Peacock
Member Since 2019
Hi, I am new to posting, but have been reading up as much as possible. I created a spreadsheet for Peacock, who we are fostering-to-adopt, and am hoping to get guidance on strategy, starting with: can you guys see the spreadsheet, as I am not sure if I shared it properly?
Goal #1 was to get her regulated after bringing her home from the shelter, and to establish a consistent dose. We got her down from an average of around BG 400 at 4u (U100) of ProZinc, mainly by adjusting her diet. She is now averaging BG 200 and .5U, so that seems like mission accomplished.
But, since Peacock's pre-shot numbers are lining up on the low end of the range the shelter's vet recommended (170-300), I am wondering about next steps. If she stays around there, should I do a trial at .25U? Or is it time to skip the dose if she is sub-170? In the past she has bounced from skipped shots.
I have not done a curve yet. Her vet is seeing her this morning (in a little over 2 hours) for her first check-up since I brought her home. He advised that I not do a curve until after our first check-up.
Anything I should be asking the vet?
TIA for any guidance. I am going to go try to put the new cat carrier together.
Goal #1 was to get her regulated after bringing her home from the shelter, and to establish a consistent dose. We got her down from an average of around BG 400 at 4u (U100) of ProZinc, mainly by adjusting her diet. She is now averaging BG 200 and .5U, so that seems like mission accomplished.
But, since Peacock's pre-shot numbers are lining up on the low end of the range the shelter's vet recommended (170-300), I am wondering about next steps. If she stays around there, should I do a trial at .25U? Or is it time to skip the dose if she is sub-170? In the past she has bounced from skipped shots.
I have not done a curve yet. Her vet is seeing her this morning (in a little over 2 hours) for her first check-up since I brought her home. He advised that I not do a curve until after our first check-up.
Anything I should be asking the vet?
TIA for any guidance. I am going to go try to put the new cat carrier together.

It just looks so much like our sheet I never thought about it being a shelter version. Obviously you can't confuse them when they are still involved. I'm wondering if there is a simple way to solve this hopefully temporary problem (fingers crossed the adoption becomes final!) just in case you ever need some assistance at an off hour for instance. I'm going to explore this a bit and will let you know. I'm thinking we might be able to set up another sheet and have the numbers you plug in on the shelter sheet, automatically populate the xtra sheet with our colour coding. Thinking cap on!