Louie's AMPS 119~ no shot~ but bounce??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louieorangetabby

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone~
Now that Louie's numbers are lowering nicely~ I've had two no shoot numbers twice in only a couple days....then he bounces during the day, understandably~
I'm in new territory! any suggestions?
I've already lowered his dose from 2.5 to 2.25 starting last night.
thanks!
Tracy & Louie
 
Well it looks like you have two choices to me, hopefully others will chime in as well. But from what I'm seeing on Louie's spreadsheet is either reduce him down again to 2u to give you a shootable number twice a day, or start shooting low to stay low, whichever you are more comfortable with. I will often shoot Musette when she is even below 100 because I know how she is going to react to the insulin and food. But on the days that I do that I also watch her like a hawk with both my eyes and my meter to make sure she isn't going too low.

The other thing that comes to mind since I'm seeing it with Musette is if Louie had as we suspected glucose toxicity going on in the beginning because of that faulty meter, then once you raised him high enough to break through that toxicity you may find yourself lowering his dose rather rapidly. If you look at Musette's spreadsheet you will see how fast I had to take her from 1.25u down to where she is right now at a fat .5u. she literally dropped in dose from that 1.25 to a fat .5u in less than a week. :o
Louie maybe following that same pattern.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Louieorangetabby said:
Hi everyone~
Now that Louie's numbers are lowering nicely~ I've had two no shoot numbers twice in only a couple days....then he bounces during the day, understandably~
I'm in new territory! any suggestions?
I've already lowered his dose from 2.5 to 2.25 starting last night.
thanks!
Tracy & Louie

Well, a couple things I see.

First, that 2.5u is obviously too much... he goes low at midcycle, low for him, then up he goes. Then overnite, he may be going even lower, but you have no tests so you can't be guessing when it comes to dosing....

Second, when you give too much and he goes low, you skip his shot and then he uses the shed up and then he is high again because he has no insulin in him, so you give him more and it's still too much ..... and the cycle repeats.

Go back to at least 2.25u or even 2u and just let the dose settle. You want to see a flatter curve, if possible, and then you will know how much to increase, if needed.

Please try to get a before bed test because you need to see if he is dropping lower at nite. If you can't get the before bed test, then try to get a test as soon as you get up.... maybe a +10 or something?

If more tests are not possible, it's better that you step down in dose so that you don't have to worry about any overnite hypo happenings.
 
Thanks for the help! I'll reduce Louie to 2u tonight and monitor him closely~ Every day brings new challenges as I'm learning from Louie! ;-)
T & L
 
Always remember this:
You can always give more insulin, but you can't take back too much.
Take it nice and slow, and don't forget you can manipulate numbers with food.... a wee spoon of gravy could be just enough to slow a dropping number, OK?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top