Louieorangetabby
Member Since 2011
Hi everyone~
Louie is still adjusting to his 2unit dose~ Last weekend I was away for a 24 hour caretaking work shift. I tested, fed and gave Louie his morning shot, then went off to work. My husband fed a mid day meal, and I was able to run home to test, feed and give the pm shot. (normally I give an extra daily feeding, but its tough when I am away) I got back in the morning about 45 minutes late for the morning dose, but when I tested Louie, the monitor flashed HI! :shock: I gave Louie his insulin, and tested him 2 hours later just to make sure his numbers were coming down and at +2 he was at 385.....Then the next day's AMPS he was at 201~ :?
I'm wondering....do I hold on with the 2 units?? I'm not sure how long it will take to get Louie stable~ is this normal in the adjustment process?? He's still testing negative for keytones, by the way~
I'm taking Louie with me on a little road trip for about 4 days~ visiting some hot springs in southern New Mexico & staying at a cat friendly lodge....its the only way I can get away and take care of him at the same time! Will try to get some photos of Louie on his big adventure and post them~
thanks for any insights on Louie's SS~ will get more late~ before bedtime readings~
Tracy & Louie
Louie is still adjusting to his 2unit dose~ Last weekend I was away for a 24 hour caretaking work shift. I tested, fed and gave Louie his morning shot, then went off to work. My husband fed a mid day meal, and I was able to run home to test, feed and give the pm shot. (normally I give an extra daily feeding, but its tough when I am away) I got back in the morning about 45 minutes late for the morning dose, but when I tested Louie, the monitor flashed HI! :shock: I gave Louie his insulin, and tested him 2 hours later just to make sure his numbers were coming down and at +2 he was at 385.....Then the next day's AMPS he was at 201~ :?
I'm wondering....do I hold on with the 2 units?? I'm not sure how long it will take to get Louie stable~ is this normal in the adjustment process?? He's still testing negative for keytones, by the way~
I'm taking Louie with me on a little road trip for about 4 days~ visiting some hot springs in southern New Mexico & staying at a cat friendly lodge....its the only way I can get away and take care of him at the same time! Will try to get some photos of Louie on his big adventure and post them~
thanks for any insights on Louie's SS~ will get more late~ before bedtime readings~
Tracy & Louie