? LOW AM BS

Jen and Sweetie

Member Since 2019
Sweetie is a 12yo cat I adopted last month I was told she was diagnosed in March and that she was diet controlled, only getting 1 unit Lantus every 24hrs if bs >200. But with daily testing, her bs was always >275. Lantus increased incrementally to 2.5u daily. I took her completely off thekibble she had been given, put her on Friskies pate, and switched her insulin to 1unit every 12hrs. Last week was the first time her bs was running <200. I have been continuing 1u insulin every 12hrs. Last night her bs was 284. Before bed I put down 1 can wet for her and my other 3 to snack on. This morning she threw up and when I tested, her bs was 54. She refused my reserve can of hc, Delectables gravy, and baby food, so I gave her Rachel Ray kibble, which she is addicted to. Bs came up to 73. Do I give her insulin tonight? Less? If anything, last night's number was higher than it had been in 5 days, nothing to indicate she would drop like this.
 
Fantastic that you have dumped the kibble and switched to dosing every 12 hours. And especially fantastic that you are testing and caught that 54!

I'm on my way out the door, so this is brief and others will come along shortly with more detailed information. I'll leave it to them to talk about dosing.

In the meantime, it would be extremely helpful if you could set up a spreadsheet so people can look at the numbers as a whole. Lantus dosing decisions are data based, and while it is obvious that a reduction is needed, people need to look at the whole picture.
Instructions are here. There are spreadsheet pros who can help if you run into difficulty.
 
Thanks. I am trying to figure out how to edit the thread title to add a ? And bs numbers.
I keep track of her #'s in a daily log, but my only access to internet at the moment is a cell phone which won't support the spreadsheet programs. Here are her last 5 days, tho
9/30 am 54, +20 min 59, +40min 73
9/29 amps 211, pmps 284
9/28 amps 144, pmps 184
9/27 amps 108, pmps 134
9/26 amps 167, pmps 184
9/25 amps 162, pmps 212
 
Thanks. I am trying to figure out how to edit the thread title to add a ? And bs numbers.
I keep track of her #'s in a daily log, but my only access to internet at the moment is a cell phone which won't support the spreadsheet programs. Here are her last 5 days, tho
9/30 am 54, +20 min 59, +40min 73
9/29 amps 211, pmps 284
9/28 amps 144, pmps 184
9/27 amps 108, pmps 134
9/26 amps 167, pmps 184
9/25 amps 162, pmps 212
Hi! Welcome ! I am new here so I can't help you with dosing advice .
You are doing such a great thing by adopting and treating this cat . Sweetie is so lucky to have you.
If you want to change title click on the tread title box and then select edit title. You can add a ? in front to make it visible to more people and then add the question in title.
 
Last edited:
If you have gmail, you have Google on your cell phone. If not can you get google? The spreadsheet is in google, most phones support it.

Others will chime in but I'm pretty sure that 54 you got today, means a reduction in dose. You would reduce by 0.25 units.

Sweetie certainly lives up to her name. It's wonderful you adopt knowing she was diabetic, most are looked over.
 
Hi Jen, and welcome to FDMB. It would be very helpful if you also created a signature so we can see Sweetie's info whenever you post:
Setting up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
click on "signature" in the menu that drops down
type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using and dosage amount /glucose meter you're using/what (s)he eats/any other meds or health issues (s)he has. You can add your name, and a geographic location (sometimes the country/time zone matters) Be sure to SAVE when you are finished.

I couldn't set up the spreadsheet either, as I was using a Kindle Fire tablet and it doesn't support Google anything. It was set up for me and I was able to access it via Google Sheets which I downloaded to my smartphone via Google Play. Then I could enter and edit the spreadsheet. Small screen..yes, but workable. I hope your phone will support this too.

Hoping you and Sweetie can get this all figured out while you are getting to know each other and getting comfortable living together.
 
Back
Top