Re: loss of apetite - Maggie is gone
Sorry I have not replied. Maggie took a turn for the worse. I still don't know exactly where everything went wrong. But her apetite got worse and I felt like she had lost weight so I got her to the Vet. Sure enough she had lost two pounds since early November when she had had a hyperglycemic attack. We got her through that and her eating had returned to normal - we decreased her insuline from 3 units to 1 unit. I was trying to take her BG's but she was difficult and I was inept at doing it.
Anyway I got her to the Vet on Friday and her liver enzymes had increased but the rest of her blood work and untrasound looked fine. Her BG was around 400 so we increased he insulin to 2 units, put her on prednisone and an apetite enhancer. I know prednisone is not good for diabetic cats but she has been on it before and Vet felt he had no choice due to the liver enzymes. She came home, ate up a storm and I thought OK another crisis diverted. Then by the next day she was showing signs of decrease apetite again. no diarrea, no vomiting. By Sunday she would not leave her bet except to use the box. I could have called my Vet but I just knew it was going to be bad - so I cuddled with her all day, got a full can of food in her by syringe and loved her. I got her to the Vet on 12/24 after a consult with him and he thought she might need fluids but when he saw he could not believe how much worse she was from Friday. he said he would do what ever I wanted. he would put her on IV, but did not feel he could put a feeding tube in her at this weakened state, but would try if I wanted him to. He advised I let her. This Vet is wonderful and is a friend as well. I trust him completely. I did not want to let her go, but I knew how bad she looked so I did. It was peaceful and was calm.
I know am living with the guilt of not getting her there sooner - like two weeks ago and not knowing what really what was wrong with her. Her system surely was shutting down but why? Was it due the event in NOvember? Was her liver full of cancer that could not be deticted in an ultrasound? She was not acting sick other than loss of apetite and weight.
I loved that little cat like a child. I hand fed her as a kitten. She was the one that followed me around the house and would chat insitently on the phone when I tried to talk to friends. I have four other cats, but this one was the one that greeted me every day when I got home....
What more could I have done?