Losing weight rapidly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mancat

Member Since 2015
Hi guys. I am a relatively new member and have been hanging out in the PZI forum and learning a lot from all the incredible people there who have been holding my hand every step of the while I help my cat Nala. However, they recommended I come see you because some complications are developing. She had the usual signs and lost a lot of weight rapidly. When she was diagnosed at the vets she was about 8.7lbs after losing 3lbs in the span of about a month. She presented quick and aggressive. If you look at her chart she was having issues in the beginning because she was sneaking high carb dog food when I wasn't looking until I finally caught her. My vet kept telling me to increase her dose and she started bouncing hard. I finally found this website/forums and took things into my own hands and she has finally settled into .4 units twice a day. She started looking great and gaining weight. However the past 2 weeks she's dropped weight rapidly again. She went from 10.2lbs to 8.6lbs when I tested her yesterday morning. That's really scaring me. I don't know what's going on. Everyone in the PZI forum said to take a urine test immediately and I did and thank god she came back negative. The tears of relief are real. Here are her quick stats to hopefully answer any questions you might have.

Age - 10, 11 in Feb
Weight - 8.6lbs
Insulin - .4 u twice a day, ProZinc
Food - canned, wet, twice a day
Average AMPS/PMPS - high 200's
Urine ketones - negative
Eating/drink/bathroom habits - she acts hungry all the time but everything else is normal
Behavior - normal, no lethargy or changes
Co-conditions - none but tested 2 months ago (someone suggested another hyperthyroid test)
 
Food - canned, wet, twice a day
You don't say how much you feed. There is a formula to figure out how much to feed based on a cat's ideal weight. This website has a calculator (http://petsci.co.uk/feline-calorie-calculator/) - I put in 11 lbs, adult cat and got 281 calories. Fancy Feast recommends that you feed an average size adult cat 1 3oz can per 3½ pounds of body weight daily - that's 3 cans per day for a cat who should be 10.5 lb.

So, if you are feeding two 3 0z. cans a day, you might not be giving Nala enough food. Check the calories per can.
 
Yeah I had a special project at work that required me to work 70 hours a week for 2 weeks to meet a deadline. We just finished up. She gets 2 5 ounce cans a day.
 
Hey there, having the same problem with Bubba. He was checked and did have ketones which have resolved. Blood work was done also, and showed nothing, thyroid was good. You might have that check as that can cause weight loss too. Also, does she go outside and hunt? I am going to have a stool sample done also to rule out parasitic infection.
 
Hey Bobbie. I hope Bubba is doing well. I did check her ketones and she came back negative which I am very thankful for. Her thyroid was checked a couple of months ago but some people are saying that in that time it could have changed. Taking Maggie's advice into account I ran through several calculators with all of Nala's information and a couple say I may have been about a half a can short so I increased it immediately after the results. If I see no increase at all, or a loss in about a week or two I will take her in and get her thyroid tested. She doesn't go outside. She used to when she was much younger but now she's content and stay inside and play.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top