the yellows/teens. She has come off her steroids the past 2 days though so I think that's helping bring her numbers down and her food is a bit lower in carbs too. She's on 17.5 now at +6.5 so she's gone up quite a lot since this morning without a shot. Fo you think I should stick with o.75 and do an AM shot even her numbers are low but coming up or play it safe and stop to o.5 from this eve? Thank you for your help, it's such a learning curve;)
 
Shooting the first time lower than you are used to is a bit unnerving. I would only do it if you will be aroud to monitor that cycle. Given the numbers you are seeing now, Tinka would have been fine with dosing this morning. But hind sight is 20/20. Cats often see a big reaction when they first start insulin. As you can see, it didn't last.

Given that you are still relatively new at this, you removed the steroid out of the picture, and it's the holiday season which is busy for some people, you could try 0.5 unit again. However, if you don't seen green on a dose, then it's not enough insulin.

Have you decided on TR or SLGS for dosing yet? If so, please put it in your signature. That decision may change what suggestions we give on dosing.
 
Glad Wendy weighed in about the Zobaline, I didn't realize Canadians could not buy from US Amazon.

If it were me and because it has only been 2 days since she is off the steroids, I would reduce to .50 and see if you can get two shots in tomorrow with that dose. As Chris said, if she were to climb higher and you don't see a green you can always take her back up. Another idea : Since she has climbed higher at +6.5 today than she was at yesterday's PMPS, maybe shoot the .75 tonight and then tomorrow you could reduce her to .50 at AMPS and see if you will be able to get two shots in with that dose. That's just my opinion.
 
I think reducing to .5 is worth a try....You'd leave it at .5 unless her numbers start to go back up

If they do start to go back up, we'd call it a failed reduction and go back up to .75
Just seeing your message now thanks Chris
I think reducing to .5 is worth a try....You'd leave it at .5 unless her numbers start to go back up

If they do start to go back up, we'd call it a failed reduction and go back up to .75
[/QUOTE]
Thanks Chris:) Could I do a 0.75 at PMPS today seems her numbers are riding pretty high already and then a 0.5 from tomorrow AMPS and PMPS? Or if I'm going to drop to 0.5 is it best to do it from this evening? Thank you!
 
Lantus works best wtih consistent dosing. I would pick a dose tonight and stick with it. But it can take up to 6 cycles after a skip for the depot to stabalize, so don't worry if you see higher numbers for a couple of days since today is the second skip.
 
Glad Wendy weighed in about the Zobaline, I didn't realize Canadians could not buy from US Amazon.

If it were me and because it has only been 2 days since she is off the steroids, I would reduce to .50 and see if you can get two shots in tomorrow with that dose. As Chris said, if she were to climb higher and you don't see a green you can always take her back up. Another idea : Since she has climbed higher at +6.5 today than she was at yesterday's PMPS, maybe shoot the .75 tonight and then tomorrow you could reduce her to .50 at AMPS and see if you will be able to get two shots in with that dose. That's just my opinion.
We are thinking along the same lines Bobbie ;) Just see your message about doing the 0.75 tonight then dropping to 0.5 from tmrw morn was just asking Chris about the same thing. If her numbers are high still at PMPS I think that may be a good idea. We'd probably get blue still in the morning but I'd feel more confident shooting a 0.5 providing she's at least 8.4 after stalling. Thank you for your help!
 
We are thinking along the same lines Bobbie ;) Just see your message about doing the 0.75 tonight then dropping to 0.5 from tmrw morn was just asking Chris about the same thing. If her numbers are high still at PMPS I think that may be a good idea. We'd probably get blue still in the morning but I'd feel more confident shooting a 0.5 providing she's at least 8.4 after stalling. Thank you for your help!
You are welcome!
 
Shooting the first time lower than you are used to is a bit unnerving. I would only do it if you will be aroud to monitor that cycle. Given the numbers you are seeing now, Tinka would have been fine with dosing this morning. But hind sight is 20/20. Cats often see a big reaction when they first start insulin. As you can see, it didn't last.

Given that you are still relatively new at this, you removed the steroid out of the picture, and it's the holiday season which is busy for some people, you could try 0.5 unit again. However, if you don't seen green on a dose, then it's not enough insulin.

Have you decided on TR or SLGS for dosing yet? If so, please put it in your signature. That decision may change what suggestions we give on dosing.
Thanks Wendy I think I will try the 0.5 just still trying to decide whether to shoot that from this eve or tmrw morning. Her numbers are pretty high for her right now so not sure the 0.5 will have much affect this eve & don't want her feeling poorly again. I started on SLGS becayse she was eating but now that she has her appetite and decided to go with TR as I like the best chance of remission. I'm commited to testing BG at least 4 times a day and she's on a low carb diet. I'm not sure exactly what the dry matter is if her food I tried calculating it but I'm not sure it's accurate. She's eating Instinct - Limited Ingredient - Lamb and Wild Calling - Rabbit. Do you know what formula is best to calculate carb dry matter? I do believe they are both low carb though. The rabbit has no fruit or beg. The lamb has peas but only a few and I usually pick them out. Would be good to know the exact carb content. I will add the TR to my signature now thanks:)
 
I think shooting the .75 tonight will be fine, especially if Tinka is running around 300
Perfect thank you and for the speedy reply! I will shoot 0.75 shortly then:)

If I get a lower number tomorrow AM that is less than 8.4 should I stall, post and wait to see if it goes up and if it does go anything above 8.4 try shooting the 0.75 or do you think I should only do that if the numbers are a bit higher say 9 or 10? Or it's safer to just go to 0.5 for a few days given her AM numbers are reducing likely from coming off the steroids? Appreciate your thoughts as this is all so new:)
 
If you are following TR, we keep shooting the same dose until they earn reductions by going under 50. We don't anticipate what might happen. Of course, I'd only recommend shooting the same dose if you are around to monitor. I would shoot .75 anything above 8.4. One option if less than that is to stall without feeding for the number to come up. Check out the Sticky Note on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers for other options.
 
If it were me and I was able to be home and test, I'd shoot the .75 if she was 150 or higher

If she's under 150, I'd stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes and post for help

We all understand it's nervewracking those first few times you shoot a lower number, but it really does get easier...and as long as you're home, have plenty of strips and a well stocked hypo kit, that's the important part.
 
If you are following TR, we keep shooting the same dose until they earn reductions by going under 50. We don't anticipate what might happen. Of course, I'd only recommend shooting the same dose if you are around to monitor. I would shoot .75 anything above 8.4. One option if less than that is to stall without feeding for the number to come up. Check out the Sticky Note on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers for other options.
Thanks Wendy the past two morning my AMPS readings as well as my +1's weren't higher than 8.4 so if u get those again and stall for an hour and test and she's still 8.4 or lower I'll shoot 0.5 then so I don't have to skip a dose. If she's above 8.4 then i'll administer 0.75 and post for support. I'll be able to be around the whole morning and some of the afternoon but not consistently the whole afternoon. Hope that's ok:) Thank you for hope help! I'll check out that sticky now thanks:)
 
If it were me and I was able to be home and test, I'd shoot the .75 if she was 150 or higher

If she's under 150, I'd stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes and post for help

We all understand it's nervewracking those first few times you shoot a lower number, but it really does get easier...and as long as you're home, have plenty of strips and a well stocked hypo kit, that's the important part.
Ok great thank you Chris, I'll shoot 0.75 if she's above 8.4 / 150. Else I'll stall and wait 30 mins and post for help thank you:) I'm assuming if she's lower than 8.4 tmrw after waiting then it will be shooting 0.5 instead of skipping again. But hopefully she'll be higher than 8.4 and I can shoot 0.75. I'll be home in the morning and then I need to head out in the aftern for a couple hours but I can pop back sporadically to check on her and test more. Let's see what the morning brings:) Thanks again for your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top