Mancat
Member Since 2015
Hi guys. I am a relatively new member and have been hanging out in the PZI forum and learning a lot from all the incredible people there who have been holding my hand every step of the while I help my cat Nala. However, they recommended I come see you because some complications are developing. She had the usual signs and lost a lot of weight rapidly. When she was diagnosed at the vets she was about 8.7lbs after losing 3lbs in the span of about a month. She presented quick and aggressive. If you look at her chart she was having issues in the beginning because she was sneaking high carb dog food when I wasn't looking until I finally caught her. My vet kept telling me to increase her dose and she started bouncing hard. I finally found this website/forums and took things into my own hands and she has finally settled into .4 units twice a day. She started looking great and gaining weight. However the past 2 weeks she's dropped weight rapidly again. She went from 10.2lbs to 8.6lbs when I tested her yesterday morning. That's really scaring me. I don't know what's going on. Everyone in the PZI forum said to take a urine test immediately and I did and thank god she came back negative. The tears of relief are real. Here are her quick stats to hopefully answer any questions you might have.
Age - 10, 11 in Feb
Weight - 8.6lbs
Insulin - .4 u twice a day, ProZinc
Food - canned, wet, twice a day
Average AMPS/PMPS - high 200's
Urine ketones - negative
Eating/drink/bathroom habits - she acts hungry all the time but everything else is normal
Behavior - normal, no lethargy or changes
Co-conditions - none but tested 2 months ago (someone suggested another hyperthyroid test)
Age - 10, 11 in Feb
Weight - 8.6lbs
Insulin - .4 u twice a day, ProZinc
Food - canned, wet, twice a day
Average AMPS/PMPS - high 200's
Urine ketones - negative
Eating/drink/bathroom habits - she acts hungry all the time but everything else is normal
Behavior - normal, no lethargy or changes
Co-conditions - none but tested 2 months ago (someone suggested another hyperthyroid test)