mialia
Member Since 2018
My fuzzy was now diagnosed and began treatment over three months ago and he's still all over the map. Now I have a tough situation, I travel for a living so daily testing is impossible. I have a roommate who gets a reduced rent for giving shots twice a day but I can't ask her to also test. It's already too much to ask and I can't afford a further rent discount. She's type I though, and takes excellent care of him.
I went in to the vet recently for his 'post diagnosis checkup' and was pretty annoyed that all he really did was a blood test. Heck, I do that at home. I had to pay $50 for the honor... And all he said was "that's pretty high still (384) so let's raise him to 3IU. He was originally prescribed 2 IU but my roommate and I raised him when it was staying high to 2.5. He's been on 3 for 3 days now, and his BG is much higher. 533 today. The vet also told me to give him Glycobalance. When I mentioned I've researched cheaper options and feed him fancy feast Classic 0-2 carb food (with a raw chicken/liver blend added to help him eat and make him purry face), he shrugged as if to say I was dead wrong. But I couldn't afford glycobalance even if it was recommended anywhere else (which it doesn't seem to be).
I've spent countless hours online here and elsewhere trying to figure out what to do now. I live in the middle of nowhere, so another vet isn't an option. There is a VCA near but I HATE VCA. They've treated my pets so awfully at two other locations I won't ever go back. So, it's up to me at home. I try to test each day I'm home one or two times, but I just have no clue what I'm doing. I spend more time crying than I do anything else.
He seems bright eyed and bushy tailed most days. He's not gaining weight but he hasn't lost any either (he was 10 pounds when diagnosed, which is about 4 pounds lighter than he was two years ago). But his muscle wasting is still there, coat still oily, and blood sugar still too high.
The only time I ever had decent measurements was when he was about 2IU a day. The few times I've increased insulin, he BG went up. I know that can happen, I understand why, but 2IU also sees too high BG... so what's next?
I love this little jerk with every ounce of my being. I've spent easily over 10K on him in his lifetime because he's that cat that has urine blocks and other crap just to mess with me. I know I can get four more years of snuggles if I can just get this under control... He has stress in his life. He has a hard time every time I leave for work and sticks to me like glue when I'm home. My roommate is learning to snuggle him more. She's a great nurse but not a cat person. But she also wants to see him healthy.
What do I try next? I know some sites say to test every two hours but his ears are bloody and bruised from just a few days of tests twice a day, and the vet says I'm doing it right (and I follow all advice here). He's albino, so his wounds may be more obvious than those on a darker furred cat.
As the daughter and roommate of diabetics, and fur mother of another, F diabetes.
I went in to the vet recently for his 'post diagnosis checkup' and was pretty annoyed that all he really did was a blood test. Heck, I do that at home. I had to pay $50 for the honor... And all he said was "that's pretty high still (384) so let's raise him to 3IU. He was originally prescribed 2 IU but my roommate and I raised him when it was staying high to 2.5. He's been on 3 for 3 days now, and his BG is much higher. 533 today. The vet also told me to give him Glycobalance. When I mentioned I've researched cheaper options and feed him fancy feast Classic 0-2 carb food (with a raw chicken/liver blend added to help him eat and make him purry face), he shrugged as if to say I was dead wrong. But I couldn't afford glycobalance even if it was recommended anywhere else (which it doesn't seem to be).
I've spent countless hours online here and elsewhere trying to figure out what to do now. I live in the middle of nowhere, so another vet isn't an option. There is a VCA near but I HATE VCA. They've treated my pets so awfully at two other locations I won't ever go back. So, it's up to me at home. I try to test each day I'm home one or two times, but I just have no clue what I'm doing. I spend more time crying than I do anything else.
He seems bright eyed and bushy tailed most days. He's not gaining weight but he hasn't lost any either (he was 10 pounds when diagnosed, which is about 4 pounds lighter than he was two years ago). But his muscle wasting is still there, coat still oily, and blood sugar still too high.
The only time I ever had decent measurements was when he was about 2IU a day. The few times I've increased insulin, he BG went up. I know that can happen, I understand why, but 2IU also sees too high BG... so what's next?
I love this little jerk with every ounce of my being. I've spent easily over 10K on him in his lifetime because he's that cat that has urine blocks and other crap just to mess with me. I know I can get four more years of snuggles if I can just get this under control... He has stress in his life. He has a hard time every time I leave for work and sticks to me like glue when I'm home. My roommate is learning to snuggle him more. She's a great nurse but not a cat person. But she also wants to see him healthy.
What do I try next? I know some sites say to test every two hours but his ears are bloody and bruised from just a few days of tests twice a day, and the vet says I'm doing it right (and I follow all advice here). He's albino, so his wounds may be more obvious than those on a darker furred cat.
As the daughter and roommate of diabetics, and fur mother of another, F diabetes.