Lovey Dose Increase or Hold?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
My vet initially wanted me to start on 2.5 units. I am close to that now at 2.25. I have Monday off and will be home this weekend so I have more of an opportunity to test. I can test 5 cycles in a row if I give 2.5 tonight.


Do you think I should try 2.5 now because I will have time to monitor? Or does 2.25 look like it might be a dose to hold for a few days. I had a beautiful 150 preshot last night but then Lovey climbed throughout the night?
 
If the bounce clears, I think you're fine to increase Lovey's dose.

There are at least two things to think about when considering a dose increase. First, how long have you been at your current dose? You want to give the dose enough time to settle but not too long so that Lovey's body "adjusts" to higher numbers. You want to think about a dose change after 3 days if the nadirs are below 300.

The other big question that I think about is whether the nadir is in the range that I want. It's important to keep in mind that Lantus dosing is based on the nadir so where the nadir falls is the number you are looking to evaluate with respect to dose.

Finally, what are your goals? Some caregivers are looking to try to get their cat into remission whereas others are looking to achieve regulation. This is more of a philosophical issue and may not have as much of an impact on your day-to-day approach but it is a consideration.
 
Hi Sienna, Thanks again for all your help. I wasn't sure if this was a bounce because Lovey was probably in the blues or greens for a long time during the day yesterday. A bounce can come awhile after? These bounces are tricky?

I shouldn't move dose during a bounce? Ok I will remember that. Have a great day Sienna.
 
Another tricky aspect of a bounce is the whole issue of increases. You don't want to increase while a bounce is clearing. As the bounce clears, numbers may come down quickly. If you are increasing the dose at the same time that the bounce is clearing, you can have the momentum of the bounce breaking coupled with the momentum of a dose increase and have a heckuva time steering the numbers. This isn't a horrible situation -- it's more that you need to have the confidence and experience of steering numbers with food to manage those situations.
 
thanks Sienne. I didn't know about falling numbers after a bounce or consider the effect of dose increase at the same time. I feel comfortable with dose increases when I am home, but maybe I should wait a few more cycles and see if I can get a nadir and see how it goes.
 
I think I'd wait until the bounce clears and she what she shows you at nadir.

The thing that makes me hesitate is the 78 she had on the 2nd cycle on this dose. If you were to see a 78 today or tomorrow, you'd be talking about decreasing rather than increasing :-)
 
Good luck with your dose decision. As you get more data, you'll learn how long it takes Lovey to adjust to a new dose. It takes Furball 2 to 3 days.
 
Thanks Carla. I was looking at Furball. She looks so much like my cat Lovey. :smile:

Since I did get a 78 and my preshots are lower now. I will try to find the nadir a few more times before I make a decision. Tonight I will check around hour 4-6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top