looking for dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollybee

Member Since 2011
Hi all! Alex Olivia is our foster kitty and she was diagnosed with diabetes during her recent incarceration at the local shelter : (

Her spreadsheet should be in my signature......her numbers are low now and I read the sticky regarding what to do - no dose versus lower dose and monitoring. I've been posting on FDMB about our predicament in working a side business that keeps us gone long hours......it starts tomorrow (!) and I am wondering how I should proceed with her dosing. Today she was 95 AMPS, 84 +4 hours, 128 +8 hours (she was given a plate of food at +4 hours)........I will be here to give her morning dose (if that is suggested) but won't be home until 8pm......so I won't be able to monitor her reaction to no dose, low dose, regular dose......today I came home at lunchtime to give her some wet food since 95 was low this morning and I gave her the usual 0.5 U dose.

Any advice about how to proceed would be great, THANKS! I think I've included all the needed info on her spreadsheet........

holly and alex olivia
 
you're doing a great job with Alex Olivia!

At this point you don't have enough data to recommend shooting low, so the best I can say is to either skip or reduce the shots that catch you by surprise. In the meantime, get as many spot checks as you can - test at every preshot and any other time you get a chance. We suggest a before bed test every night, because many cats see more "action" at night than during the day. Then daytimes you can do tests whenever, like right before you leave for work at +1 or if you get home one day and it is +10 or +11, or if you happen to come home during the day, or weekends before you leave for errands or when you return. Every spot check you get helps to fill in the picture of what she is doing with the insulin. Once you know what is going on mid-cycle, you'll be able to learn when it is or is not ok to shoot low. Make sense?

eta: forgot to add, whenever you shoot your lowest ever preshot (like today's 95), always get a +1 and +2 test. You're looking to be sure the food you give her with her shot has actually stopped the drop. +1 is usually a bit higher than PS, and +2 should be about the same as preshot. If either of those numbers is lower than her preshot reading, that means you need to pay close attention to the rest of the cycle because she could be headed low.
 
thanks! this does make sense.....better to be safe than sorry when nobody is home......I'll start filling in more of the gaps where I can.......THANKS!!!!!
 
So happy to know that Alex Olivia is in such good hands! I've got no dosing advice, but just wanted to wish you a warm welcome to Lantus Land! The folks here have been our angels as we've adjusted to having FD in our lives... don't know what we'd do without our new family!!

Have a great weekend... what kind of business do you have?
 
Welcome to LL and good luck with the dosing. Please be sure you ask us any time you need help or just need to have us there to support you.
 
aw, what nice messages to wake up to this morning, thanks everyone : )
We have a metal yard art business so this weekend kicks off the 2011 season! Through DCIN I was able to connect with someone who lives about a mile from me who has a kitty OTJ and is willing to help with feeding/testing/dosing when we can't be home.......yippee!!!!! This helps ease our minds as to how we were going to juggle everything until we find them their forever home : )

hope everyone has a great kitty day today!

holly, alex olivia (and her 'husband' donovan)
 
so wonderful to hear you have found someone who will be able to assist you when you are gone ;-) good luck with your kick off of your yard art :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top