Louie~Bouncing~dosing question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louieorangetabby

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone~
Louie is still adjusting to his 2unit dose~ Last weekend I was away for a 24 hour caretaking work shift. I tested, fed and gave Louie his morning shot, then went off to work. My husband fed a mid day meal, and I was able to run home to test, feed and give the pm shot. (normally I give an extra daily feeding, but its tough when I am away) I got back in the morning about 45 minutes late for the morning dose, but when I tested Louie, the monitor flashed HI! :shock: I gave Louie his insulin, and tested him 2 hours later just to make sure his numbers were coming down and at +2 he was at 385.....Then the next day's AMPS he was at 201~ :?

I'm wondering....do I hold on with the 2 units?? I'm not sure how long it will take to get Louie stable~ is this normal in the adjustment process?? He's still testing negative for keytones, by the way~

I'm taking Louie with me on a little road trip for about 4 days~ visiting some hot springs in southern New Mexico & staying at a cat friendly lodge....its the only way I can get away and take care of him at the same time! Will try to get some photos of Louie on his big adventure and post them~

thanks for any insights on Louie's SS~ will get more late~ before bedtime readings~
Tracy & Louie
 
Man I wish I knew what to tell you about those numbers, yes some of them look like he is bouncing off those blues and yellows, but then again I'm also wondering if we increased his dose too fast and part of it could be rebound as well. Just sucks that we don't know how he was truly doing on those much lower doses.
However, if we assume that all those times he was reading in the 200s on the old meter he really was in the 400s it is very possible that it is going to take him sometime to settle down on that new dose. And that when he got that blue and then yellow his body just completely freaked out and thought he was about to hypo.

He reminds me a lot of Musette, she was left untreated so long before I adopted her that it has just taken me forever to get her to settle down on a dose and stop reacting everytime she hits a number below what she is use to seeing.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Looking at those numbers and the length of time you have held them 16 total cycles, I think you have room to do an increase of 0.25u. Because you do get some low yellows and an occassional blue, I would not do a 0.50u increase. You may be closer to the right dose than you think.

As far as changing meters, sadly many of us have found out the hard way that the FSL give really poor readings in higher numbers. We didn't discover this until there was a huge variance between my meter and a requested Fructosimine test at the vets. Attie came back a poorly regulated :shock: .

I am happy to read you are using a different meter and just as happy to see you are getting more testing done to confirm there isn't a missing 'bout of low numbers.

Keep in mind the goal with lantus whether TR or not is to develop a flat curve. The drops from high numbers can trigger bounces too, if it is too fast. Drops of 100 points in an hour seem to trigger a panic message from the liver even though our meter tells us kitty is not in any real trouble.
 
Hi, Tracy ~

We've been seeing some bounces for Louie, but it's beginning to look like not enough insulin for your furboy. I agree with Beth that it's probably time to nudge up Louie's dose to 2.25U, Tracy. You'll need to hold that dose and let it settle in as you've been doing to see how that dose works for Louie.

Tracy and Beth, I'm so sorry you've both experienced problems with those darn Freestyle Lite meters and their faulty test strips. So glad you're both getting your dear kitties back on track now.

Hope you have a good day.

Eva
 
Morning Tracy and Sweet Louie,

Now that I am more awake than I was last night when I was looking at his spreadsheet. I'm beginning to wonder since we don't know what his BGs truly were back in the beginning thanks to that horrible FSLmeter, but we can probably safely assume high. That you might have some glucose toxicity going on. Here is a link to a definition of exactly what it is. http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Glucose_toxicity

It is something that I suspect was also Musette's problem that she had just gotten so use to running so high that she had a slight insulin resistancy when first her foster dad had her and then I got her...I just had to keep working with her and her dose until we found one that would break that 'glass floor' for her. She would have a really good response to the Lantus when it was first introduced but then her body would revolt against it and up her numbers would go and stay there. It took finally raising her high enough to break through that toxicity to get her numbers to start coming in line, and now she may shoot up from a bounce but she clears them fairly quickly and starts back down again.

I think we just need to find that magic dose for Louie to break through his glass floor as well, the bad part is their insulin needs can change drastically once that floor is broken..the good part is that you are testing him at home, and have a reliable meter to do it with. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Good point about glucose toxicity, Mel. Thanks for that link. I've been wanting to read more about it myself.

& Hi, Tracy & Louie!

Eva
 
Thanks everyone! I'll read about glucose toxicity Mel~ thanks for the link~ and I appreciate all the support for dear Louie! The good news is that his behavior seems good~ aside from the constant hunger~ his fur is soft and he has his little routines every day~
I will up his dose to 2.25 tonight and keep testing when I can~ when we go on our little adventure, he'll get lots of attention from me~ just hope he handles the road trip well! :smile:
It may take him more time than I thought to get regulated~ its awful to think that he went for so long without enough insulin when we were using the bad monitor! just incredibly thankful that we switched to the Contour meter~
Tracy & Louie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top