AndreaM
Member Since 2010
Hi Everyone,
on your advice, I read up on Levemir and made the switch for Schroeder about 3 weeks ago. I took him from 5U Caninsulin all the way back to 1U Lev. I read that Levemir potency is less than than Caninsulin, and so I was afraid to keep him at low doses for too long. His readings were consistently in the black and had been for the last month. I got some feedback from a board member to supplement with some Humulin R. I did this for a couple of weeks, but then I couldn't tell how the Levemir was behaving. So last week I made the switch to just Levemir. We are at 4 Units. I would like it if someone could look at the numbers and let me know if you suspect Somoygie. I backed off a .25 unit this morning. I have a curve planned for tomorrow, but my weekly schedule is such that it's very difficult to try to get a nadir reading, though I do do random spot checks.
I've notice a consistent trend over the last few days. AMPS is high, and PMPS is terrific (blue zone). Dosing protocol calls for full dose to be administered as long as BG isn't under 100, which is very different from my Caninsulin days... Anyway, Schroeder is showing no signs of hypo, other than possibly eating a little more than usual. Drank a lot of water by about +4, but then i went to bed. He slept soundly at my side all night until he gulped a bunch of water down when he got up with me!
You'll notice my chart looks a little different b/c I keep track of mg D/L and mmol/L, and the times I shoot, so I can tell when there has been inconsistancy. Thanks in advance for your attention to this. Getting concerned that I might not be able to get Schroeder back into remission like I did the first time, and I'm beginning to panic that the window is closing...
Andrea.
on your advice, I read up on Levemir and made the switch for Schroeder about 3 weeks ago. I took him from 5U Caninsulin all the way back to 1U Lev. I read that Levemir potency is less than than Caninsulin, and so I was afraid to keep him at low doses for too long. His readings were consistently in the black and had been for the last month. I got some feedback from a board member to supplement with some Humulin R. I did this for a couple of weeks, but then I couldn't tell how the Levemir was behaving. So last week I made the switch to just Levemir. We are at 4 Units. I would like it if someone could look at the numbers and let me know if you suspect Somoygie. I backed off a .25 unit this morning. I have a curve planned for tomorrow, but my weekly schedule is such that it's very difficult to try to get a nadir reading, though I do do random spot checks.
I've notice a consistent trend over the last few days. AMPS is high, and PMPS is terrific (blue zone). Dosing protocol calls for full dose to be administered as long as BG isn't under 100, which is very different from my Caninsulin days... Anyway, Schroeder is showing no signs of hypo, other than possibly eating a little more than usual. Drank a lot of water by about +4, but then i went to bed. He slept soundly at my side all night until he gulped a bunch of water down when he got up with me!
You'll notice my chart looks a little different b/c I keep track of mg D/L and mmol/L, and the times I shoot, so I can tell when there has been inconsistancy. Thanks in advance for your attention to this. Getting concerned that I might not be able to get Schroeder back into remission like I did the first time, and I'm beginning to panic that the window is closing...
Andrea.