Hi All,
Claudia has been posting for awhile in PZI and she has gradually moved up the dose scale.
along the way she has gone back and done a rebound check.
and she has tried a new vial
and she tests mid cycle regularly.
Charlie fits a lot of the common acro characteristics:
he snores, he has a big demanding appetite (must be fed on time and eats ~14oz/day), difficult regulation, heart murmur, large cat 14 lbs currently, but was much larger, male, normal pzi onset and duration with flattish nadir regardless of dose
-dental done in Feb, no other medical conditions which could explain difficult regulation
Claudia uses u100 syringes with the conversion chart (b/c Prozinc is u40) She was guided to this because in normal FD many cats respond to microdoses. Charlie hasn't.
As for Prozinc in an acro I can only tell you my experience and ECID
Prozinc is 1 yr old and I can not compare it to other PZI because I didn't really use others. I was unsuccessful in bringing Cody into any blue numbers until I reached about 14u then switched insulin. It turns out his current lev dose is 15-16u, so maybe if I had continued and gotten to 16u it may have worked. I don't know. I increased in .5u most of the time, although one time my vet had me jump from 7-9u. I tried holding it anywhere from 2 cycles to 2 weeks; shooting 3x/day, and nothing really improved his numbers until I got close to his dose. For us Prozinc onset was +2, nadir moved constantly btw +4 thru +8, and duration was +10.
Dosing is based on a combo of nadir and PS, with 200 being a typical no shot/delay shot number. Timing is flexible because duration is pretty reliable (So long as he's rising and its after +8)
In our experience- The trouble with Prozinc in a high dose cat:
1.PRICE- the 10ml vial price is similar to Lev, but the lev vial last 2.5x longer (1000u vs 400u per vial). At 14u I was buying a new vial every 2 weeks. Now its 5 weeks. I figured about $1400/year difference assuming the vial price of $90 for both. (now buying for $85 from Costco, )
At 5u BID (10u/day) prozinc will last her 40 days, and lev would last only until it dies.... how long is that? I've read 45days---so even though part of the vial is wasted, it is about a break even point. beyond 5u BID lev becomes increasingly more economical.
a 10u BID cat would use a whole vial in 50 days
and everywhere I've checked cartridges are much more expensive per unit...so ????)
2. Many/most high dose moms use Humulin R from time to time to bring a bad days numbers back in check. With Prozinc, I was never really sure when the nadir would hit because it moved so much between +4 to +8, also the onset is fast in prozinc, so it was not easy to know how to use R. In lev, I know my onset is around +4, so if I have a sky high PS, I can safely use R in addition to the lev
Back to Charlie
I would like to see her continue small increases because we do not know Charlie is acro- I think she is planning on trying 5u tomorrow. after 4 days on that she may try .4u increases.